We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Weekend getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear Hotel Market Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for a weekend, Friday to Sunday. Beautiful hotel, full of character and charm with a lively atmosphere and helpful staff. Room and bathroom were both spacious. Breakfast is not to be missed. Stayed in room 26 which was actually quite cold, the radiator and towel rail never heated up all weekend. However there are spare blankets provided. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words, We are really glad you enjoyed your time here at the Bear. Sorry to hear about your radiator, we will have our maintenance team check the radiator to ensure future guests do not have a problem. The towel rails do catch a few people out as the switch is on the bedroom wall near the floor. However please accept my apologies for your cooler room.

I will inform the breakfast chef and team about your comments for your breakfasts who im sure will be touched about your lovely comment

Thank you for your custom and hopefully we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    163
    41
    19
    13
See reviews for
56
184
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Popped in with some friends for lunch today (23/10/13). We were greeted by friendly and efficient bar staff, one of whom was quite happy to recommend a good ale.

Food available is the usual pub-grub stuff. Over £8 spent on two sausages and a sneeze of mash was a bit disappointing. Side orders of chips were clearly of the 'out-of-the-freezer' variety.

Overall I'd probably not return. Did not stay the night but hotel seemed very tidy and is well-located in the centre of Devizes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Alexander and Ben,

Thank-you for your comments regarding the hotels Cleanliness and service.
I have spoken to our Head Chef about reviewing the size of the lunch portions, and he will take your comments on board.
The Chef sends his apologies and would also like to say that our food is all homemade, even the sausages.

We hope you consider visiting the Bear again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a deal using Wowcher for dinner, bed & breakfast for £99. A great deal we thought.

Dinner included seemed like a bargain. We were told we could have anything from the 'specials' menu but we were actually given a 'special menu' for Wowcher.

We decided not to take advantage of dinner after all as the choices were just far too narrow. While I'm sure it would have tasted nice I think I would advise not using this deal.

We would have liked the 'special menu' to represent at least some of the variety of choice afforded on the bistro menu. Wowcher customers be warned: this is your concession. - 'special menu' attached. It wasn't to our taste.

The staff were great, all of them. The booking was smooth and the place itself just what you would expect from a 3 star hotel but you'll have a much better time booking a room and paying for dinner, I would say. Breakfast was great. Full options available. No restrictions.

Overall, probably just a poor management decision on The Bear's part to use Wowcher and then devalue the restaurant from a 3* to a 2*. I can't see this deal making the place popular.


Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AugusteBalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am glad that you found breakfast & the staff service satisfactory, and I apologise that you didn't get to make the most out of your Dinner,Bed & Breakfast Stay.

We run a specials menu along side the Bear Grills Bistro menu daily. This incorporates dishes from the Restaurant menu, inevitably to allow more choice for our guests. I can only apologise that you found the choice inadequate.

I will pass your comments onto the waiting staff who will be delighted that you enjoyed service here at the Bear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

From the friendly quick quick in, everything was fine over this five day working. It was lovely to come into the buzz of a busy lounge bar even though there was no time to enjoy it personally, it's clearly a population place for people to meet at any time of day. I thought the bright tartan carpet really worked well, even though another reviewer was critical...some people!

Room was spacious, bed comfortable, towels thick and of good quality. Excellent wifi in bedrooms is a real bonus for work visits. Dined in the bistro and room, room service was speedy and friendly and food of good quality. A couple of super dishes currently- belly of pork and sea bass with king prawns and oriental (light curry) sauce. very fresh good quality breakfasts - cooked to order- and fresh not tinned fruits. Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and smoked haddock were favourites. I guess only two minor observations about the catering...breakfast coffee was a bit stewed, and tea pots very leaky... And it was a pity in a place like this that we were told the ice cream selection was chocolate, strawberry and vanilla...could do better on that front.

Overall a great stay! Thank you staff.

Room Tip: It's an old hotel, there isn't a lift and stairs are wide but windy...however, staff will ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonsuchgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are really glad you enjoyed your extended stay at the Bear, It is always lovely to hear feedback from our guests. I will mention your comments to the Chef who I'm sure will take your praise and comments on board.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is in our own home town. We have visited it many times for lovely dining and enjoyable evenings, but this was the first time we stayed the night. The room was large with a good view of the market square, the bed was king size and very comfortable, the curtains were fabulous very well made and so thick they kept the room dark, hence we slept in a bit! Breakfast was in the Lambton restaurant, freshly cooked full English plus choice of fresh fruit, croissants and much more. Special thanks to Angela, Danielle and Meghan for their very friendly welcome, not forgetting the restaurant staff who go the extra mile!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, it was nice to have one overlooking the historic market square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie528767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi Annie,

We are so glad you enjoyed our hospitality when you decided to stay the night! As a local im sure you appreciated the Market Square views,

I will pass you comments to Danielle, Meghan and Angela who im sure will be delighted with your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a lovely hotel! Full of charm, friendly staff, great food, excellent service, nicely decorated rooms, good value . . . we will definitely be coming back! Tip: If you are going into Bath, hire some bikes at Sydney Wharf BA2 4EL and ride the scenic, circular route along the canal which leads right back into Bath city centre (takes about 2/3 hours).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi Mick,

Thank you for your kind review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Bear. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next cycling excursion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

In the very centre of Devizes. 5 star treatment, friendly and helpful staff. Everyone made our visit an absolute pleasure from the minute we arrived. The restaurant is a delight and breakfast is not to be missed. Eat in the restaurant, have your meal in the bar or the courtyard. The choice is yours.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your romantic stay away!
I will pass your comments on to the team, who I'm sure will be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 4 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#4 of 4 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
6.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#5 of 23 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Property: The Bear Hotel Market Place
Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing