We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls night away”
Review of George and Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George and Dragon
Ranked #6 of 19 Devizes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had champagne on arrival and were shown to our amazing room. We went down to the bar/restaurant and had some lush food. We had potted crab and tempura prawns which were lovely. The potted crab was rich and creamy and delicious. Then we had cheese souffle and crab risotto. The crab risotto was the best risotto I have ever tasted. We shared a sticky toffee pudding to finish the meal off and were not disappointed. Again it was delicious.

The staff were really friendly and the service was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be visiting again and again!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are great. They have some lush products in the rooms too (e.g. Cowshed moisturise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to read poor recent review, glad I hadn't read it before visiting...thought it was a lovely pub full of character and charm. Had Saturday dinner and Sunday lunch and thought the food was of a very high quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights while working nearby - very comfortable room, although I hadn't realised that the bathroom was not ensuite. The food is excellent - varied and very well executed selection at dinner and really good breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Check on bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffCypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a lovely Saturday evening out at the George & Dragon, celebrating my sister's birthday. All the staff were wonderful - really friendly and on the ball - and nothing was too much trouble. Food was great - we also had a vegetarian in our midst, and he was very impressed. They've got the restaurant just right, with the decor, lighting etc. . . Only downside was the toilets being outside, and it was a bit nippy!
It' the perfect place for a bit of a special evening out - we shall certainly be returning

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Cuttlefish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This place could do with some investment. The exterior is getting quite shabby and the state of the flooring from the kitchen to the restaurant and on the bedroom corridor was unforgiveably very dirty. There was also bad mould on the bedroom windows. The food was, in our view, not much better than average. Both the accommodation and food was overpriced for what it was. We would not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We were greeted and shown about with wonderful courtesy. As we sipped a beer and had a great seafood meal, both our host and the locals filled us in on how to get to the must-see canal locks in town. Breakfast was ready when we requested and lovely. The room was of course quirky--it's hundreds of years old--but with a great bed, every amenity we needed, we thorough enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The George and Dragon is part of the best inns to stay in England, and I agree with this. This is a family ruled inn, in a nice old building. It makes the room a bit unusual, with bathroom and toilets private but separated. Only unpleasant thing, the carpet in the room and corridor is a bit rough. But everything is organised so that you would feel comfortable nonetheless. Bathrobes are available to go from your room to your bathroom. Also to mention the natural cosmetics available.
It is a good idea to have dinner in the pub, which can offer a good choice of freshly caught fish form Cornwall. The breakfast is also quite nice, and with home made jams.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes_AroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devizes hotels
1.7 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
92 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
265 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
319 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Dragon

Address: High Street | Rowde, Devizes SN10 2PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Price Range: £70 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George & Dragon Rowde (near Devizes) specialises in seafood delivered daily from St Mawes. Our menu is complemented by a full a-la- carte menu offering meat and game dishes using locally sourced produce. A sixteenth century coaching inn, it combines modern day style with bundles of country character. Planning an event - our bespoke catering business, George Goes Out, will organise it for you. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon Hotel Devizes
George And Dragon Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing