We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the bear hotel the Friday night and last night (29th-31st august) room was okay little tired and damp patches in quite a few places..the shower was loose, breakfast was a disaster ran out of food no drink bought to the table when asked and after 30 mins of waiting we left! It was very noisy! Not the relaxing break we was after. We won't be returning in a hurry.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed overnight at the Bear Hotel in Devizes and booked a family room - which was just as well because the double bed was tiny and very short. I am not a giant at 5'6" and my feet were almost at the end of the bed. My husband who is 6'3" had to sleep in the single bed - which had no end on it.

When I mentioned it to the Manager, he said he had slept in every bed in the hotel and there ws nothing wrong with it - he must have been small and slept diagonally!

I didn't want my money back but the hotel just were not interested at all - really poor customer service. Breakfast lovely though!

Room Tip: Not room 23 if you are taller than 5'8"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliwiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Spent another night at the Bear following quite a few in the past. Whilst the Bear are consistently making changes they are maintaining the quality in particular cleanliness in bedrooms and en suites. Service and friendliness of staff is refreshingly good. Just wish they would reinstate the table cloths in the restaurant and benefit from this point of difference. Even a few staff members remark that many returning guests mention it. For a town centre hotel with old world charm and values it's the best in town!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room particularly on Saturday night, younger folk tend to share their departure from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnluketilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just spent two nights at The Bear on a deal from KGB. Overall we came away feeling disappointed and treated like the poor relatives. We were in a small room in the attic (room 32) although it was clean.
A complimentary bottle of wine was also part of the deal but it was cheap, out of date and off, we didn't drink it!
Breakfast was good and the ladies serving were a delight and very friendly.
I don't understand why they go to the trouble of using discount sites to promote the hotel, using the best rooms in the hotel to advertise and entice you to their establishment, then let it down by not using nicer bedrooms. It doesn't really encourage you to return in the future.

Room Tip: Not 30 or 32. 2 flights of stairs to get to them, cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had never visited The Bear before and had been treated to afternoon tea by some friends. The service by the staff especially the manager was exceptional, they made you feel valued, important and cared for you very much, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was beautiful, nicely presented and prepared with so much care and attention. You certainly received value for money and the afternoon was a meal with itself. The cakes were homemade and tasted divine. We will certainly be returning and recommending it after our experience,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank FJ183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Did not stay but took friends out for a thank-you evening meal. It was a good choice and we enjoyed a simple but pleasant meal. We ate in the traditional bar and it proved a good choice. Easy to find and park. Pleasant efficient staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Janethawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights, arriving early we were showed straight up to our room (22) with a great view of the market square. Charlie helped us up with our luggage without being asked.
It was a large room, light and airy and well furnished. The shower was powerful in a good sized en-suite. There was a good supply of tea/coffee.
We ate in the Bistro on the first night, we chose from the specials menu. Great food, good atmosphere and attentive service. Difficult to fault.
All the staff, reception, bar and bar great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a view of the square, but some noise from passing traffic and Gregs delivery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeoffKing_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
0 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#5 of 5 in Devizes
320 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
771 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing