We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear Hotel Market Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a great place....the hotel has lots of character,staff very friendly, breakfast was good, very comfy rooms, good service all round...cellar bar was fantastic great band playing 'Untouchables' definitely will be going back..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    166
    41
    19
    15
See reviews for
58
189
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is a really nice clean hotel. The only real negative is the single bedrooms. My room was very small with what seemed a very small bed. The ensuite shower room was absolutely fine. The door height into my room was so low that I banged my head twice on the way out and I'm not exceptionally tall at 6'1''.
The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful which is why I scored this hotel very good. The breakfast has a good choice and comes to order with only a buffet style for the cereals, juices etc.
The photo on the web is the room you want and definitely not a single as it's far too small.
Another negative about the room is the window looks straight into the roof and pigeons sit there at 5am cooing so unless you want to get up early as I say ask for a double room with single occupancy.
Would I stay there again... Yes I would but definitely no single rooms for me

Room Tip: Ask for a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

just got back from two nights at the bear hotel
really nice and central and is buzzing with atmosphere
we stopped in two different rooms and both were superb
the staff were all excellent and especially megan
we would recomend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: number 5 is a four poster :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtx7x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at The Bear Hotel for two nights we upgraded to the four poster room which was a lovely room with big windows facing the market square, the bed was very comfortable and had a very peaceful nights sleep. The staff were extremely friendly andd helpful we ate in the bear grills bistro and the food was lovely and well,priced and the breakfast was lovely especially the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs very generous portions. would recommend staying at this hotel if you are visiting Devizes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel with a nice friendly atmosphere. The staff, food and service were all excellent. We would certainly stay here again -this is a a very good base for exploring a lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_BR8865OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
179 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Room was nice, a good size. Restaurant was ok but noisy fan from kitchen which staff did nothing to remedy nor showed any sympathy. Restaurant staff were not good. Bar was ok, good selection of beers

Rooms were not very secure, only one key provided, but could be opened with any credit card.

It was a good value stay, but there's lots of improvements that could be made, like bathroom radiator couldn't be turned off and it was like a sauna in there

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cambridge-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our walking group had a memorable 5 day stay at the Bear Hotel recently
The hotel set aside a function room for our use and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The food was delicious and service was really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert124465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHarrison, Manager at The Bear Hotel Market Place, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you Rober124465 For your lovely review, and all the lovely feedback yourself and the group left on departure. I hope to see you all in the future, don't forget to use your return voucher. Please contact me at any point should you wish to return.

Jessica Hamilton-Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
13.3 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Property: The Bear Hotel Market Place
Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing