We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay & Comfortable Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here as part of my Wife`s Companies Christmas do. Arrived after 3pm with check-in was hassel free and were shown to our room.

We stayed in room 3 which over looked the Market Square and was also a good room to move around the Hotel without having to go out of the Hotel. Rooms were of a very high standard.

We had an excellent evening meal service was very good and staff couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was also very good, buffet style in the centre of the restaurant. Cooked Breakfast was amost the best I have had for some while cooked to order and you could have what you liked from items available, My wife had smoked salmon & scrabbled eggs and said the salmon was of excellent quality.

There was a minor problem, the car parking there is very limited spaces at the back of the Hotel around 20, parking at the front is limited to 1 hour with no return within 3 hours, but is FREE, parking at the market square parking is limited to 30mins no return within 3 hours, that only leaves a Long stay carpark which is about 15-20min walk away charge is £3 for the day. Though parking seems to be FREE on Sundays with no restrictions.

We would be more than happy to come back to this Hotel, it was very relaxed and service was excellent whilst we were there couldn't fault it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Paul,

Glad you had a good stay with your Wife, In regards to parking it looks like you may have missed a trick. Although only small we have a car park that can hold around 27 cars to the rear of the building.

Looking forward to welcoming you both back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Didn't stay at The Bear. It was a meal in the Bistro last evening. Took me back 30 years to when I first moved to Wiltshire when Pub Cooks knew nothing about texture and flavour of the food they prepared. Happily they learned but not at The Bear it seems.
Soggy, tastless vegetables; appalling.
An an extremely expensive and depressing experience never to be repeated.

Room Tip: This was not a stay but dinner in their Bistro "restaurant". Strongly recommend you avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Mo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

I will pass your comments onto the Bistro and Kitchen staff, We are sorry you didnt feel like the Bear lived up to its reputation. We thankyou for offering your comments and hope you can return in the future for a meal in the Bistro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have been using The Bear Hotel for our tour groups since the late 90's and so we've seen many changes and three sets of owners. We can honestly say that it just gets better and better. The hotel is full of old world charm and yet it offers everything the modern traveller needs. All the rooms have been renovated and have ensuite bathrooms. It isn't generally seen because its in the back of the building but there is a lift that guests can use if need be. The food served in the bar, grill or dining room has never failed to please our guests and vegetarian and other special dietary requirements can be met.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful so you can feel right at home during your stay. There is good parking in the rear and a delightful outdoor dining/drinking area for the good weather. Various events such as live music in the cellar bar (not heard from the rooms), Wimbledon watching with strawberries and cream or the popular morning coffee service all add to the general lively atmosphere of this centrally located 400 year old former coaching inn.
We can highly recommend a stay at The Bear Hotel.

Room Tip: A rear room on Wednesday nights is a good idea as the market stalls start setting up at 5am in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JourneysWithSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

We really appriciate those kind words, we are so glad you all enjoy staying here at the Bear, and we look forward to seeing you shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Bear Hotel is located in the heart of Devizes and is a wonderful old pub. There is parking at the hotel and loads more nearby. The pub has loads of charm including open fireplaces and wood floors in the Market bar. The service is listed on the website as 5 star and generally it is pretty good but not 5 star. On my visit I got the female bar staff from hell! Lazy, arrogant, rude and obnoxious. Got the picture!
The food is OK but not for everyone.....the specials seem to last for months. There are strong issues with the cleanliness of the toilets. They obviously haven't been cleaned properly for months if not years. With a bit of love and care and a bit of customer awareness this could be a great pub. But not at the moment under the present management. Will I go back? Probably! Do things need to change? Absolutely!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thankyou for your comments I have passed them onto the Housekeeping and Bar Managers in order for them to recify the problems you encountered on your visit to the Bear.
I do apologise as usualy as you will see from prior and future reviews the service here is normally applauded. However I take your comments on board and I will be passing on your comments to the people involved.

We do hope you can return and experience the service that should have been the first time around

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

First of all I need to say that we stayed with a Groupon deal which made the basic price just £89 for us as a couple inc breakfast and this was for a lovely four poster bed.......So you can't really go too far wrong can you ?...........However by way of feed back and being an experienced traveler I would make the following comments........Firstly the car park is small and is used by all patrons of this large pub / restaurant / hotel and therefore finding a parking space is very much hit or miss. When we arrived at 1.00pm no spaces were available even though we were staying overnight which mean't we had to pay and display. This was not good news after a long drive.....I strongly suggest the management put a barrier up so that only guests staying overnight have access to the car park. Secondly when I asked for a recommendation for lunch other than the hotel where we were dining that evening I was given a blank face and the answer of..... well their is a weather-spoons down the road !!!!!....Our lovely room was cold and had a noisy fan heater to aid the warmth, Finally my Wife's fish was undercooked and had to be sent back ....although she had a much larger portion when it came back second time.......So overall and considering the price we paid yes I would recommend the Bear, it has almost got everything right except just a few little niggles need to be sorted out and then it would of got five stars......but seriously you must get that car park issue resolved.....otherwise a nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thankyou for your comments, the car park barrier is something the management have been considering for sometime here at the Bear, as people often park their cars even when they are not using the facilities which as you pointed out can on occassion inconvience our overnight guests. We have 19 spaces, and enough room for 3 more in the garage and 2 in the middle so normally with only 25 rooms over night car parking is not a problem.
In regards to your wife's fish I will pass your comments onto both the chef and the Bistro staff.

Thankyou for your balanced review, we do appriciate them, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have stayed here about four times in recent years. It has a very welcoming atmosphere and it seems equally attended by both locals and far travelled guests. The public areas have a busy but not hectic feel to them. It seems to cater for all needs from pub bar, through coffee lounge, bistro and fine restaurant. The decor is getting slightly tired in the bedrooms, but on the plus side, we noticed the staff were even more attentive and pleasant than previous visits. We will be back i'm sure...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pangolynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear pangolynx

Thankyou very much for your kind comments we are really glad you enjoyed your time here at the Bear and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely staff, great location and overall worth the groupon deal. What stops it being a great experience is the detail. There is nothing in itself that would stop me coming back but overall it adds up a little:
- cobwebs in the corner of bedroom and hairs in the bathroom
- confirmation of booking said breakfast included - when ordering at breakfast told to pay more for full English - not in confirmation so good enough not to charge but it's the hassle of sorting.
- order taken down incorrect in bistro and I know it was something I would never eat, good enough to make what I had requested however partner had ordered a burger so asked for whole order to be re-done, three times as felt not being heard - they didn't re-do whole order so plate arrived boiling hot, food just warm and burger truly dead, dead - they did however offer free deserts but it does alter the experience.
- telly every time turned on was massively loud and subtitles coming on, couldn't fix so felt sorry for other guests if they heard our telly.

Would we come back? On a deal yes, full price no.

Every time something didn't go well the staff handled it brilliantly, the rooms are great sizes and it's a lovely old place.

If they could get the detail right, this would be a lovely little gem of a place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaming_Free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thankyou for your balanced review, firstly please accept my apologies for your confusion over breakfast. We have ran two Groupon deals along side each other, One including full English and the other Continetal Breakfast and Chocolates.
I have mentioned your valid points to our housekeeping team who I am sure will take them on board. Many thanks for your comments we appriciate all feedback at the Bear and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
85 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
739 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range: £61 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing