We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional old market town hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear Hotel Market Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Traditional old market town hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Couldn't fault The Bear really following an overnight stay recently. Staff all pleasant, smallish room but very clean and well-equipped. Excellent bright, fresh bed linen.

Atmosphere good and the lounge quiet and comfortable. The only downsides were the breakfast which wasn't brilliant. Two unhappy looking poached eggs on Mother's Pride white sliced which was hardly singed let alone toasted. Croissants a bit leaden.

A bit expensive at £95.00 for one but I would stay here again. Devizes town itself which I have been passing through for the last 50+ years looked busy and prosperous. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thankyou Rodger for your sound review, I will pass your comments onto the Chef and the Breakfast team who I am sure will rectify the Breakfast problems you had. I am glad that over all you enjoyed your visit to The Bear and indeed Devizes. Next time you wish to stay remember to contact reception and let them know you are a repeat guest. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    166
    41
    19
    15
See reviews for
58
189
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Undoubtedly a once elegant hotel that is trying its best to compete in the modern age. Having stayed here a couple of times I have always found it to be pleasant. The rooms can vary and this last stay we had room 6 which is small, quiet with no views and overlooked by other rooms. Water pressure for shower poor and Wi-Fi only obtainable in one area. Having said that it was clean and comfortable.
Breakfasts are good. Outside seating area suffers from a mess of cigarette butts and the kitchen extractor fan.
Did not eat at the hotel during the evening but the bar area was busy and there are a number of events that the hotel is hosting.
The room prices are expensive and whilst standards are maintained can be justified - just.
Quaint with old-fashion service any criticism of the hotel needs to be tempered with its age and structure.

Room Tip: If you need it check Wi-Fi strength for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Russ W

Thankyou for your balanced review of The Hotel, as you say with an older building like ours it does take extended maintenance. The kitchen extractor has recently been services and has since been much quieter. We are also in the process of refurbishing throughout the building. We have recently completed the Bistro and are now awaiting new plant pot containers for the courtyard and our new extractor. The Bedrooms are also having some time spent in them to ensure our guests have the best possible stay. With the building changing over the years some rooms are different shapes and sizes, room 6, one of our doubles unfortunately does just look onto the roof of the building, however next time you stay be sure to ask reception for a Market Square View, as the rooms on the front all have large windows with secondary glazing, so you can make the most of the views. Thankyou again for your kind words, I hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked a night for myself, my husband and two of our children .

We had a four poster room and the children had a twin room. Both rooms were excellent: ours was gorgeous, great view across the main square and large !! We had two chairs in the window and a chaise at the end of the bed. the bathroom was also large.

The childrens room was a twin, they were pleased with their room too, really comfy, the only down side I would say is that is was as far on the other side of the hotel as you could get. We were given extra keys so we could get into them whenever we needed to so this wasnt an issue.

We didnt eat in the hotel for our evening meal, it was packed and we wanted to find somewhere quieter, so I cant comment on the food, but from what we saw it looked good, and is obviously popular.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thankyou for your comments I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Bear, as you know the building is very old and all the rooms are different shapes, sizes and types down unlevel corridors, which although it adds to the charm it does prove rather complex when arranging the room types.I am glad you didn't find the layout of the rooms too much of an issue and that your children enjoyed their stay too.
Thankyou for your lovely comments, I hope to see you and the family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The lunch was okay, just the service was a bit slow we wasn't shown to the table, or given menus, I had the pork, witch was a little cold, my veg was very small, and a little bit to under cooked, but the creme brûlée was amazing and the price was only 50 pound for two course, and I had a three course, it was very dark in the bar area, there are better places to eat in town with a better atmosphere, and with no builders being lound and shouting, witch was a shame!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachariah95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank-you for your review, You will glad to know that our Bistro is now fully refurbished and open for lunch and evening meals. Please accept my apologies for the slow service, as you were aware our normal kitchen area was closed due to refurbishment. I will pass your comments regarding the food onto our Head Chef, who I am sure will take them on board. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Decided to book The Bear for a pre-Mother's Day Afternoon Tea. We had the area by the fireplace which was very pleasant. Staff were pleasant and attentive. There were ample sandwiches and cakes and plenty of tea. Scones were light and crumbly. The hotel is steeped in history so many of the original features are still in place. All in all a good experience and at a very good price of only £11.50 per head for afternoon tea. We hope to return next time for lunch or evening dinner!

Room Tip: The Queen Charlotte Suite is nice quiet area for afternoon tea with nice touches of Georgian archite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayhaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thankyou HolidayHaunts for your fantastic review. I am very pleased to hear your party enjoyed the afternoon tea, I will pass your comments on to Chef and the Waiting team who I am sure will be thrilled with your comments.
See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed with a Groupon voucher and probably one of the best deals we have had. The room was compact but very nice and the bathroom large and recently refurbished. All of the staff were helpful and attentive and the place itself was lovely. It is obviously very popular as the bar and lounge areas were always busy. A great stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftyandchildfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi FiftyandChildFree,

I am so glad to hear you both enjoyed your Groupon break here at The Bear, I'll look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just spent a weekend , through Groupon at the Bear Hotel . It was fantastic and nothing was too much for the staff , who were all warm and friendly . Groupon price was the icing on the cake , but normally they may have deals/offers too which makes it a great base for spinning off to see Bath , Swindon , The Locks at Caen Hill , Salisbury and Stonehenge .I have seen comments about the food but from what we viewed in the Bistro the food was fab too .

Room Tip: They only have one room suitable for disabled , so book it early if you need one .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs54Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Debs,
Thankyou so much for your lovely review, I am so pleased to hear you had a great time here on your Groupon Voucher. Hopefully see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
6.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Property: The Bear Hotel Market Place
Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing