We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When expectations and reality are horrendously mismatched...”
Review of A&As B&B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingsdown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A&As B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsdown
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Our stay was...not as expected...and when we aired our concerns with the owners we were given a full refund. As such, I am not using this as a forum to vent about our experience, but more to inform and advise people on what they will actually get when they book here for we were dreadfully misinformed.

The Good Points:
- Beautiful surroundings
- Very clean
- Bright sunny room
- Parking available on the road outside
- Owners were friendly in helping us get to local pub

The Bad Points
- Extremely small room
- Minimal furnishings - a bedside table with some draws on top of which was the teas/coffees and kettle. Most pictures of furnishings on the website were of items in the lounge downstairs
- No tables or wardrobes etc - we just had to leave our clothes and wet towels on the floor
- The term 'cottage' was used a little casually
- Our "separate private bathroom" was shared with the two other rooms, amounting to ~8 people using one bathroom. The owner said later that this was unusual as they were over regular capacity
- Pillows were lumpy and I had a mattress spring in my back all night
- We were unable to obtain any formal accommodation receipt for our tax records. The receipt will have the name of the company that the owner works for, which is a glass company. As such, we would have been unable to claim the bill as accommodation as it would have stated that we spent the money purchasing items from the glass shop
- Breakfast was, well, ordinary. There was nothing wrong with it, it was just extremely basic, with a kind of 'one meal fits all' approach. Just don't expect much more than what the average 20 year old could put together for you
- Breakfast was elbow to elbow with other guests, hence forced awkward conversation with strangers. When we asked the family next to us how their stay was, a brief awkward silence was followed by, 'erm....well....it's not what we expected...'
When notes were compared, we both established that the reason that we had booked it was due to the multitude of glowing (if suspiciously repetitive) reviews on the booking website. Both my family and the lovely family we were sharing elbow space with had felt mislead by the reviews and information. But this is about my family's experience, so I won't dwell on how identical our concerns and misgivings seemed to be.

In summary, our experience was highly unpleasant only because our expectations and reality were so appallingly mismatched. However, if you are looking for a very basic, no frills stay of literally a bed and some breakfast then you will not be disappointed. Just be aware that you may be forced to get friendly with the other guests staying there, in case that is not your thing.

Room Tip: I can't seem to unselect the rating of for Swimming Pool...there was no swimming pool :P
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
There are newer reviews for A&As B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 6 November 2012

First trip to Bath last weekend, found A&A's by chance on the Internet and so glad we did! from the warm welcome when we arrived, the cosy room and comfie bed to the all day breakfast to start us off each morning and the feeling of having made new friends as we left, I can't recommend this place enough. Will definitely aim to return and hope to trail our hosts up to the Swan for a drink or two on our next visit. :).

Room Tip: We had a double with en suite at the back of the house, overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

As a set of three couples all visiting Bath for the first time to celebrate a birthday, we found the location of AnAs B&B ideal. Located in the pleasant town of Box, just under 5miles from Bath itself, it was very easy to get in and out of the city centre within a short drive (although it was expensive to park in Bath).
The communal living area with two bedrooms, one stand alone bathroom, and an en suite were perfect for the 6 of us. It had an apartment feel to it, and was great to have our own private area.
Annette and Adrian were wonderful hosts and were very helpful with providing local information such as competitive taxi firms and places to eat. We ate at the Bear in Box which as AnA said was lovely, with a live musician to top it all off.
The beds in the B&B were lovely and comfortable, the shower in the main bathroom was great, and the selections of tea and coffee were just right. The only slight problem we encountered was the toilet in the bathroom, on which the flush was playing up, but Anette explained this upon our arrival, and was waiting for the plumber to attend after the weekend to repair it.
Breakfast on both mornings was great, as a vegetarian they catered for me brilliantly, constantly topping up the tea and toast, making us feel welcome and like nothing was too much to ask. It was nice to hear Adrian singing along to the radio whilst cooking, breakfast had a fun and relaxed vibe. Whilst in Bath we visited the Glass Blowing experience as recommended by AnA, it was really interesting and thoroughly enjoyable. Seeing the house decorated top to bottom in glass pieces added a quirky charm to the B&B.
All in all a great experience, with adequate parking, a tv with dvd player and a selection of dvds to chose from, towels and soap provided and plenty of storage space, this was a fun and friendly experience and I would recommend AnAs to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowbirko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I travelled to Bath with two girlfriends we were meeting up from different locations in the UK for a shopping weekend.

We had a fantastic time, we'd been put off the hotels & B&Bs in Bath city centre as most require a minimum two night stay over a weekend and all are very overpriced. AnA's is only 15-20 minutes' drive from the city centre, we paid £12 for a taxi into Bath and £15 back again later in the evening, our room was only £75 in total for the 3 of us, so was still cheaper than staying in Bath centre would have been.

Our room was a great size, accommodated 1 double and two singles, although the bathroom was rather tight, and a shower might have been a better choice than a bath, perhaps a wet room? For our purposes and one night it was fine.

Breakfast was delicious, we had one veggie and another off gluten and eggs and all sorts, this didn't faze them in the slightest and we all had a delicious and filling breakfast - hats off to the chef and his singing!! :o)

Our hosts were perfect, friendly and helpful without being too overbearing , as can often be the case in B&B's.

I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abi3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to A&As B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&As B&B

Address: 8 Prospect Cottages Kingsdown, Kingsdown SN13 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Kingsdown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsdown
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast cottage, in a quiet rural hamlet on the edge of the Cotswolds’, just 4.9 mile to Bath. Welcoming accommodation, with wifi. tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast is taken in the dining room. There is a lot of handmade glass around as Annette and Adrian own Bath Aqua Glass, free entry to glass blowing studio. Close to good pubs, Kingsdown golf course, Lacock (where Cranford and Harry Potter was filmed) Perfect for Walkers cyclists and dog owners and Bath visitors.Room rates.Double en-suite (bath and shower) £85 with full English.Triple £90 (three beds and separate private bath room shower and bath) WITH FULL ENGLISH.EVERYONE WELCOME. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anas Bed And Breakfast
Anas Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing