We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and very pleasant accommodation”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Kingsdown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for two nights in the room upstairs in the pub. Pete and Pat were great hosts and made us very welcome. We had everything we needed and had a very comfortable stay. The breakfast was extremely tasty, and cooked to order. Evening meals available and again were very well cooked and great value. Great to be in a quiet location but within easy reach of all the local attractions. We would certainly consider another stay if going back to the area

Room Tip: If you want to be out late choose the garden option as doors locked to main pub earlier, but this wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDQEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed two nights in their upstairs room. The room has great character as you might expect in a building with a long history such as the Swans'. The facilities are fine and the room is quiet and dark once the pub is closed, and not too noisy before that! The room is really spacious with room to sit in the comfortable chairs and read or watch the television. There was a choice of menu for a breakfast which was very fine and large enough to set you up for the whole day. Pat and Pete were accommodating hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. It is a great little pub and Pat provides sound, unpretentious food in the evenings etc.. You feel as if you are staying at the heart of a traditional pub, in a good way! However because of this, at night after pub hours, returning to the room is not possible. If you can live with this restriction then stop searching around for something better and beat a path to their door.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The Swan is situated in a stunning spot with fantastic views. The pub itself has ample car parking spaces, is clean and also has some interesting information about the mines close by. It is easy access to the city of Bath and has some wonderful walks. The Landlord seems rather grumpy and you almost feel your an inconvience. The food is awful and when you were kept waiting as long as we had it was very annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I went to the Swan Inn for mine and my girlfriend's two year anniversary.

Having wanted to visit Bath but not being flush with money we tracked down the Swan Inn as we thought this would provide a cheap alternative at £65 per night for a room in the pub. We phoned up and were told about their small, self-catering annex that was £75 a night and were recommended this as a better option. Pete, the landlord who we spoke with, couldn't of been more right!

The room backs onto the pub garden and has a shower room, cupboard/recess and small kitchen, more to the point the garden looks right over the valley that the Swan Inn is located on the side of, this makes for a great view when waking up. We were given our ingredients for breakfast which included a choice of bacon, beans, tomatos, eggs, toast and mushrooms or just cereal and coffee. I actually really enjoyed this as it meant we could wake up and get some nice food at our convinience, rather than rushing around.

The garden only had people in it on a couple of occasions and if you don't hate people this shouldn't be a problem. Also there is a private, kind-of-fenced off, bit of the garden for people renting the room as well so you have options. We had it all to ourselves every morning and for pretty much the whole day and it was a lovely thing to open your door to, assuming you do not have a vendetta against picnic benches.

Other things include that its literally about 15 minutes (with no traffic) from the Swann Inn to Bath and Pat and Paul are perfectly nice hosts. One bad thing is only being given a single tin of beans for 2 breakfasts but then we never asked for more, I'm sure they probably would've of obliged, and bear in mind the access down into the garden has quite a few uneven steps (torch provided for when its dark). Also be sure to let Pat and Paul know if you need to leave extra early because they padlock the carpark shut, though this is of course a security bonus.

All in all if you want to visit Bath and have access to a car then definitely rent this small, attractive room (genuine oak beams above your bed and visible in the structure) that has self catering features which almost seem a bonus considering the awesome price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My wife and her sister were born in Kingsdown,and had not returned since the early sixties,so decided to return on a sentimental journey.They booked in at the Swan Inn in Kingsdown,where the were given a warm welcome by Patricia and Pete.Throughout their 2 night stay nothing was a problem.The rooms were comfortable with excellent facilities,breakfast was excellent as were all the meals they had there,all freshly cooked.On their experienc they highly recommemd this Inn to everybody.

Room Tip: It only had 1 room and a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: Near Bath, Kingsdown SN13 8BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Kingsdown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsdown
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing