We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The start of the downward spiral” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear Hotel Market Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The start of the downward spiral”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Gosh what a deterioration in such a short time. The main bar has been redecorated and refitted with light coloured furniture and is already stained. The carpet has been replaced with a cheap looking Tartan - ghastly!!
The resident's lounge has been re-furnished with light coloured furniture and is already stained!
Service is deteriorating.
The linen table cloths in the hitherto show piece restaurant have disappeared leaving bare wood cheap looking tables making the place look more like a road side cafe.
The bed in our room is so overdue for replacement and the attic room it is in is just not value for money.
The Bear is fast becoming a must to avoid.
When brought to their attention the local management blame senior management!!
Well folks you are making serious mistakes.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic rooms and rooms in the front on weekend nights because of the noise outside until 3a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnluketilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    166
    41
    19
    15
See reviews for
58
189
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here for a night because we were in town for a wedding. The room and bathroom were updated and spacious and overall quite comfortable! Unfortunately we didn't spend much time at the hotel itself but the lobby/restaurant seemed very cozy and well kept. Be prepared to carry your suitcases up a windy staircase as they didn't have an elevator! The location was great as well - right in town! Parking was a bit tight because their lot was small but overall not a major problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank islabery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiitshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have just spent a repeat visit at this lovely old coaching inn and are amazed at the recent comments. Yes there is some refurbishment underway which included repainting and replacing the old carpet but it did not affect our stay. The bistro which was closed due to access while the work is going on has been re-located to another restaurant and although it is not quite the same feel as in the Bistro itself the food was as good as on our previous visit and the staff were all most helpful. The rooms were as clean and comfortable as usual. We always enjoy our time at The Bear when visiting family and look forward to seeing the finished bar on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Front can be a little noiser on Market Day and at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacAngieBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Bear during Bank Holiday weekend for a family wedding, taking 3 rooms. Although our initial opinion was somewhat disappointing due to some refurb work being carried out which we were not pre-warned of nor discounted for, nothing was too much to ask for. The staff on all levels were excellent and extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Great location and historical building make this an obvious choice when staying in Devizes. The 6x is fresh and delicious but that's the end of the good stuff. Major renovations were not mentioned when we booked and the main bar and restaurant were ripped out and out of commission. On top of that our room was pretty average and a bit disappointing. The room rate was just too greedy and represented poor value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Lovely view overlooking the market place. The room was large and comfortable with nice ensuite. The staff were pleasant and very helpful and breakfast was well cooked and tasty. Idealy situated if you need to be in the centre of Devizes

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with attentive staff, a good bar and restaurant and an excellent location in town. A perfect place for me to book rooms and recommend it to friends as a place to stay for my son's wedding. Thirteen rooms booked in all with the first arrivals scheduled for May 23rd. So after booking most of the rooms over six months ago I was surprised to receive an email from the hotel on May 17th 2013 warning me that renovation work was to start in the hotel on May 20th through to May 31st. Leaving me absolutely no time or chance of switching to another hotel. They did give us 30% off all the room rates but only AFTER I complained. This was, in my opinion, a cynical, calculated tactic to keep wages and light bills paid whilst renovating the hotel. What hotel is only able to give three days notice of renovation works? As I said in my email to them "absolutely disgusting". Shame really as even the staff were embarrassed by their own management's behaviour. So, despite it's undoubted charm, be very careful in using this hotel if your purpose is for more than just a casual visit. After all, they have the rest of the hotel to renovate at some point and I would hate anybody to be treated the same way I was.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11 as it is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMorrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
13.3 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Property: The Bear Hotel Market Place
Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing