We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Cleeves Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleeves Wood
Ranked #1 of 4 Kingsdown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here 19 October for 2 nights. We have very busy lives at home and wanted a peaceful retreat and this is exactly what it was. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable, the view from the bedroom window was breathtaking. Stephanie is a really lovely lady that gave us a really warm welcome she cooks and amazing breakfast with the help of her husband Paul. Would definate recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

There isn't a better b&b to be found. It's in an absolutely beautiful setting, the hosts are warm and welcoming and our room was fabulous (we took the room without the ensuite and the huge private bathroom was just outside the door). Breakfast was excellent and the bed was so comfortable we slept like babes. It's convenient - only a short bus ride to Bath (€4.20 return) - and the pub up the street has great food. Absolutely the best stay of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSeeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have just arrived back from a three-day break at Cleeves Wood. The welcome we received on arrival made us feel part of the family and there was nothing that Stephanie and Paul would not do to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They were a fount of knowledge about the area, which made the experience all the more lovely. Their two cats, Biscuit and Gypsy were as friendly as their owners and for someone who loves cats they were a joy.
The room was so comfortable and clean with a view to die for. We were sent on our way at the end of our stay with a lovely big bag of apples picked by Paul from their own trees. We would really recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueSavage60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is the second time we have visited the Cleeves Wood Luxury B&B....Stefanie and Paul now have 3 excellent rooms.

The location is peaceful, yet close to Bath and surrounding areas when you wish to explore.

You are just made to feel welcome when you first arrive. The rooms have clean modern facilities with Wi-Fi, breakfast is included and very well prepared.

Of course you can tap into Stefanie and Pauls local knowledge. We drove from London so had use of the car, but other guests have used the local buses which can easily be negotiated.

You will not be disappointed and don't forget your slippers, it really is a home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The guest house is located in a quiet Village near Bath, We visited Glastonbury, Avebury and Stanton Drew, Which are all within easy driving distance. The hosts are friendly The rooms are clean and I would recommend staying here, given how expensive bath can be.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howardsefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

One of the best value guesthouses we have ever been to!
Fantastic service by the owners who are very friendly, helpful and pleasant.
Breakfast is great with freshly cooked 'english' with toast or choice of fruit, cereal or yoghurts. The owners were always swift with their attention and frequently asking if we wanted more toast or more tea/coffee.

The rooms are VERY comfortable with great views from the windows, good quality furnishings and excellent cleanliness. The guesthouse also has a garden that you can sit in to relax and also to relax if you want additional space there is the usage of a lounge area on the ground floor.

The guesthouse is sort of 'hidden' away from all traffic so it provides nice peaceful surroundings and a nice countryside feel, even though the location is only about 10mins drive to Bath.

I would happily recommend this guesthouse and if we were to visit the Bath area in the future this one will be top of my list.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr A n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsdown
5.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.1 mi away
Spinneycross
Spinneycross
#2 of 4 in Kingsdown
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Poplar House
Poplar House
#1 of 2 in Batheaston
131 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cedars
The Cedars
#1 of 2 in Bathford
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Northey
The Northey
#2 of 7 in Box
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleeves Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleeves Wood

Address: Cleeves Wood Lower Kingsdown Road, Kingsdown SN13 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Kingsdown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsdown
Price Range: £74 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleeves Wood is situated in the beautiful hamlet of Kingsdown, in a tranquil and peaceful setting with stunning views across the Box Valley. The Georgian city of Bath and the historic town of Bradford on Avon are just a short drive away. We have three beautifully furnished rooms: two with spacious en-suite shower rooms and one with sole use of a luxurious bathroom, all with comfortable beds and a great breakfast. Please bring your slippers and make yourselves at home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing