We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible value for money”
Review of George and Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George and Dragon
Ranked #6 of 20 Devizes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Small roll top bath in double room. Marked toilet seat. Extra charge for 'day bed' linen, continental breakfast only in price. Very noisy and £105 a night!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack1150572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for George and Dragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

What a lovely time just over an hour outside London. Thankfully, it's a complete world away and totally and utterly affordable. This place is run by people that set up the nearby Babington House and Soho House and that level of quality is here in spades. You have a centuries old pub complete with very modern bedrooms.

We turned up on a Friday night for Easter and had a weekend of total indulgence that is simply massive value for money.

You name it and you got it:

Food - this is one of the original gastropubs and is rated from everyone from Michelin down. You will want to eat everything and I ate the vegetarian risotto twice. And I love meat!

Rooms - beds that you just wished you owned and never want to get out of

Bathroom - gorgeous showers and bath, stocked full of luxury products

We left feeling totally relaxed and want to move out of London to here. Is there a downside? Is there a niggle? Yes, sadly I put on 3 pounds in weight!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaystruthful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed at the G&D over the Easter weekend. It is a truly charming coaching inn that out-gastros all other gastro pubs. It has all the gorgeous touches of more expensive places with none of the pretension. Cowshed toiletries, huge downy duvets and pillows to dive into, all old oak beams and open fires. Locals, their dogs and foodies all share the fire next to the Michelin-recommended restaurant. The seafood is delivered daily and is to die for - we had potted crab, scallops and bacon, smoked haddock with egg and horseradish potatoes and sticky toffee pudding. The bar is gorgeous, so cosy and the owners and staff could not do more to help. When you can't can't eat or drink any more you just have to open the old wooden door to the stairs up to the bedrooms. The inn has a great reputation locally and with good reason - it is the perfect location for a romantic weekend away and fab food, just 2 hours out of London. Just don't tell too many people as I'd like to go back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expensivehotelhabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Extremely friendly and helpful hosts, comfy rooms with style and character, fantastic food - all in a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

I took my boyfriend to stay here for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year. This little pub is absolutely gorgeous, it has so much character and is what a old english pub should be like, very cosy. We stayed in room 3 with the freestanding bath, the bed was so comfortable. We ate both nights there surrounded by twinkly candles and log fire, food was delicious as was the wine. I think the thing that stood out for us was the service, the owners are really lovely and made us feel very welcome, as if we were friends. I would definitely stay there again. I think the only negative point would be that the room wasn't cleaned during the day i.e. dirty glasses taken away but that really is a tiny point.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicCatTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We had a great welcome at the G & D - and there was a very high standard of service throughout.
We stayed in Room 1 - which is ensuite. Beutiffully and comfortably furnished.
Food was fantastic - with excellent attention to detail - we shall return.!
We walked to the famous Caen Hill locks from the pub- and met some very friendly villagers on the way!

We are now thinking about when we can go again.

The pub is on the main road - so you are likely to hear some traffic noise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Our room was well-appointed with crisp white linens and a bathroom stocked with Cowshed products – our first experience with this line which we thoroughly enjoyed. It took a few minutes to get used to the geometry of the room, which, in keeping with its four hundred years of age, had few right angles, but this added to the charm. The restaurant is known locally for seafood that arrives fresh daily. We had a great dinner there.

The landlords were all extremely helpful and friendly and the place is relaxed. One caution: the pub is on a moderately busy road and the rooms are (obviously) over a working pub / restaurant both of which generated a bit of noise. We didn’t find this to affect our stay. We liked the George & Dragon a lot.

Finally, note that there are two George & Dragons close to Devizes. This one is in Rowde, a village a mile or two northwest of town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner5714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devizes hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
82 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
258 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
0.2 mi away
Vine Cottage B&B
Vine Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Rowde
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Dragon

Address: High Street | Rowde, Devizes SN10 2PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Price Range: £69 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George & Dragon Rowde (near Devizes) specialises in seafood delivered daily from St Mawes. Our menu is complemented by a full a-la- carte menu offering meat and game dishes using locally sourced produce. A sixteenth century coaching inn, it combines modern day style with bundles of country character. Planning an event - our bespoke catering business, George Goes Out, will organise it for you. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon Hotel Devizes
George And Dragon Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing