We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old English coaching inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have stayed here about four times in recent years. It has a very welcoming atmosphere and it seems equally attended by both locals and far travelled guests. The public areas have a busy but not hectic feel to them. It seems to cater for all needs from pub bar, through coffee lounge, bistro and fine restaurant. The decor is getting slightly tired in the bedrooms, but on the plus side, we noticed the staff were even more attentive and pleasant than previous visits. We will be back i'm sure...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pangolynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear pangolynx

Thankyou very much for your kind comments we are really glad you enjoyed your time here at the Bear and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely staff, great location and overall worth the groupon deal. What stops it being a great experience is the detail. There is nothing in itself that would stop me coming back but overall it adds up a little:
- cobwebs in the corner of bedroom and hairs in the bathroom
- confirmation of booking said breakfast included - when ordering at breakfast told to pay more for full English - not in confirmation so good enough not to charge but it's the hassle of sorting.
- order taken down incorrect in bistro and I know it was something I would never eat, good enough to make what I had requested however partner had ordered a burger so asked for whole order to be re-done, three times as felt not being heard - they didn't re-do whole order so plate arrived boiling hot, food just warm and burger truly dead, dead - they did however offer free deserts but it does alter the experience.
- telly every time turned on was massively loud and subtitles coming on, couldn't fix so felt sorry for other guests if they heard our telly.

Would we come back? On a deal yes, full price no.

Every time something didn't go well the staff handled it brilliantly, the rooms are great sizes and it's a lovely old place.

If they could get the detail right, this would be a lovely little gem of a place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaming_Free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thankyou for your balanced review, firstly please accept my apologies for your confusion over breakfast. We have ran two Groupon deals along side each other, One including full English and the other Continetal Breakfast and Chocolates.
I have mentioned your valid points to our housekeeping team who I am sure will take them on board. Many thanks for your comments we appriciate all feedback at the Bear and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Fancying a weekend left to our own Devizes, we decided to venture south-west and we're very glad that we did. This hotel is a sanctuary, in a wonderful position right in the market place of this lovely town.

Our room was located on the second floor - beware of the staircase if you have any leg/knee/hip issues - and was nicely appointed and spotlessly clean. The view over the square was particularly useful as our visit coincided with the annual Lantern Parade, Xmas tree lighting, fireworks (all good fun) and appearance by Santa (whose costume looked, to be honest, a tad mangy!).

We ate one dinner in the hotel's bistro (called, of course, the Bear Grill) - an excellent meal - and had lovely breakfasts on both mornings. The bar is busy and service can be a tad patchy, but the staff are, in the main, pleasant, helpful and efficient. Following a row with the one grumpy staff member, I managed to avoid him for the rest of our stay!

When the only bad thing you can say about a hotel is that your newspaper failed to arrive, that pretty much means that there's nothing wrong at all. And, indeed, there wasn't.

The accommodation deal was very attractive - and the free wifi worked well on all my Devizes! We'll be back.

Room Tip: Do ask for an upgraded room. It's well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Firstly let me apologise for your missing Newspaper, and for the grumpy member of bar staff, there are no exceptions for that kind of behaviour. However I am glad to hear that you had pleasant service from all other members of staff here at the Bear.

I am very glad that you enjoyed the Parade and Light Switch on during your stay at the Bear.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We saw The Bear Hotel when we were watching the film 'Far From The Madding Crowd' on tv.
We had a room (room 3) right over the doorway and just upstairs from the bar. The staff were very good, the bar was very cosy with a nice fire, we had an excellent evening meal in the Bistro (I had the pork which looked like a Sunday joint) and my wife had a vegetarian option which she said was delicious. We changed the menu around a bit but this was no problem for the very obliging staff.
The hotel is full of character with squeaky floors and doors that are'nt quite square. Our room was very spacious with a big comfy bed and the bathroom looked brand new.
One of the better places we have stayed and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chashemsbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thankyou for your lovely words reguarding the staff. I am really glad you enjoyed your break here at the Bear. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Were actually fairly local, but came across a special offer on Groupon and as it was my birthday, thought we would treat ourselves. We had room 7 which has a lovely 4 poster bed, a large bay window overlooking the square and a beautiful old fireplace. To add to the character, the floorboards creak underneath the carpet. Lovely bathroom too with his and hers sinks and very powerful shower, along with incredibly thick towels and free toilettries.
Staff were extremely attentive and courteous. We ate in the bistro and were amazed at the waiter and waitresses knowledge of the menu and wines. They actually try the menu themselves so are able to suggest/advise if required. Meal itself didnt totally blow me away but husband thoroughly enjoyed his. This didnt affect my opinion of the hotel in the slightest though. Even though it is all of about 7 miles from home, i would love to return again sometime. Only tiny niggle was that the room was a bit nippy, but the fan heater in the room did warm it up a little.
Oh, one further point, Wadworth brewery still use dray horses and although I do see them regularly, still went rushing to the window when I heard the clip clopping of their hooves in the square as they passed the hotel. Just missed them, but if youre quick, you will see the beautiful shires pulling the dray from the brewery through the square, making their deliveries. Beautiful

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you Lucky for that lovely review. The staff at the Bear are very pleased with your comments.
I am so glad you enjoyed your little Birthday break from Trowbridge! Your welcome anytime!

The rooms on the front, however beautiful the bay windows really struggle in the winter to stay warm so we are glad you found the heater help ful.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for a weekend, Friday to Sunday. Beautiful hotel, full of character and charm with a lively atmosphere and helpful staff. Room and bathroom were both spacious. Breakfast is not to be missed. Stayed in room 26 which was actually quite cold, the radiator and towel rail never heated up all weekend. However there are spare blankets provided. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words, We are really glad you enjoyed your time here at the Bear. Sorry to hear about your radiator, we will have our maintenance team check the radiator to ensure future guests do not have a problem. The towel rails do catch a few people out as the switch is on the bedroom wall near the floor. However please accept my apologies for your cooler room.

I will inform the breakfast chef and team about your comments for your breakfasts who im sure will be touched about your lovely comment

Thank you for your custom and hopefully we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Popped in with some friends for lunch today (23/10/13). We were greeted by friendly and efficient bar staff, one of whom was quite happy to recommend a good ale.

Food available is the usual pub-grub stuff. Over £8 spent on two sausages and a sneeze of mash was a bit disappointing. Side orders of chips were clearly of the 'out-of-the-freezer' variety.

Overall I'd probably not return. Did not stay the night but hotel seemed very tidy and is well-located in the centre of Devizes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Alexander and Ben,

Thank-you for your comments regarding the hotels Cleanliness and service.
I have spoken to our Head Chef about reviewing the size of the lunch portions, and he will take your comments on board.
The Chef sends his apologies and would also like to say that our food is all homemade, even the sausages.

We hope you consider visiting the Bear again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
317 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#3 of 3 in Calne
299 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range: £60 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing