We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Peaceful delight!

Abbey House gardens are a beautiful and peaceful place with surprises round every corner! They are... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Ella C
via mobile
Stunning gardens

I've visited on a number of occasions, the gardens are beautiful. Be aware naturist days (clearly... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Marcus G
,
Stroud, United Kingdom
Read all 310 reviews
  
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
169
85
28
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
85
28
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews formal gardens herb garden stepping stones the long stay car park hidden corners herbaceous borders small cafe wooded area interesting sculptures well worth a visit fruit trees house gardens love gardens quiche for sale spring flowers across the river
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Close to the Abbey - admission charge applies. A lovely mix of quite formal gardens on the higher level and then terraces leaving down to the river which you can wander around to your heart's content. There is also a small cafe by a relaxing water feature, although the coffee was disappointing.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank johnmc320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

The garden is in appalling state, no names of the plants, weeds everywhere, plants badly placed. They cant be serious charging for that!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Raw_Walnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

This garden is really a "hidden gem". The entrance does not prepare you for the extent and diversity of these gardens. Lovely formal gardens as well as extensive riverside garden's along the Avon River. Combine with a visit to Malmesbury Abbey for a complete day.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank JP3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

If you manage to find a parking space in the main town car park, head to the Abbey House Gardens. A mature formal garden with sizeable woodland walk, incorporating waterfall, fish ponds and the river Avon flowing through. We were the only visitors on a busy school holiday Friday, which was perfect as we had the place to ourselves. Would definitely come again. Dog friendly for well behaved dogs on leads. Tea room with plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. Free apples from the garden but the coffee wasn’t great, which is the only fault I can pick with the place.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank DorsetScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Wonderful Gardens extremely well kept. However, very expensive, especially as we arrived one hour before closing and would have been charged full prices. Such a shame we would have returned. We were going to be charged £32 for our family visit of 3 adults and 2 children, very expensive, a family ticket costing £20 would have been value for money.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank marypM2319JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews