We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location”

Review of Cotswolds Retreat

Castle Combe. PAYMENT PROTECTED. PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. (Late Deal Now On)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle Combe. PAYMENT PROTECTED. PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. (Late Deal Now On)
PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. Cotswolds Retreat Front Entrance And Double Drive. A Warm Welcome Awaits You At Cotswolds Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Castle Combe. PAYMENT PROTECTED. PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. (Late Deal Now On)
PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. Cotswolds Retreat Front Entrance And Double Drive.
A Warm Welcome Awaits You At Cotswolds Retreat
Light +Airy With Black Out Blinds For Long Comfy Lie-ins. 'Pure Indulgence'
Leather Sofa & 2 Recliners, Flat Screen tv, SKY tv, DVD Player all within the bed/sitting room
PAYMENT PROTECTED. PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. (Late Deal Now O
Lovely Modern Kitchen Leading Into A Fabulous Conservatory. Dine Or Relax With Garden Views
Delightful South Facing Conservatory. Ideal For Dining Or Relaxing Reading A Book
King Size Leather Designer Bed With Luxury Memory Foam Mattress. 'Relax In Style'
Honeymoon, Birthday, Anniversary Or Romantic Break - You Won't Beat This Experience
Sensational Double Jacuzzi And Walk In Shower. Set With Black Onyx Tiles And Chrome Fittings.
Outstanding Area And Outstanding Cottage And Facilities Thats Going To Be Hard To Beat.
Lovely Country Walks Begin Here From The Lane To 'Cotswolds Retreat'
If You Can Bare To Leave This Gorgeous Cottage, Your Ideally Situated To Visit 'Longleat'
Cotswolds Wildlife Park Is Close Too. Who Could Resist!
Back Of Your Cottage And South Facing 'Enjoy A BBQ'
'Cotswolds Retreat' Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty' And Facilities To Match!
Entrance Through To The Fabulous Double Jacuzzi And En-suite Area
Walk In Double Shower
Hall Through To Kitchen, Through To The Conservatory And Garden Beyond
The Famous Roman Baths At Bath Just 30 min Away
View From The End Of The Front Garden. Rolling Countryside As Far As The Eye Can See
Mystical Stonehenge Just 55 min Away
Beautiful Roman City Of Bath Not To Be Missed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Malmesbury, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IvorsGirl
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for our third wedding anniversary. The place was really easy to find and very true to what you see from the photo's.
It is in a perfect location for all the local attractions and also the village pub that is just around the corner is a little gem with great food and reasonable priced drinks.
The retreat is very spacious and more then enough room for two, the bed is also amazing and so comfortable.
It has a great bath room and even better shower, as this was our first time renting a holiday let we were very pleased with the place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to complete this lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your wedding anniversary at the cottage and found the area as nice as you said. You will be very welcome to stay again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaws44476
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Recently stayed at Cotswolds Retreat for a week with my wife. The location is ideal for exploring the area, being within an hours drive of many tourist areas within the Cotswolds and also very close to Bath. We choose here as we were visiting Badminton for the horse trials and the drive was well under 20 minutes. The owners Mark and Sue, who live next door, were extremely welcoming and very helpful in providing advice on the local area and places of interest.
The retreat is very spacious for a one bedroomed property with plenty of storage and facilities to make your stay feel like home from home. The bathroom is huge with a seperate shower cubicle from the enormous jacuzzi bath, which is a nice touch. However we did only use it once as it takes an awful long time, and a lot of water, to fill. You should have no problems staying here if you feel the cold as the heating in this place is phenomenal. Coming from a very cold farm house, setting 1 on all the radiators was plenty for us and the property was lovely and cosy when we returned each evening.
I would recommend the need for a car as there is only one pub in the village. It does serve food but we did not try it. There are plenty of places to eat within 10 minutes drive but taxi's can be expensive if you only want to go a few miles down the road. This was no big deal for us but should be taken into account if you are thinking about indulging on every night of your stay!
Overall the Cotswolds Retreat was perfect and is a credit to Mark and Sue. Next time we are visiting the area this will be the first place on our list to stay. Diolch yn fawr

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you for the lovely review and we're pleased you both loved Cotswolds Retreat and enjoyed your week in the Cotswolds. Next time you visit, consider trying the little villages bus service that operates through our village. The olde worlde bus shelter is less than a minutes walk from the cottage and will take you through beautiful villages and onto the old market towns in the area very cheaply without the need for a car at all during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great accomodation, loved it!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a short break in the Cotswolds where we stayed at the Cotswolds Retreat. This was our first time renting a cottage and I have to say we could not have chosen better. Excellent facilities, airy and spacious, a very relaxing place to return after a day our exploring, my wife and I just loved it. For anyone thinking of visiting the Cotswolds, or just wanting a few days away in top notch accommodation, you would be hard pressed to find better in my opinion. Superb. Thanks Mark & Sue, it's a treasure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property, its facilities and its comfort
Liked least: Having to leave to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Truly such great praise! Thank you so much for the lovely review and we're so pleased you loved the Retreat so much and had a great time in the Cotswolds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uneveneey...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Retreat with great facilities”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I booked the Retreat for a week for our wedding anniversary and had a lovely time. The retreat was well set up and presented and offered everything we required. Mark greeted us on arrival and was very helpful throughout our stay. The highlight for us was the Jacuzzi which was a lovely way to end a day out in typical March/April weather, We even managed to watch TV whilst soaking thanks to a waterproof phone!
We had a great time and look forward to returning

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
We're so pleased you both enjoyed your anniversary as much as you did at Cotswolds Retreat. Thank you for the lovely review and we're looking forward to welcoming you again and awarding you your returning guest discount at either 'Cotswolds Retreat' in the Cotswolds or at 'Marina Reach' Sea View Penthouse in Pembrokeshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colly88
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic short break”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A really enjoyable trip to the Cotswold, perfect location for visiting different areas of the Cotswold and a lovely setup for resting tired legs after long country walks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Thank you for the lovely review and everyone involved in Cotswolds Retreat is pleased to hear that you both had such a lovely stay. We hope to see you both again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36annie36
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for anniversary weekend. Lovely area very peaceful.
Both Mark & Sue greeted us, with an anniversary present. Which was lovely.
Beautiful clean, comfortable and nice & warm.
The Jacuzzi was to die for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi without hesitation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
We are honoured when guests choose Cotswolds Retreat for such special occasions and we are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alichan
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very warm, comfortable, lovely host”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sue greeted us when we arrived and when we left, absolutely lovely lady and very informative. Cotswolds retreat was cosy, clean and comfortable. It is very quiet and we had a very pleasant stay.

Perhaps it would have been nice to include some of the extra within the cost as its not very nice and seems a little petty charging £3 a day to use certain things. Half the jacuzzi wasn't working when we were there, so we didn't enjoy the facilities as much as we would have liked to. But overall, it was a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling warm and cosy
Liked least: Vacuuming and moping instructions when we left
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thank you for the lovely review and we're pleased you really enjoyed yourselves at Cotswolds Retreat overall. Its a pity you just didn't tell someone about the Jacuzzi as it was merely just some of the jets had been turned off! I'm also sorry you would have liked some of the extra facilities we offer up and beyond what other holiday lets would offer but really that's the whole point of keeping our prices as low as they are and being able to offer discounted stays such as you enjoyed. We are proud to be able to offer these few little extras and think it only fitting that guests choose for themselves rather than paying within the rental costs for something they wouldn't benefit from. We do make all of this clear on booking so it really is a shame you didn't take advantage of what you would have liked at just £3 especially as you'd already enjoyed a good saving on your stay. Next time you stay if you pay the full rental costs, then you will have included every facility we offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing