We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Hotel in Britain?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Malmesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed for one night and it was a nightmare. The bathroom was dirty. The food we were served in the restaurant was inedible (and we're not fussy eaters). A loud disco in the room directly below kept us awake until the small hours. When we staggered down to breakfast the next morning they had managed to put out cereal but no milk and no bowls. Our request for coffee was met with surprise and consternation. Eventually it arrived in a jug, complete with coffee grounds. They can't make a cup of coffee in the morning. What more can I say? Oh, and then they tried to charge us for somone else's drinks. We should hae camped by the side of the road_-it would at least have been quieter

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejcb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 172 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

Recently stayed at The Kings Arms,food good, breakfast excellent,rooms clean price right ,bar price right,ample free car parking.The people who run the hotel own the hotel.A vast improvement.I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancepotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago in a room above the kitchen which wreaked of gas - I mentioned it to the landlady and she dismissed me entirely, I wasn't happy. When I heard the place had new proprietors I decided I would give it another go - however I very much regretted my decision!

When I rang to book the hotel the lady that answered the phone, Kay, took 14 minutes to find her glasses and decipher the booking register. How I regret not following my gut instinct and putting the phone down! I had been concerned about dealing with someone so disorganised and was a little worried there may not be rooms when we arrived, however I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt as she said they had only just moved in. Kay told me she would give me two small double rooms as they didn't have any singles left at a cost of £50 per room. I offered my credit card as a guarantee and she took the details but said she couldn't do anything with them.

When my Grandmother and I arrived the gentleman that checked us in said he couldn't see out booking. Then have gave us only one room when we had booked two and we had to wait for the second. We were shown to two outside rooms (9 and 10) at the back of the hotel. The gentleman that took us carried my bag but not my 78 year old Grandmothers!! We were going out to meet family so we dropped off our bags and left, returning only at half past midnight.

When we returned we inspected the rooms and to ouir horror realised they were absolutely filthy. The carpets did not appear to have been hoovered in years and everything was thick with dust. The room my Grandmother had was the proud owner of a lamp with a lampshade held together with cellotape - surely a fire hazard! The lights worked intermittently which wasn't ideal. The grouting in the bathrooms was perished, black and dirty and in my bathroom there was a hair in the sink which I found very off putting. The bedding was reasonably clean though there were a couple of marks on the bedding on one of the beds, so I slept in the other, but the bases were yellow and dirty looking. I did not look at the mattress for fear of what I might see!

The toiletries in my bathroom had obviously been 'refilled/recycled' and the small talcum powder which was open was dirty on top - very off putting. All light switches were filthy dirty and I did not want to touch them. I slept in my socks as I didn't want to put my feet on the floor. In my 78 year old Grandmother's room the concrete at the bottom of the door had been broken away, leaving a good four inch gap which was more than adequate for rats and mice to wander in, given that were were outside at ground level she didn't sleep worrying about it. The piece de resistance for me in my room was when I closed the door I was greeted by a massive bunch of cobwebs with a load of dead spiders in, obviously not having been hoovered for a very long time - I have a phobia of spiders and this really made me not want to stay there - had we not arrived back so late we would've undoubtedly left and gone somewhere else. If this wasn't bad enough when I tried to go to sleep there was a very loud whirring noise (it sounded like a generator) which started up, switched off after fifteen minutes and then continued like this throughout the night. I hardly slept.

The next day I did not shower even though I felt dirty as I would've felt more dirty having been in the shower. I could not wait to get to my sisters so I could shower and feel clean.

I went to check out and was asked if I was not going to have any breakfast. I wasn't because apart from being a vegetarian I would rather have died than eaten in that filthy establishment.

Being a nice person I was going to pay the bill first before letting the proprietors know my feelings on the room because I didn't want them to think I was not going to pay. I was aware they had not long since moved in and wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt believing they did not know the state of the rooms. I was then advised that a twin room was £69 - I said I had agreed with Kay I would pay £50 per room. The gentleman taking the payment apologised and said he didn't know the rate agreed. At this point Kay appeared and he mentioned it to her, she denied having agreed this rate and said she'd only agreed that for the wedding party! If I had booked that hotel for my wedding I would've hung myself!!

At this point I was incensed and told them I would pay the £50 per room but I didn't think it was worth £5 per room as they were so filthy. Kay commented it wasn't her fault and that I should speak to the housekeeper!!!! I was absolutely gobsmacked. She never apologised, refused to take ownership of the problem, was extremely disinterested and said I should take it up with the housekeeper if I had an issue. I was stunned! The housekeeper was in the bar area so I went and spoke to her - she was also disinterested and just asked where the dead spiders were.

If they had apologised I could have been understanding but I can honestly say I have NEVER EVER received such BAD service anywhere, stayed anywhere so DIRTY and had someone be so RUDE and UNPROFESSIONAL. If I treated my customers like that I would be out of a job.

STAY HERE ONLY IF YOU LIKE WILDLIFE, PEOPLE BEING RUDE TO YOU AND BEING RIPPED OFF!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mariewarrington007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

This hotel has a wonderful frontage and is in a very good location.

The room we had was a double and was a good size as was the bathroom - there were tea and coffee facilities - and a sofa and desk also wi-fi. The bed linen and the towels were clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

As with all these small hotels in small towns - there is no real welcome - how much would it cost to greet you with a hot drinks.

Our room was cold and when we mentioned this to the manager she said she would send someone to sort this, but obviously did not check to see if this was done. She then stated that "no one else had complained - most people have a problem with the shower"
I was dumbfounded by this attitude - if people have a problem with the shower either get it sorted or put up some instructions. As it happens the shower either scolds or freezes you.

In the morning we came down to a seemingly empty hotel, but then a young man in a hoody mumbled to us to follow him into another cheerless and cold room where the tables (tiny) were laid for breakfast. The breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent and when I asked for more was gracefully brought. Sadly this room was just about as unwelcoming as it could get - it would only take of few minor touches to make this better - cloths on the tables or a few flowers - or even just a bit of a tidy.

Ones does have to bear in mind that the rates for this hotel were very competitive - it is just that with a little effort this could be a really lovely hotel - a great base for touring the area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemary1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakiabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VALENTINA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmesbury
0.1 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
556 reviews
2.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
858 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Horse & Groom Inn
The Horse & Groom Inn
#1 of 2 in Charlton
176 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Radnor Arms
The Radnor Arms
#7 of 15 in Malmesbury
7 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Horse Guards
The Horse Guards
#1 of 1 in Brokenborough
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 29 High Street, Malmesbury SN16 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Malmesbury
Price Range: £48 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Malmesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing