We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage”

Review of Mount View Cottage

Courtyard Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard Entrance
Front Entrance View from Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Courtyard Entrance
Front Entrance
View from Master Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Lounge
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john w
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cosy little cottage home from home. Very clean and spacious light rooms nicely decorated. Beds huge and very comfortable. Wonderful views from master bedroom. Ideally situated for visiting much of wiltshire. Plenty of room for four people. Thank you Sarah and David for a lovely week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and very pleased you liked the cottage.

Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
517smith
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“EXCELLENT COSY SPOTLESS”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Lovely little cottage in nice village Ideal for visiting Devizes Frome Bradford on Avon

Kind owners .Cottage had everything we needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SammyPix
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Really enjoyed our stay at Mount View, it's was so much more than we expected,the cottage was comfortable and clean. And opening the front door to the spectacular view. We spent a week exploring all the beauty of the area, as a photographer I was in my element. but a week isn't enough we could of stayed all summer. Sarah and Dave, were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Can't wait to go back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, and more importantly thank you for your amazing photos of the area which I will add some to the website for the cottage. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jobeeloo
2 reviews
“Can't recommend highly enough”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well, where to start?
As soon as you drive in to Potterne, you see the beauty of the village.
The cottage is wonderfully finished, sizable & to say "comfortable" would be an understatement.
The bed in the master bedroom is an absolute joy, as were the the views when you opened the curtains in the morning!
So much to see and do, within just a stones-throw away.
Devizies, Bath & local walks just on your doorstep and wildlife for those with a love for it, will not be disappointed.
The bars & restaurants were fabulous too.

I cannot recommend the hospitality, along with respect of privacy from the owners, highly enough.

Sarah & Dave, we will be back!

Jo & Sam

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thanks for a lovely review, really pleased that the cottage met your requirements and that you had a great time in the area, we look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist60
at my computer
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We chose this as centre for a walking break and, as buses stop early evening, the off street parking was useful. Two good sized bedrooms both with comfortable beds gave good nights' sleep. Really good bathroom with a a fine shower (as well as a bath) another WC with wash hand basin prevented conflicts. Clean tidy and pleasantly furnished.
Booked four nights and stayed a fifth which kind of says it all.
Tea, coffee, water and milk awaited us along with dishwasher tablets but no laundry powder but I guess I would have been there if we asked!
We did no cooking but the kitchen was fine once we got to grips with starting the washing machine<g>
Walking distance to Devizes (market day Wednesday). Devizes has both Sainsbury and Morrison supermarkets
George and Dragon ten minutes stroll away in the village has cheerful staff and good pub food with something for everyone. If eating in Devizes Cantina Maya restaurant in Snuff Street (opens evenings at 7pm) is friendly and has tasty different food so much better than Pizza Express!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Dear Chris, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mount View Cottage. We really appreciate the feedback and also the recommendations - I am not sure we have been to Cantina Maya so will give it a try. Many thanks and kind regards. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo and Sc...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very comfortable beds and all amenities you could wish for”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Sarah and David were very obliging. Whist there were some steps down into the cottage our cases were carried in for us, though we could have managed despite being in our 70s The rooms were spacious and warm and the beds extremely comfortable. We both said we had not slept so well for ages.
The village especially the church are interesting and the local pub had reasonable meals. Potterne is a good centre for touring about and we especially enjoyed the Caen Locks, Laycock, Bradford on Avon and Malborough.. Devizes was very good for several supermarkets and had a market on Thursday.We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone. We were a party of 3 and had plenty of room.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to add a review, we hope your onward journey did not take too long. We really appreciate the feedback, it makes renovating the cottage all worthwhile. Kind regards Sarah and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing