We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont listen to the negative reviews”
Review of The Black Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont listen to the negative reviews”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have never written a review on Tripadvisor before but my experience of this hotel deserved the effort on my part.

I stayed here last weekend as a party of three. We were on a cycling trip from Reading to South Wales. We were a little concerned about some of the reviews (and photos) but I can honestly say we had a great stay.

We arrived late (8.30pm) and the manager took our bikes and locked them away in hotel storage rooms safely and dry.

The room I stayed in (number 4) over looked the main town square outside and had a decent bed, bath, shower and toilet. TV was good.

The evening meal was good wholesome Pubgrub - I had the big burger which I couldn't finish even after burning off over 4000 calories cycling all day. Breakfast was freshly cooked "full English" and good standard.

The staff were excellent and, upon noticing we were on a charity ride, donated £20 towards our charity on the spot. The management in particular were friendly and very hard working (I don't actually think they sleep!)

Yes this is an old building, yes its creaky, but to me that's a much nicer environment to relax and unwind rather than a bland and plastic travel lodge.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mathewwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    77
    36
    40
    48
See reviews for
41
107
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were a little put off at first by some negative reviews, but although it is not cheap it is in the centre of town, its homely and the staff are friendly. The rooms were creaky but its an old building! That's part of its character and charm. The breakfasts were excellent, and we wished we had eaten dinner here the previous evening, after seeing the food served at lunchtime and the reputed excellent steak meals, rather than the disastrous dinner we had chosen to eat in a so called Egon Ronay restaurant just out of town. (see other review). The beers were good and the house wine ok, although it was a little strange to find an iron grille erected across the centre of the bar when it closed to the public, securing the bar against burglars (!), while we continued our drinks in the front lounge bar, as residents. That was different! But we would still come here again if we were staying in Devizes again, which is likely as one of us was born here.

Room Tip: The route to the car park is not easy to find, ask at the hotel first for directions or spend some t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Attractive !8thC coaching inn rebuilt after a fire about 1720. Narrow stairs and corridors as one would expect. All in very good decorative order. Linen impeccable. Bar/restaurant has character. Staff pleasant, helpful and informed about tourist attractions. If a visitor does not wish to use the restaurant the staff are happy to listen to requirements and direct to other restaurants. Excellent breakfasts: the full choice would fill a navvy. Bacon rashers are of a decent thickness. I stayed on two occasions in June. My first room was a double inside; my second room was outside off the coach-yard - a double at a pinch but satisfactory for a one night stay. Both rooms were clean and had very good facilities.

There is a secure car-park but parking is close. This is no problem unless you have a Roller or Bentley. The access to it is not through the coach-arch way as one would expect because it makes a pleasant outside additional lounge area for warm days. The yard through to the car-park is paved with cobbles. To gain access: if approached from the east along the A360 go through town centre, in the Market Square the Swan will be on the right, go past it and turn right into New Park Street, as you make this turn you will have Wadworth Brewery Centre on immediate left, on the opposite side of the road are council offices, enter the council offices car-park and drive through and the Swan entrance will be signed on your right; if approaching from the west on A342 or A361 cross canal, turn left into the first major side-road which has the Wadworth centre on the corner, follow the instructions above.

At £70 b&b in June I thought it good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

In 16 weeks of travel throughout UK and Germany, this hotel was the worst value for money place we stayed in. On arrival, the money was paid up front, unfortunately before we had checked out tge state of the room. While it was spacious, the decor and fittings were drab and boring. What was really annoying and bad was the leaking tap in tge bathroom, which the first night caused a flooded floor. The shower water didn't drain away adding to the flood. When we mentioned this, the staff said it would be fixed. While the shower did drain away, the tap dripped for the next 2 days. This added to the noise from the smokers under our window, who talked for hours at night. The burnt toast and poor selection at breakfast was not good value, either. A room price of over 100 quid a night made this choice bad value for money. The only redeeming feature is its location. Devizes is a great place but look else where for a place to stay. We saw other much nicer places.

Room Tip: Go to another place in Devizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Devizes hotels

Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed 2-3 weeks ago I found the food very poor and quality was only fit for animals, the rooms had broken lights and glass on the floor. (PLEASE ONLY STAY HERE IF THE HOSTELS ARE CLOSED) what a rip off I'm surprised the management get away with what they do!!!! However the brewery trip was an excellent day out and would recommend to everyone!!!! 07919 581626 for anyone to contact about this!!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davec6662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We struggled to find a last minute booking on the return trip from Cornwall to London for 4 adults and a dog. This was all we could find and so my expectations were low. However this was a very pleasant friendly place to stay. The rooms were spotless and there was plenty of hot water. We ate in the bar, and the food was very good, we had lamb or pork shank between us. We all slept well in the comfortable beds. There was a large cooked breakfast available in the morning. There were two other dogs there as well as our one. Admittedly the place is rather worn and tired and perhaps needs some refurb, also the stairs are very steep, but overall it was a quirky old inn and so had plenty of character. It is the middle of the town so had easy access to other places and to the canal nearby. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Friendly very helpful staff and comfortable rooms, really nice food all meant that we had a very pleasant stay, extremely relaxing. Everything was very clean. The route into the car park is somewhat challenging - but adds to the charm of the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horace_Bismire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
78 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
193 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Property: The Black Swan
Address: 25-26 Market Place, Devizes SN10 1JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Swan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Swan Hotel in Devizes is an eighteenth century coaching inn and is a popular pub with 12 letting rooms. The ground floor, first floor function room and many of the rooms are decorated with antiques, most which are for sale. The candle lit large bar area has three open fires to provide a warm welcome. There is usually live music every Friday and/or Saturday night. The team of young, enthusiastic chefs provide breakfast, lunch and evening meals (except Sunday evening) The menu changes daily and all meals are cooked fresh in our kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Devizes
Black Swan Devizes
Black Swan Hotel Devizes
The Black Swan Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing