We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of The Lamb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lamb
Ranked #1 of 2 Hindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had to stay near Hindon and choose The Lamb Inn.
Everything was near to perfect.
Nice welcoming, easy check in and check out, with some help with my luggage! The room was lovely with some nice Neal Yards products which was a treat after a long day.
Everything in the room was good, lovely towels, nice pillow, good bedding.....
The Chef called sick in the afternoon so I could not stay for dinner but the lovely lady at the reception apologise and book a table in the gastro pub next door (food was nice and not expensive).
Really helpful and lovely staff allowing me to check out a bit later,
I would recommend this hotel for Business (really good wifi) but for a nice week end away.. the village is really lovely!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouteO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    100
    56
    28
    9
See reviews for
52
166
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed one night. The staff looked extremely tired when we arrived at 4.00 pm. So the welcome lacked real warmth. The room was quirky but very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room had all the amenities required including good quality shower gel and shampoo and tea making facilities.

The evening meal was fine. Good value for money. Posh pub food. However, there was only one staff serving and the dining room was full. We were not in a hurry which is just as well.

Breakfast was again served by the same girl. She really does work very hard. The actual cooked breakfast was good but the choice apart from that was poor. We again waited quite a while before being served and before we actually got our breakfast.

I had a high expectation of my visit after viewing the web site video. The Lamb Inn does not come up to that expectation. However, as a quirky old pub it is fine if perhaps a little expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked via late rooms last minute. When we arrived welcome was spalling , we were told we've spoken to late rooms about this before they shouldn't have booked you in! Handled very badly and we felt a bit embarrassed. After we were about to leave manager said he could make a room up for us if we sat in the bar .
Stairs to room need vacuuming and room needed a deep clean.
As did the downstairs bar area.
However we decided to stay nice bathroom with freestanding bath, but no accessories to wash you hair!
Ate in restaurant , service very slow , painfully slow and we were told they were understaffed due to sickness. One waitress on duty did her best and worked very hard. We ordered dessert and waited over half an hour for it so we got up, left and went back to our room.
Mattress needs replacing as very uncomfortable and you could feel every spring.
Again like a previous reviewer we were awoken early morning by an intruder alarm, so obviously a reoccurring theme here !

Over all , lovely area and would be a lovely hotel with investment and attention to detail!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuscany21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are staying in a nearby b&b for a wedding and in the visitors folder was a selection of sample menus for various pubs and restaurants in the area.
We chose the Lamb as the menu looked interesting and good value, we were not disappointed.
We had my niece with us and they took her order immediately and her food arrived very quickly which was great.
All of our meals were lovely, it was very difficult to choose from the menu as everything appealed.
The staff were very friendly and the place had a lovely atmosphere.
Great value for money, sensible portion sizes, would definitely recommend.
Amazing whisky selection to if you like a tot!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I am very cynical of bad reviews written by people who have in fact done very few reviews. I always suspect their expectations are greater than their sense of reality. Most of the poor reviews of this place seem to fall into this category. You have to judge it by what it is. It is a country Inn and it is not and does not pretend to be anything else.

As such it is very good and does it very well in my view. The rooms are adequate and you are provided with everything you need including ironing board, hair dryer, tea, coffee and a great range of toilet products. The layout of the hotel is so typical of country inns with “meandering” corridors and staircases leading to more corridors but this adds to the quaintness of the building. At full price, around £120 for a normal room, it may be reaching its limit but the average cost seems to be around £90 and this is very good value. The restaurant has a sensible menu, what you would expect from an Inn restaurant and sensibly priced. The service and attention could not be faulted and at £111 for a nights stay, pre- meal drinks and a meal for two, I think that was great value. You could do it cheaper too. If you need a place to “stop over” you will be well served by these people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJA950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the Lamb Inn for one night in March 2014. We travelled with our dog who was very welcome at the Inn. We stayed in a suite room, which was lovely. The rooms aren't luxurious, but they are well decorated and clean. We also ate dinner, which I had high expectations for since the Lamb Inn is owned by Boisedale, but found a bit disappointing compared to the food at Boisdale locations in London. Good food, but not great.
The staff were absolutely wonderful; very accommodating and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I visited today with a friend for coffee then lunch. Due to the inclement spring weather outside we chose to sit by the open fire. This inn has two and both were lit, giving a really comfy and welcoming feeling. Our lunch was well presented, tasty and a good portion & very reasonably priced. The service was friendly and efficient but not intrusive. I have stayed at this hotel earlier in the year and enjoyed my stay, not having any issues with the room. What I think is interesting about staying at the Lamb is that because it is such an old building each bedroom has it's own identity. Looking forward to my next visit, when the weather is warmer to sit outside and enjoy this lovely village.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onwardsandsidewards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hindon
11.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 4 in Tisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Chicklade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Riverbarn
The Riverbarn
#1 of 1 in Fonthill Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb

Property: The Lamb
Address: High Street, Hindon SP3 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb would have been trading as a public house as early as the 12th Century. By 1870 it was already well established as a posting inn that supplied 300 post horses for coaches going to and from London and the West Country. To this day the building retains plenty of its original character and features including inglenook fireplaces, flag stone floors and heavy wooden beams. We have 18 beautiful boutique-style bedrooms as well as a traditional pub, dining room as well as a private dining or meeting room providing the perfect place for locals and visitors to enjoy all of the comforts and amenities expected from a larger hotel. With attractions such as The Lamb is a perfect base to explore the area, including attractions such as Old Wardour Castle, Salisbury Cathedral, Stonehenge and the glorious Wiltshire Country Side Whatever the occasion we're here to make your visit or stay one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lamb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Hindon
The Lamb Hindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing