We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George and Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George and Dragon
Ranked #6 of 22 Devizes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Service was excellent although desserts took a long time to arrive. Seafood hors d'oeuvres were lovely but the whiting main was somewhat minimal and the extra charge for sides was unexpected.Having said that, the apprentice deals being offered to the staffare superb and should be replicated elsewhere.
Just not entirely sure of my overall opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richsim-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
72
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Benn several times and never been disappointed. Best to book. Great atmosphere in the winter if booking and sitting in the bar area near open fire. Very close to road but doesn't effect the visit. I don't think it had any outside seats so better to go on a cooler day. Never been disappointed and would recommend - particularly if you like your seafood.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We booked here to go to a wig 40th Birthday party in the town and decided to stay here rather than our nomal place in the centre of town. We were very pleased when we arrived and were shown our room and left to it, you can come and go as you please without anyone worrying about you. The room was just great and perfect for what we needed, the bathroom was along the corridor but it is about 10 steps away so NO DRAMA. The products in the bathroom were lovely and I really liked the conditioner-so did my hair!!!! We had breakfast in the morning and it was lovely I had no issues paying extra for the cooked full english it was so worth it, the lady who cooks is so nice and so many stories to tell. I loved this place and will recommend to all I meet. I cant wait to go back and we rarely visit a place twice as there are so many great places in the UK to choose from, but will def visit again.
Thank you George and Dragon I truly can not fault you, the owners personnality shine through the whole place and it is beaming.

Room Tip: We only saw our room and its the one without the en-suite, it really didnt bother us. Lovely bed mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Stratford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were thoroughly pleased with bedroom 1 with its en-suite but realised early in the morning that we should not have opened the window for air. The traffic started quite early, at around 5am, and the air flow through the window also made the blind knock on the window causing extra disturbance. May be a heavy curtain would be the answer.
We found the friendliness of the staff was very good, which was mainly Aimee who showed us our rooms and ran the restaurant and bar on the evening of our stay.Busy girl but managed it fine.
We found the restaurant choice rather too much down the fish line, and having chosen the set price menu, we did not expect to have to pay for vegetables which were not included. We expect to pay for special requests but not a reasonable vegetable serving to make up the initial plate.

Room Tip: All rooms are at the front; very comfortable but the property adjoins the road through the town so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OfficeStonyStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

We were a team of 12 cyclists on a charity ride from Chester to Bournemouth, I'd advised the G&D the week before we may land for lunch but only confirmed it half an hour before landing. Despite arriving before they were open the G&D were very welcoming, taking our order early to ensure we could get on our way. The food was top notch and nothing was too much trouble. 10/10 for food and customer service.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darlojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had champagne on arrival and were shown to our amazing room. We went down to the bar/restaurant and had some lush food. We had potted crab and tempura prawns which were lovely. The potted crab was rich and creamy and delicious. Then we had cheese souffle and crab risotto. The crab risotto was the best risotto I have ever tasted. We shared a sticky toffee pudding to finish the meal off and were not disappointed. Again it was delicious.

The staff were really friendly and the service was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be visiting again and again!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are great. They have some lush products in the rooms too (e.g. Cowshed moisturise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to read poor recent review, glad I hadn't read it before visiting...thought it was a lovely pub full of character and charm. Had Saturday dinner and Sunday lunch and thought the food was of a very high quality.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CF_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devizes hotels
1.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
1.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Dragon

Property: George and Dragon
Address: High Street | Rowde, Devizes SN10 2PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George & Dragon Rowde (near Devizes) specialises in seafood delivered daily from St Mawes. Our menu is complemented by a full a-la- carte menu offering meat and game dishes using locally sourced produce. A sixteenth century coaching inn, it combines modern day style with bundles of country character. Planning an event - our bespoke catering business, George Goes Out, will organise it for you. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon Hotel Devizes
George And Dragon Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing