We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much to ask !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Bear during Bank Holiday weekend for a family wedding, taking 3 rooms. Although our initial opinion was somewhat disappointing due to some refurb work being carried out which we were not pre-warned of nor discounted for, nothing was too much to ask for. The staff on all levels were excellent and extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Great location and historical building make this an obvious choice when staying in Devizes. The 6x is fresh and delicious but that's the end of the good stuff. Major renovations were not mentioned when we booked and the main bar and restaurant were ripped out and out of commission. On top of that our room was pretty average and a bit disappointing. The room rate was just too greedy and represented poor value.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaffsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Lovely view overlooking the market place. The room was large and comfortable with nice ensuite. The staff were pleasant and very helpful and breakfast was well cooked and tasty. Idealy situated if you need to be in the centre of Devizes

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with attentive staff, a good bar and restaurant and an excellent location in town. A perfect place for me to book rooms and recommend it to friends as a place to stay for my son's wedding. Thirteen rooms booked in all with the first arrivals scheduled for May 23rd. So after booking most of the rooms over six months ago I was surprised to receive an email from the hotel on May 17th 2013 warning me that renovation work was to start in the hotel on May 20th through to May 31st. Leaving me absolutely no time or chance of switching to another hotel. They did give us 30% off all the room rates but only AFTER I complained. This was, in my opinion, a cynical, calculated tactic to keep wages and light bills paid whilst renovating the hotel. What hotel is only able to give three days notice of renovation works? As I said in my email to them "absolutely disgusting". Shame really as even the staff were embarrassed by their own management's behaviour. So, despite it's undoubted charm, be very careful in using this hotel if your purpose is for more than just a casual visit. After all, they have the rest of the hotel to renovate at some point and I would hate anybody to be treated the same way I was.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11 as it is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMorrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here with eight friends for a reunion night which coincided with a wedding party in the hotel, which meant their car park was jammed, but they still found us a beautiful dining room shared with only one other table of diners where an excellent meal was provided. As we'd booked as a group they offered us a very limited choice of dishes which initially I thought was a bit lazy (basically meat or fish and if you insist we'll find a veggie option) but both the salmon and beef mains were well prepared and the pate and goat's cheese starters were equally well received. None of it was fancy or complicated but given the number of guests in the place (it was full) that was perfectly understandable. I don't know how our meals compared to the full a la carte experience available but at £40 a head (including five bottles of wine between us) it was good value and everyone was happy. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and even tolerated one of our group, Rich, getting out his guitar and singing a few songs (I should add the other diners had left by then and Rich does have a superb voice). The room we had was well equipped and appropriately furnished with antiques and the bathroom even had it's own fireplace, which was a nice touch. Like most of these old places, when the other guests start flushing toilets in the morning it sounds like they're in your bathroom, but otherwise it was a quiet and comfortable night. Not a cheap place to stay in Devizes, but almost certainly the best (the Wadsworth beers are very fresh too!).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon-fidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Lovely hotel, which I stay at fairly frequently.

Food - good quality and reasonably prices. Service as good as I would expect.
Drinks - as with any hotel, high prices!
Rooms - Mostly very nice. However, I've stayed in room 16 a couple of times and found it a little uncomfortable (too warm, noise from ventilation unit on ground floor. The window also faces the courtyard at the back, so if there are any "late nighters" out the back, that can add to the noise factor. Also a bit of a funny atmosphere to the room in my opinion!).
Staff - professional and courteous. Must mention the both the ladies that serve breakfast (didn't get their names, but one had dark hair and the other was blonde with a Welsh accent) were wonderful!

Big gripe - parking. The hotel has a small car park out the back which is often chock full. Due to the position of parked cars, sometime you have to do a 6 point turn to get out - assuming you can get space at all!

Big plus - free wi-fi! Some rooms also appear to have ethernet cables, should you not want to use wireless networking.

BIG TIP - Parking on wednesday nights - make sure that you have a space in the hotel's car park, as the weekly market sets up very early thursday morning so you won't be able to park there!

Room Tip: Personal opinion - avoid room 16 (twin room). Bit noisey, too warm and a bit of a weird atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ITTravellingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is a comfortable, friendly and historic traditional inn at the hearty of a fine market town and is full of character. If that's what you're after, you can't fault it: comfortable beds, wonderful historic building and setting and an excellent breakfast served by one of the pleasantest waitresses we've ever met.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z2513NMjohnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
317 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#3 of 3 in Calne
299 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range: £60 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing