We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was great”
Review of Franco's

Franco's
Ranked #30 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food was great”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the food. It was well cooked and super tasty.

The atmosphere was definitely lacking. It felt quite dated, and s little cafeteria-y, which is why I've rated it a 3. If the atmosphere was a bit better it would have been a 4.

The staff were very friendly and hekpfuk. Overall an enjoyable evening!

Helpful?
Thank SimonCaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    59
    24
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“REAL ITALIAN FAMILY DINING”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Franco's is a delightful experience. The family came originally from Sicily and the atmosphere and food reflect this. Upstairs is a coffee shop, where they also sell home made bread - possibly the best I have tasted - and take away slices of pizza, with really good, strong coffee. Downstairs is the restaurant - delicious pizzas and a variety of other Italian dishes. Always welcoming and friendly, it knocks spots off the chain pizza restaurant in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolMonochrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food very friendly”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I pop in for a cuperchino now and then as this is my home town they are very friendly PEPOLE lovely food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've been here several times and always found the food to be exceptional. The wine is also good and the service brilliant. The only downer I would put on this place is the lack of window seats/tables. It is in a cellar though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TownFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Busy but no Buzz”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Managing expectation; for me Italian themed restaurants have been family run, lively edging to chaotic or cosy, discreet and romantic, but always good food. This fell somewhere between the two, the upshot being ‘mediocre’.
The two front of house staff were very busy and working hard, the chef was in and out of the kitchen.
Antipasti – brochettes’ & Franco’s mixed hams and cheese platter, nice but nothing special, mains – Bomba Pizza (staff happy to remove anchovies and add mozzarella) was good but my partners Sicilian Pasta was disappointing in that the sauce was pushing thin and watery and could only be described as ‘spicy’ at a good stretch, pasta too soft.
It has great potential with its location but needs to be clear about its identity and once established upgrade the décor, food and passion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franco's also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to Franco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing