We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room but on a noisy road”
Review of George and Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George and Dragon
Ranked #5 of 19 Devizes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were thoroughly pleased with bedroom 1 with its en-suite but realised early in the morning that we should not have opened the window for air. The traffic started quite early, at around 5am, and the air flow through the window also made the blind knock on the window causing extra disturbance. May be a heavy curtain would be the answer.
We found the friendliness of the staff was very good, which was mainly Aimee who showed us our rooms and ran the restaurant and bar on the evening of our stay.Busy girl but managed it fine.
We found the restaurant choice rather too much down the fish line, and having chosen the set price menu, we did not expect to have to pay for vegetables which were not included. We expect to pay for special requests but not a reasonable vegetable serving to make up the initial plate.

Room Tip: All rooms are at the front; very comfortable but the property adjoins the road through the town so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OfficeStonyStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were a team of 12 cyclists on a charity ride from Chester to Bournemouth, I'd advised the G&D the week before we may land for lunch but only confirmed it half an hour before landing. Despite arriving before they were open the G&D were very welcoming, taking our order early to ensure we could get on our way. The food was top notch and nothing was too much trouble. 10/10 for food and customer service.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Darlojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had champagne on arrival and were shown to our amazing room. We went down to the bar/restaurant and had some lush food. We had potted crab and tempura prawns which were lovely. The potted crab was rich and creamy and delicious. Then we had cheese souffle and crab risotto. The crab risotto was the best risotto I have ever tasted. We shared a sticky toffee pudding to finish the meal off and were not disappointed. Again it was delicious.

The staff were really friendly and the service was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be visiting again and again!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are great. They have some lush products in the rooms too (e.g. Cowshed moisturise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to read poor recent review, glad I hadn't read it before visiting...thought it was a lovely pub full of character and charm. Had Saturday dinner and Sunday lunch and thought the food was of a very high quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights while working nearby - very comfortable room, although I hadn't realised that the bathroom was not ensuite. The food is excellent - varied and very well executed selection at dinner and really good breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Check on bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffCypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a lovely Saturday evening out at the George & Dragon, celebrating my sister's birthday. All the staff were wonderful - really friendly and on the ball - and nothing was too much trouble. Food was great - we also had a vegetarian in our midst, and he was very impressed. They've got the restaurant just right, with the decor, lighting etc. . . Only downside was the toilets being outside, and it was a bit nippy!
It' the perfect place for a bit of a special evening out - we shall certainly be returning

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Cuttlefish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This place could do with some investment. The exterior is getting quite shabby and the state of the flooring from the kitchen to the restaurant and on the bedroom corridor was unforgiveably very dirty. There was also bad mould on the bedroom windows. The food was, in our view, not much better than average. Both the accommodation and food was overpriced for what it was. We would not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devizes hotels
1.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
1.7 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
94 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
266 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#5 of 5 in Devizes
321 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Dragon

Address: High Street | Rowde, Devizes SN10 2PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Price Range: £72 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George & Dragon Rowde (near Devizes) specialises in seafood delivered daily from St Mawes. Our menu is complemented by a full a-la- carte menu offering meat and game dishes using locally sourced produce. A sixteenth century coaching inn, it combines modern day style with bundles of country character. Planning an event - our bespoke catering business, George Goes Out, will organise it for you. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon Hotel Devizes
George And Dragon Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing