We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, service, comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We only stayed one night in the Bear, wish it could have been longer. It is a wonderful old building, well appointed and very atmospheric. The staff were helpful and personable. The room was not large but it was well furnished and equipped, the bed was luxurious and comfortable and the bathroom spacious and sparkling. I had some trouble getting the tv to work but a member of staff came right away and helped me out.
Breakfast was a delight-the waitress was very good and efficient. The food was about the best I have tasted-excellent produce, grilled to perfection. I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back of the hotel so there was no view, and some noise from staff emptying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here to attend a family wedding anniversary at the Corn Exchange next door. We stayed for two nights and had a comfortable and pleasant stay. The pub is fairly up market and is right in the centre of Devizes, near to several places of interest including Avesbury henge just a few miles away. The room was clean and comfortable, had free movies on demand (42" flat screen tv in every room) and had tea and coffee making facilities.

The sash windows have an extra sound proofing layer which can be opened or closed and block out almost all noise at night so no problems there.

The staff were very courteous and helpful and brought up extra tea and coffee and ironing facilities straight away when asked. We ate in the "Bear Grills" restaurant on one night of our stay and the food was slightly pricey but very tasty all the same.

The only potential issue could be parking. There are limited spaces in the car park out the back so it is useful to try and get a place in there during the day as parking in the square is time limited.

Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteShutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We loved this hotel. Very charming with a rich history and great location right in market square in Devizes and centrally located in Wiltshire, which is perfect for venturing out to see all the sacred sites int the area (i.e. Stonehendge, Avebury, Silbury Hill, etc.), not to mention in close proximity to the crop circles which is what brought us there - and we weren't dissapointed! In addition, we loved the food at the hotel and the local beer was excellent.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a long overdue review

We stayed here as part of a wedding party.

In this hotel we experienced a comfortable room, good food, good bar and the function service was very worthwhile.

The room was not cheap at 100 STL per night for a double but the including of breakfast in the price takes some of the sting out of the expense. It was a nice room though and with the age of the building being quite old, it was also a compact room.

This is one venue where we tried everything out from staying at it, using the bars and restaurant plus also being able to see how well they can stage a function.

The customer service in this venue is particularly good with friendly helpful staff. The hotel does not have a gym so one of the reception staff took it upon herself to search the internet, provide us with print outs of where they were as well as phoning them to check that the details posted on the net were still current, that is service!

The restaurant on the evening before the wedding was efficient with friendly waiting staff, the food was well portioned and better than expected.

The bar has a choice of ales and is staffed by people who actually have pride in their work.

The quality of the function was particularly good, the service was well run and the food showed a lot of effort having gone into it. This venue is good for functions if I were to go by the one I went to.

The breakfast was worth going back for. The cooked breakfast consisted of among other things, local Wiltshire bacon and a type of black pudding I have not seen anywhere else. I really would go back there just to have the breakfast.

The town of Devizes has a good vibe to it and this hotel is right in the middle of it.

Recommending this place for whatever service it offers, it does all of them well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoughtonEppingForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The only twin room was the disabled one. This was right above the bistro kitchen so smelt of cooking oil. Room not very nice. The carpets throughout the hotel were filthy. Food at bistro was nice and the breakfast included in the price was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janjanvanman059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The olde-england market-place inn is an institution, and the country has many. With historic charm, unbeatable location and stockbroker-belt location, The Bear could be a gem. But heavy-handed corporate management and complacent marketing detract strongly from the desired image.

The food is good, the beer is suitably warm and local. It's difficult to maintain standards in all seasons, and to maintain atmosphere off-peak, but The Bear must try harder if it's to be offered another hug.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeoLev5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

A nice Hotel in a great position however the room was small and the bed TINY. Bathroom was nice and the breakfast was good too, but for £117 I would have expected nicer bedrooms

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ServicemattersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
317 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#3 of 3 in Calne
298 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range: £59 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing