We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Family Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hook
Reviewed 26 November 2012

As a 50th Birthday celebration for 44 guests we decided to book The School House, with the number of guests we had we were able to have it all to ourselves. Karen was very helpful through the process of arranging the day and giving us the menu choices we wanted. The School House has character and with the fires lit in both the restaurant and bar it was such a warm place to be on a cold wet afternoon.

All our guests complimented the food and the choice of venue. We were very happy with our choice.

A big thank you to Karen, Tonny and their staff.

Steve and Tony

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank steverolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

We visited here on Saturday the 3rd of November myself my wife and two very good friends,when we arrived the car park was almost empty,not surprising as when we entered the building it felt very cold and damp,this was the best bit the worse was yet to come in the food and the attitude of the management.
Starters were very good as were the desserts,the main course (Rib eye steak) had by myself had a strong odour to it and a very bitter taste.When this was brought to the attention of the management they did offer to replace it or cook me another steak I opted for another steak,this also was the same as the first,When I returned this steak I was not offered another alternative,so just went for a dessert which was good.On presentation of the hand written bill they had charged for the second steak plus a surcharge when I questioned this they said I had been given the opportunity to have a different meal.At this point we were abruptly and aggressively asked to leave,certainly at no point did we or anyone else in the party leave a tip.

All I can say is in the current economic climate with this kind of customer service GOOD LUCK you will need it.

Room Tip: Do not go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank skippy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramselaar, Owner at The Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Customers were politely and firmly directed to leave after promising a menacing " Very nice" review on tripadvisor and similar profanities. The gratuities left were donated to the local palliative care charity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Not as good as other reviews suggested.Hotel decor is very tired.Our room was ok, but the twin room our others had was cold, damp and mouldy all across the ceiling. Our bathroom door didn't have a lock...but as it didn't close anyway I suppose there was no point...
No tea or coffee in the room...vending machine in the hallway...£2.50 cup...really???!!!
Service at check in was peremptory to say the least..no offer to help with bags or even to show us to the room.
It was also really noisy...doors banging til late...really echoey...
Sorry, it could be lovely with a huge injection of cash..but we won't be back...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I attended this Hotel in November and had a terrible experience. Firslty is was so cold other guest and myself were eating with out coats on.
When the food arrived the starters were lovely. The main course was rib eye and was charged with a £5 supplement - it was totally inedible - it stank!!
We were treated badly by the staff, We had guests with us and the entire experience here was a 'never to do again event'!
If you are looking for a nice, friendly country home hotel/restaurant don't go here!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SwindonConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramselaar, Owner at The Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you for leaving your thoughts on Tripeadvisor.
We are more than happy that some of you will not return.
Also a big thank you for the very generous gratuity left on the table
and apologies one of the gentlemen in your party!

kind regards

Tonny Ramselaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Came across this Restaurant whilst on holiday for a couple of days in Swindon. Enjoyed a very good meal (excellent value at £16.50 for 3 courses) in a really characterful and interesting building. Haven't stayed at the hotel but can recommend the quality of food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank potters_clay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

It was only a one night stand but warm and satisfying ! We were made to feel most welcome and given an outstanding and great value dinner, thank you.My only suggestion would be to add tea/coffee-making facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiliman186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Room was poor, mould and loud noisy fan in the bathroom - paint peeling in the bedroom and bed was lumpy and dipped in the middle. Over all not at all what you expect from the photos, needs a complete makeover . Couldn't eat the breakfast looked unappetising. Sorry but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
7.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
404 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lydiard House Conference Centre
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,633 reviews
12.3 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: Hook Street | Royal Wootton Bassett, Hook SN4 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hook
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Schoolhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schoolhouse Hotel is a small family run hotel in the Swindon countryside. The Schoolhouse Hotel and Restaurant is run in a comfortable and relaxed manner. Our food has a distinctive European influence without "pomp and circumstance". Seafood and fish, in particular flatfish are some of our specialties. Enjoy the comfort of our rooms and appreciate the company of your friends in our restaurant. We just look forward welcoming to you back. We enjoy to care as long as you care to enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Hotel Hook
The Schoolhouse Hotel Hook, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing