We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kirsty C

Fabulous and relaxing experience throughly enjoyed the superb afternoon tea

Review of Whatley Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks agovia mobile
We spent a wonderful afternoon at Whatley manor to celebrate my mums 80th and my daughters 18th. We had the most amazing afternoon tea and relaxing time. We enjoyed exploring the stunning gardens and were lucky to have a sunny dry day. The staff were friendly and looked after us wonderfully. The afternoon tea was superb.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Biddle, Guest Services / Front Office at Whatley Manor, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Kirsty,

Thank you for leaving us a fabulous online review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your afternoon tea and our wonderful gardens. We thank you for choosing us to celebrate two very special birthdays.
We hope to welcome you all back to our hotel soon.

Best wishes
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
1.6 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £158
  • Hotels.com
2.9 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
ZenHotels.com
£110
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
4.4 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £245
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Snooty Fox Hotel
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £174
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £136
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.2 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double room at Keno Lodge
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.3 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
7.2 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.0 miles from Whatley Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Easton Grey
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveller rating
1,006
174
54
34
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,006
174
54
34
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu dining room afternoon tea the general manager michelin star worth every penny attention to detail stunning hotel dining experience before dinner superior room special treat relaxing break sandwiches service charge main restaurant from start to finish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2024

Whatley Manor is a converted 17th century manor set in acres of beautiful grounds. There's a real feeling of understated elegance here, helped by the fact that the staff are so professional and welcoming.

In fact, I think you can tell a lot about a place by how happy the staff seem and without exception everyone we talked to at Whatley Manor loved to chat about their work, whether it be the history of the building or the dishes on the menu. (And who can blame them? More of which in a moment...)

From the wait staff - and indeed the chef himself - at the restaurants, to front of house, we were made to feel welcome at every point during our stay. A particular shout-out is due to Michele Mella, the charming general manager, who drove us in his own car to our friend's wedding, 25 minutes drive away, when the local taxi firm cancelled on us at the last minute. Not only that, but they refused to charge us for it. Now that's service.

Rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet, with none of the creakiness around the edges you can sometimes get from older hotels. The spa is gorgeous and the gardens even more so. They're lovely wander around, including a butterfly garden and some thoughtfully hidden away little reading nooks, complete with lanterns for you to light once the sun goes down.

We ate at The Dining Room on one night and the more casual Grey's on the other. Both are excellent but The Dining Room is truly superb, more than deserving of its Michelin star. Allow three hours or more for the full experience but I promise it will fly by.

Anything I'd like to see done differently? No... although we did have a very interesting conversation with Michele about his idea of turning part of the dining area into a wine bar serving little tapas style nibbles. That would be a great addition, a space with a more intimate vibe than the spacious (and, it must be said, very comfortable) lounge bar. I have no idea if it'll happen, but I guess we'll just have to keep coming back to check whether it does. And that's definitely no hardship at all.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majesticbutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Biddle, Guest Services / Front Office at Whatley Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Thank you for the time you have taken to give this fabulous online review. Its always very rewarding to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us and we somehow managed to make it all the more special.

We thank you sincerely for choosing Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa and the whole team hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024

An incredible nights stay at Whatley Manor for my husbands 40th. From the moment you walk in they cannot do enough for you, the staff are all welcoming and friendly, making you feel immediately at home. The spa is one of the best I have been to, never feeling too busy and a very relaxing experience with great facilities. We booked the Starry Night offer which included The Dining Room tasting menu which was so amazing it deserves its own review, as well as a bottle of delicious sparkling wine in our incredibly comfortable room. We didn't have much time to explore the grounds, but what we did see was beautiful and we would love to visit again in the summer months to make the most of these. Overall, Whatley Manor is a very special place to enjoy a celebration!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emmacummings84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Biddle, Guest Services / Front Office at Whatley Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear Emma,

Thank you for the time you have taken to give this fabulous online review. It is always great to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

We are very happy you chose our hotel to celebrate a special birthday.

We thank you sincerely for choosing Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024

We arrived down the most beautiful driveway and entrance to a very warm welcome Michael the manager ! Very pleasant man our room was ready and we was taken straight away we had our dog with us who was given toys , towel, bed and Bowls for his stay ! The room was truly amazing so Beautiful with a large outside area which was great for the dog ! This hotel is the most cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in , superb housekeeping wow 😮 ! We had a lovely light lunch and spent some time in the spa ! Until our last wonderful Mitchelling star restaurant ! Every detail by the staff chefs is excellent 👍 the hotel its self is such a beautiful place I was truly overwhelmed by our whole experience! On Sunday we had a treatment Georgia you have a wonderful smile and very inviting personality and a fantastic massage ! I do agree that the drinks are a little pricey but this hotel is five star luxury and that’s what you are paying for
I can one hundred per cent we had the most amazing time and will definitely return !
So a huge thank you to everyone who works there the hotel has a great team of people so keep you the fabulous hospitality and hard work that you all put in thank you thank you for some very happy guests and dog too 😘 xxx

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Harris, Guest Services / Front Office at Whatley Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Good evening Bernadette,

Thank you so much for your kind review of your stay and spa experience, we are glad that the doggies found it fun too! We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness here at the hotel, simply the best its ever been with the most amazing housekeeping team and leader! We are so glad that you will return to us and look forward to welcoming you back when the time does come!

With warmest regards,

Oliver H (Hotel Operations Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2024

A very special birthday stay was organised by my other half. An impressive sweeping driveway leads to a beautiful house. A warm welcome on arrival and shown to our room (number 9) The hotel had kindly left a card and a cupcake for my birthday.

The bedroom was lovely, traditional style, a nice big comfortable bed and good bedding. The lounge area was comfortable. The lounge and bedroom were cold on arrival but we soon worked out how the radiators work.

The bathroom was nice enough, nice Molton Brown toiletries. We had two towelling robes but no slippers which was a shame.

All in all a lovely room. The room was nice and quiet and we enjoyed using the lounge area. Everywhere was clean.

The breakfast in the main restaurant was really nice, a nice choice and vegetarians get their own menu which is a nice gesture. The avocado on toast was delicious.

The evening meal in the main restaurant was enjoyable. Again, a good vegetarian selection. Portions are small and beautifully presented, but surprisingly filling (although that might be due to the piles of sourdough bread and creamy butter that we ordered over and over again, delicious!). Service was efficient and friendly.

There was a private event, I think it was a wedding, taking place in the hotel. The guests of the wedding congregated for drinks and nibbles at the bottom of the staircase from our bedroom. We wanted to go to the spa in our bathrobes for the full spa experience but because of the wedding guests enjoying their champagne at the bottom of our staircase, we didnt think it was appropriate to walk through the wedding guests in our bathrobes so we had to go to the spa in our clothes and change there which was a shame.

Speaking of the spa, we had 3 lovely treatments. A full body massage and a facial and back massage combo. (I would like to mention our therapist's names on here as they were very good, but unfortunately they didnt introduce themselves with a name, they just got on with the treatment which thankfully was a really nice spa treatment).

With the 2 nights stay in a very nice room, a pricy dinner on just one evening, £16 gin and tonics, a £50 bottle of wine and a few treatments in the spa, our bill was hefty, as you would expect for a place like this. But THEN when we checked out, they had added a 10% service charge on the whole bill, even including the accommodation! That made it a £125 service charge which is ridiculous! We have NEVER had a service charge added to a hotel bill before to include a charge for staying in a room, and we have stayed in 5* star hotels all around the world. Surely the accomodation charge doesn't require a service charge? We understand that food, drinks and spa treatments would have a service charge, but the accommodation? That left a bitter taste in our mouth having had a nice stay.

We gave it a go for a special birthday and we will tick it off our list. All in all, a nice traditional hotel, pleasant staff, nice food, good spa treatments.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RealFoodieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Harris, Guest Services / Front Office at Whatley Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Good evening,

Firstly May I thank you for your in depth positive review of your stay with us. We are glad you liked your little birthday treat, and enjoyed your bedroom, room 9 certainly is a smashing suite! We do pride ourselves on our service and efficiency so we are pleased to hear that this was recognised. It is great to hear that your spa experience, once you arrived there was good, I am just sorry that you felt that you had to go in your clothes rather than robes. You are always ore than welcome to come down in your robes in the public areas. Regarding the service charge, this has been something that we have done for many years now and I hope that you can understand that this is a completely discretionary charge, which can always be removed if requested. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

With warmest regards,

Oliver H (Hotel Operations Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024

As you drive up the gates open and you are impressed before you get in the door. We were given amazing suite and it was our birthday and they were kind enough to give us champagne and a birthday cake with a candle. Everywhere was clean. The room we had a fridge, coffee machine and TV in sitting room and bedroom. Bathrobes and slippers.
Beds were comfortable
Had a safe too
Then the spa is amazing
We were showed around
Lots of special touches in this hotel
Massage I had was amazing
The gym is great
They don't try and sell you anything which is great.
Dyson hair dryers in changing room
We had a buffet dinner included and was amazed wine was included too.
The staff were lovely
I can't rate this hotel high enough
I have been to several 5 star hotels but this one was great in every way.
They clean your shoes
Park your car
Help you in any way they can
I will definitely come back

Room tip: Take advantage of what they offer
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank smpc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oliver Harris, Guest Services / Front Office at Whatley Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your fantastic descriptive review. We are so glad that you found the facilities impressive and glad that we were able to treat you to a little birthday treat. We look forward to welcoming you back to Whatley again soon.

Warm regards,

Oliver H (Hotel Operations Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews