We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hook
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem in the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We just needed a place to stop on our way to Wales, and we picked the Schoolhouse because it was right next to the motorway and very easy to find. The hostess Karen was charming and seemed to do everything from arranging our booking, greeting us, manning the bar and being our waitress! The building itself is really beautiful, the rooms comfortable and there was just enough antique decor to make the place have character without being too overdone. Food was fantastic, despite being next to the motorway there was no noise and overall I have no complaints and would recommend to anyone for a weekend away or a stopover like ours.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    31
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
21
41
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were looking for a very short notice night away around the Swindon area, there are the usual Premier Inns and Holidays inns, but we prefer places with a big more character and this is definitely that. We arrived quite late, around 9ish and were made very welcome and offered some food in their bar/restaurant which was very good. It is OK to find, just keep going all the way through Hook and it is on the side farthest from Swindon.

The room was OK, nothing special but fine for us and he hotel is laid out in a really lovely way. Would recommend this place for a stay in the Swindon area

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We booked for a one night stay and paid £50 for a double with ensuite including contintental breakfast.

The outside of the building is very attractive and makes the most of its original features as a converted school house. The reception area, although small, is pleasant and functional. We were met by the owner, who completed our checkin swiftly, and we were allocated a double room with ensuite overlooking the rear fields.

The furnishings were in keeping with the old world charm of the hotel, including a wrought iron bed, and were comfortable. The modern conveniences included a small 14 inch tv and and a working WiFi signal (unusual in most hotels). The bathroom was dated, and could do with modernising/ repairs as there were several loose tiles on the wall of the bath.

The breakfast the next morning was substantial and included toast, jams, cereals, cheese, ham, and pastries, a very satisfying breakfast that filled the gaps. A cooked breakfast was available for an additional cost.

The location of the hotel is on the outskirts of Swindon, and would be perfect for a night away without the kids or for a touring holiday. I would describe the School House as more of a 'Bed and Breakfast' than a hotel, mainly because of its size, location, and facilities, but this makes it more appealing than a santised budget hotel. I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for a big weekend away (e.g. hens night etc) as its approximately 15 / 20 mins from the centre of Swindon, and there aren't any local bars/pubs apart from onsite.

We were happy with our stay, and would have happily returned to the School House, that is until reading the previous reviews on TripAdvisor after our stay; we weren't aware of the room corkage charge or other rules as we weren't told of them at check-in, and as we booked via booking site, we didn't see the School House's own website. Reading the rules in their entirety now on the hotel's website, they are quite off-putting to potential guests, and sadly it would be enough to put us off returning again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlinterested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We recently held our 30th Wedding Anniversary Party at the Hotel and couldn't have asked for a better venue. We have eaten in the restaurant many times and cannot fault the food or service, hence why we chose to host our party there. The restaurant easily accommodated 40 guests and the owners, Karen and Tonny welcomed our suggestions regarding layout and menu options. The service was excellent on the night and the food delicious! We would highly recommend this hotel for the personal service, atmosphere and great food, sourced locally. It was perfect for a private party, tailored to our exact needs. Thank you Karen & Tonny for making our Anniversary so special!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Tony and Karen own this hotel and restaurant and give great service to their guests. We were welcomed by Karen at reception and she kindly served us at the bar in the evening while Tony was in the kitchen preparing dinner for my husband and I and our four guests. The table d'hote menu costs £15 and the a la carte works out at around £25 for 3 courses. The standard of the food and service is excellent. I would have expected to pay £65 a head for the same food in Brighton, where I live. Karen remembered all of our names for the evening which was rather nice to hear when she was serving us. Amazingly, she didn't even need to write down our orders. It is this kind of personal touch that made our stay so special. The breakfast was great and substantial. Home made porridge and scones and lots of fresh fruit. Delicious. A beautiful building, lovely furniture and fantastic hosts!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnsmedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

The surrounding area is disappointing in terms of quaint old pubs and amenities, and nearby Wooton Bassett has little to offer. Swindon which is nearby has all that you would expect of a very large town, but as we were looking for a short country break, we were concerned, prior to check in that we were in for a disappointing evening. We were immediately impressed with our room which was in keeping with the age and history of the building. The bar and restaurant lived up to expectations and the menu was extensive and food value for money! We would recommend the set menu - three courses £15 pp. A very pleasant continental style breakfast set us up for our departure. The owners were friendly and welcoming - we had a great evening!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiarose1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We both enjoyed our stay and the food was nice but the downloaded menu gave the impression that the meals were ordered in and reheated with the seasonal vegatables cooked in house. The room was very nice and clean the bed very comfortable as for tea and coffee there is a machine in the entrance. I would recomend it to anyone for the price and as a base it is perfect for touring a very nice area. As for the pie im a yorkshire man and £185 is too much so i can't give a review of that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egonrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
0.9 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Wiltshire
The Wiltshire
#1 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: The Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: Hook Street | Royal Wootton Bassett, Hook SN4 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Schoolhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schoolhouse Hotel is a small family run hotel in the Swindon countryside. The Schoolhouse Hotel and Restaurant is run in a comfortable and relaxed manner. Our food has a distinctive European influence without "pomp and circumstance". Seafood and fish, in particular flatfish are some of our specialties. Enjoy the comfort of our rooms and appreciate the company of your friends in our restaurant. We just look forward welcoming to you back. We enjoy to care as long as you care to enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Hotel Hook
The Schoolhouse Hotel Hook, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing