We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband took me to Whatley Manor hotel & spa for a special birthday treat. From the moment we arrived we were taken aback at the beauty of the hotel and grounds. The hotel was originally built as a hunting lodge in 1920 but looks much older than this. The grounds are spectacular too, even in the winter. We really enjoyed an afternoon stroll around the formal gardens. From April they do garden tours with the head gardener on selected days.

We stayed in room 8, which was described as a "superior" room. The room was enormous with a four poster bed and double aspect views over both the entrance courtyard and the gardens. The room had all the usual facilities you would expect of a hotel room, as well as complimentary bottled water and a well-stocked mini bar. The ensuite bathroom had a large sunken bathtub as well as an incredible separate power shower and contained all the toiletries that we could have needed, as well as fluffy towels, robes and slippers.

We ate dinner at Le Marzot restaurant as we wanted a less formal dining experience - their main restaurant is a 2 Michellin starred restaurant. However, the quality of the food in Le Marzot was still exceptional. I had braised blade of beef followed by pear and pecan tart, and my husband had venison and mushroom pie followed by blueberry cheesecake - both were excellent meals. We were both thankful not to have ordered starters as the mains were so substantial that we would not otherwise have made it to such tasty desserts! The decor in Le Marzo is rather out of keeping with the rest of the hotel, having been styled like a Swiss chalet; however for us this did not detract from the meal at all.

We spent the remainder of the evening in the hotel lounge in front of an enormous open fire before retiring for the night. When we got back to our room we found that the hotel staff had not only refreshed the room and turned down the bed (without us requesting this service), but had also thoughtfully adjusted the lighting and put Classic fm on the radio. It is this attention to detail and focus on service that really makes a stay at Whatley Manor so special.

The following day we made the most of the hotel's spa facilities. For such a small hotel the spa facilities were very impressive, with sauna and steam rooms, heated stone relaxation beds and a pool area that is not suitable for swimming but has a timed jacuzzi programme, which makes it excellent for relaxing. We particularly enjoyed how the pool also went outside, meaning that you could enjoy the hot pool whilst being outside in the cold air. I had a massage and La Prairie facial that left me incredibly relaxed.

On checking out of the hotel the staff brought our car round to the hotel entrance and loaded our luggage into the car for us. We left having had an amazing stay, disappointed to be leaving and returning to reality! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a special place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteH876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

I took my partner to the restaurant for a special birthday. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and our every need was addressed. Beautiful rooms which help make the occasion - big log fires in the lounges and they have the decor just right. The highlight has to be the food. Very seasonal (lots of game) and imaginative. Never had anything quite like it. And the service was first class. We will definately be going back the next time there is a special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We spent a very special weekend at Whatley Manor where every aspect of the hotel and service surpassed our expectations. Our room was huge, I'd give anything for a walk in wardrobe like that! Service throughout was attentive but unintrusive, the spa was a delightful surprise and the grounds are lovely. And the restaurant...simply brilliant. I have reviewed that separately, it is one of the top meals we have ever had!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusterSunray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I visited Whatley Manor for two nights over new year. It was a good decision. It is a very grand place and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Our car was emptied and whisked away to be parked. The reception greeting was very warm. Our room (a suite) was lovely, if a little hot! But we could open the windows so that was OK. Lovely view over the gardens. We had a wonderful afternoon tea, closely followed by champagne and then dinner in the Bistro restaurant of the hotel. to be honest this wasn't a highlight of our visit. It is just a little too like a Harvester for comfort! Food good though. The following day we breakfasted (really delicious) then I spent most of the day in the Spa. Wonderful series of steam rooms and sauna and a lovely inside/outside pool wit h all sorts of jets and bubbles. I also had a wonderful massage (Martina) and manicure. After a champagne reception we had the most incredible dinner in the restaurant. Six courses - all delicious. The staff were a little intrusive which seems to be the fashion these days and drives us mad. there is really no need to announce the arrival of a bread roll! And with six courses we were asked I don't know how many t imes if we enjoyed this that or the other. But the food was outstanding and we celebrated the arrival of new year with more champagne. The next morning we had another superb breakfast (and could have had champagne if we wanted it) and after another session in the spa we left. All in all I would give it 8 out of 10!

Room Tip: Pets are allowed in some of the rooms. We had room 9 which was a small suite and was very nice inde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I do not stay at places like this but it was our first anniversary and so we decided to splash out on a couple of nights, with dinner and a couple fo spa treatments.
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the service was phenomenal. The spa and rooms are very beautiful and luxurious.
The food was superb.. good enough to earn a top 20 entry on Times Top 100 UK restaurants this year. It is not Le Manoir but it is not a million miles off and a lot easier to get in! Definitely do the tasting menu. We also really enjoyed our breakfast which arrived on a trolley like in the movies!
The weather was not great when we were there and so we did not explore the gardens much but that would certainly be v enjoyable too.
The only thing I would say is that they are not generous with the edible and drinkable extras. Nuts and olives (neither of which we touched as we don't like them) were just presented and then appeared on our bill plus service... c £10! If they don't ask us first then I don't think we should pay. We let the nuts thing go on check-out but there was also a slight error on our breakfast bill which I pointed out and the lady was a little surprised that I was quibbling over £15 on a £1250 bill and made a comment about how no one had ever questioned this before. This is not how she should have reacted.. it should have been an apology not something to make me feel pikey.
However overal, it was a fabulous way to spend our anniversary. Highly recommended as a one-off splurge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bardsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We went for Christmas Day and had the set menu, it was ok, but nothing special. Although arguably obligatory, the smoked salmon, followed by fois gras, followed by turkey was pretty standard and we didn't leave WOWed. The setting is stunning, really, but the interior felt rather tacky. The restaurant felt like half canteen half swiss alpine restaurant. Not particularly fitting. The restaurant service was pretty slow and inattentive but it has to be said charming. To be honest we weren't in a rush but when the wine is in a cooler 2 metres from your table you want your glass refilled when it is empty and shouldn't have to wait 5 minutes for someone to see that you are trying to attract their attention.

I imagine if you stayed at the hotel, used the spa and ate in the residents restaurant on a normal day with a normal menu it would be very good.

To sum up, would return apprehensively but not a Christmas Day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank djdando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I recently stayed at Whatley Manor and was disappointed. The staff, it must be said, were friendly and helpful. However, the accommodation and food was grossly over priced given the standard of similarly priced peers. The grounds themselves are pretty but the building is in need of decoration - whilst it is old, the interior now looks tired. The internet wifi was down the whole weekend and lighting switches in the room did not work. On entry to the spa there was an unpleasant smell of sulphur. It transpires this was not some novel beauty therapy, but rather a consequence of the sewerage works just adjacent to the main property. The addition of a 10% discretionary 'service charge' to the room rate is a cheek and smacks of labor cost subsidization.

The hotel is run by a large commercial chain and the offering is starting to suffer - particularly when there are strong competitor offerings nearby. The owners need to invest in updating the interior decor, facilities and lower prices.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ian475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmesbury
24.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,343 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
740 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
15.6 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa

Address: Easton Grey, Malmesbury SN16 0PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Price Range: £180 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswolds Country Manor House Hotel with 15 Room and 8 Suites. Set in 12 acres of charming English country gardens. Two dining experiences including the Michelin two-starred restaurant The Dining Room and Le Mazot, the casual brasserie. The sumptous Aquarias Spa restores mind and body to a new harmony. Take up residence in the private cinema to watch your favourite film. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Odigeo so you can book your Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whatley Manor Easton Grey
Whatley Manor Hotel Easton Grey
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa Malmesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing