We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of The Black Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed at the black swan for two nights while away for work with one of my employees.both rooms were good size and clean.breakfast was very nice.and set us up for the day.
In the evening jenny behind the bar was lovely and nothing was to much trouble.
will def stay again.
All the best S goodman plumbing and heating

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodman175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed here with a friend and two dogs for one evening. The staff were polite and helpful and made us feel welcome. The hotel has a car park at the rear which is a bonus as is its' position in the centre of town close to shops and other bars and restaurants. The room was a good size and beds comfortable but the position of the room up two flights of stairs would be difficult for visitors with walking difficulties.The room was well equipped and very clean although the bathroom was in need of a refurb. We opted for the dinner b&b option which was good value although dinner choice was quite limited. Breakfast was excellent although the water in the thermos wasnt quite hot enough for tea and other guests were complaining about this as well. However I wouldnt let this put me off visiting again as the town was so lovely. The only other negative point was the noisy air conditioning unit outside the bedroom window which was a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the first floor the second floor is up two flights of twisty slightly narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My wife and I dined here with a couple of friends one evening and we were very impressed. The young gentleman who served us was very obliging and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The interior has a very oldie world like feel and feels very cozy and once your sat down you dont want to leave. The food was of good portions, quality and temperature and thus very good value for money. We will definitely be returning! Thanks for a really enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 60robertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

We travelled a a group of 8 adults, for a one night stay. Excellent location, right in the town centre.
Lovley town, plenty of shops and local pubs!
Free parking to rear of hotel. Rooms slightly dated, bathroom needed updating. But they were lovley and clean and the beds were very comfortable.
Flat screen tv in all rooms, tea making facilities, clean towels and hairdrier. Evening meal and breakfast was excellent.
Staff were friendly and helpfull.
Some noise late at night as the room was at the front of the hotel (rooms 4 & 6).
Would recommed, good value (£100 bed breakfast and evening meal)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parf139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here again whilst visiting friends in the area. Full of traditional character and really homely.
The hotel is part of the pub which is perfect for a hearty meal and catching up over a few bottles of red wine. Great breakfast and free parking on site a bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjcassidy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

A lovely, clean, attractive hotel. Really enjoyed our stay here. Will recommend this hotel to everyone. Food was lovely & very reasonable. Staff were great too. We certainly will be booking this hotel again really soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ammara2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Thanks for a great stay, as usual the food and staff were excellent. I just love this hotel, the place is fantastic. Thanks again Mike, Yvonne and staff. See you Next month for our little xmas shoppin trip. xx

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
88 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Address: 25-26 Market Place, Devizes SN10 1JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range: £83 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Swan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Swan Hotel in Devizes is an eighteenth century coaching inn and is a popular pub with 12 letting rooms. The ground floor, first floor function room and many of the rooms are decorated with antiques, most which are for sale. The candle lit large bar area has three open fires to provide a warm welcome. There is usually live music every Friday and/or Saturday night. The team of young, enthusiastic chefs provide breakfast, lunch and evening meals (except Sunday evening) The menu changes daily and all meals are cooked fresh in our kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Devizes
Black Swan Devizes
Black Swan Hotel Devizes
The Black Swan Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing