We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nearly excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Whatley Manor

We stayed for a couple of nights in April and have looked forward to this stay for a number of years.

We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and were very impressed with our Superior Room.

The grounds are extensive and beautiful, and the hotel itself has abundant character and charm.

We ate in both restaurants. We felt the Swiss restaurant decor and menu was perhaps not in keeping with the style and quality of the hotel. The 2 Michelin starred restaurant menu was very interesting and the food was outstanding. The restaurant team did not have their best evening, but I am sure that the hotel GM will address these blips to deliver to the level of his previous role at Le Manoir.

The spa was excellent and we enjoyed experiencing the various steam rooms and the outside pool in the sunshine.

Overall, we felt a little disappointed that the 2 Michelin starred restaurant didn't deliver, but we will return as we are confident we were just unlucky. The food was outstanding.

Liked : Feel, spa and food

Dislikes : Some of the service was not on the mark

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wg284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Wg284, your well balanced feedback on Trip Advisor is appreciated. It is such a shame that we did not deliver on your experience as well we would have liked to. The restaurant team has taken your comments on board. Thank you for keeping your faith in Whatley Manor. Please let me know when you next plan a return visit. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive with valet parking , the service at whatley is exceptional. The spa is superb and the grounds have plenty of nooks and crannies to enable you to relax. The hotel even has it's own cinema which can be hired. I had a deluxe room - simply stunning. Add two great restaurants - the Dining room having 2 Michelin stars and you have an exceptional hotel. Would recommend for that special treat as indulgence is a given !!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Richard A, Your feedback is most appreciated. Sometimes saying thank you does not seem enough but your comments mean so much to us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Last month we had a gorgeous weekend break at Whatley Manor and what can I say!!! Absolutely wonderful!

We were met at the door, cases taken to our room and the car parked for us in their separate parking area.

The hotel itself is charming: light and airy; a log fire burning, lovely furnishings and lounge areas which allow guests plenty of space.

We were upgraded to a Suite (Room11) which made the weekend even more special. There was a separate lounge, which along with a wonderfully comfortable bed, luxurious shower and bath, had a lovely view of the beautiful grounds.

We walked around the extremely well-tended grounds which created a beautiful place to wander in the sunshine.

The evening meals were wonderful. We had the taster menu one evening, followed by the a la carte on the 2nd evening. We couldn’t believe how much flavour was packed into such delicate ingredients. Each dish (and there were many!) was perfection.

For breakfast there was ample choice. We had the English breakfast which was very good, although there was a mix up with no bacon on our plate. However, we were each given a complimentary glass of champagne with our delicious Afternoon Tea which made up for the mistake.

They really catered for me as I do not eat salmon or “fishy fish”, and they were happy to tailor my dishes to suit, changing part of the amuse bouche for me.

The Spa was an added bonus which we made full use of. The fact that part of the “pool” meanders outside was lovely, as we had sunshine both days there.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful; especially Jessica on Reception who gave us a tour on our arrival and dealt with a few queries that we had during our stay.

We will definitely be returning at some point in the future.

For a special hotel and dining experience, I cannot recommend Whatley Manor highly enough! It’ll be a weekend we’ll both remember.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happylady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear happylady2, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s great to read how highly you have praised your stay with us and that you felt you were made to feel special. I am glad that you liked your room, our restaurant and relaxing in Aquarias Spa. It sounds like you really made the most of your stay. On your next visit you could also try ‘Le Mazot’ our brasserie. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Arranged to entertain some business colleagues here and took a table for six in the main restaurant. From start to finish this hotel delivers that very special experience. Our room was superb, the whole property is idyllic, beautifully furnished and run with real style.
Dinner was really a proper two star experience and surprised and delighted us all and just for once the wine list was sensibly and honestly priced.
Little touches abound like a few twigs of lavender left on the rear view mirror with a little see you again note, coffee pot delivered in the morning to your room, fantastic service throughout dinner and the whole stay, fabulous grounds and a really good breakfast.
This property does the Relais and Chateaux name proud. In fact it is amongst the very best hotels I use. Even though I live not too far away we will again be returning and this time for a little longer I hope so we can make use of the spa.
This hotel truly exudes excellence

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BatmanMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear BatmanMarlborough,
Thank you for the superb review! You have made our day knowing that you enjoyed your stay so much at Whatley Manor. As you said, when you return, you must try Aquarias Spa because we are very proud of our spa too. We hope to see you return in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Gurval Durand and the Whatley Manor Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The first sight of this wonderful hotel as you turn off the road is worth the trip. We chose Whatley Manor as our base during a brief tour of the English countryside and thought everything about it was wonderful. If there was such a word as paradisical it would describe our stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Rod L, Thank you for your post. We are glad that your stay was memorable. We like your use of the word 'paradisical' to describe Whatley Manor too. We hope to see you return in the near future. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for 3 days as a special birthday treat for my wife. The package included spa access and complimentary treatments plus B&B in a deluxe room. The room (10) was very large attractive and comfortable with dual aspect extensive views across the lovely countryside and the formal gardens.
The hotel is an excellent place with excellent friendly attentive but thoroughly professional service throughout our stay. The main restaurant has an pleasant friendly buzz with enthusiastic staff who are genuinely happy to share your enjoyment of the food and wine. We thought the 2 star Michelin food was excellent. Maybe not quite as good as Le Manoir, but that is being ultra-picky and judging by the ultimate standard - and will also be a matter of taste of course. The spa was a lovely place and offered an excellent range of services for a hotel of such a size. The treatments were excellent and the therapists were both very thorough and professional. We also tried sole use of the cinema which was a fun way to spend the Sunday evening. Overall a super place in a beautiful part of the country (Westonbirt Arboretum is close by) which well deserves the many positive reviews it has received.

Room Tip: Can only speak for room 10 which is very large, comfortable and has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musician101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Musician101,
Thank you very much for your excellent review following your stay. I know that the team will be pleased to read your comments. It's a good comparison with our close friends at Le Manoir. We won’t tell them that you rate them so highly, not just yet anyway.
We hope to see you return to Whatley Manor in the near future. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We are fairly frequent visitors to Whatley Manor for dinner and other events but recently took my mother for afternoon tea. I don't know quite how they do it but the minute you arrive you feel relaxed and at home without any pretentions. We took tea on the terrace overlooking the stunning gardens and the service was impeccable. There were people picnicking in the grounds and others playing croquet. After just three hours I was so relaxed I felt like I'd been away for a weekend. The tea was perfect - sandwiches, scones and a huge array of other cakes all exquisite. Can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Emma P, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed Afternoon Tea in our gardens and appreciated the setting so much. The Kitchen Team will also be delighted to read your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmesbury
7.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
24.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,419 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
22.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
15.6 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa

Address: Whatley Manor Easton Grey, Malmesbury SN16 0RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Price Range: £190 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatley Manor is a grown-up getaway in the heart of the Cotswolds. Set in 12 acres of gardens with 26 distinctly different areas. Come on in and discover a whole new relaxed and very enjoyable experience. Try Grey’s Brasserie for a leisurely lunch, dinner or chilled glass of wine. Or the innovative tasting menu with specially selected wines by our sommelier in Michelin one-starred restaurant 'The Dining Room'. Discover The Green Room where chefs prepare small plates of expertly crafted food in front of you. Perfect for events and private parties. Immerse yourself in tranquillity at Aquarias Spa featuring Natura Bissé Pure Air Bubble Suite. Cosy up watching a film in our cinema. Whatever you decide to do. Discover more at Whatley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Atrapalo so you can book your Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whatley Manor Easton Grey
Whatley Manor Hotel Easton Grey
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa Malmesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing