We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Spent one night at Whatley Manor with two friends as a joint birthday treat. The prices reflect the standards, and despite a frosty reception from the lady on the front of house, our experience warmed up beautifully from there. The grounds are beyond manicured, and there's a peace and calm there that was a world away from my daily reality. We had lunch and cocktails on the terrace, surrounded by the scent of jasmine and gorgeous flowers. Was slightly underwhelmed by the lunch menu-pretty standard fare, nothing all that exciting-and was gobsmacked by a prawn cocktail for £27 but it was all perfectly presented and service was great. The spa was sublime, with all the attention to detail you'd expect for the price and a good range of steam rooms and chill out areas. They upgraded us free of charge to a suite, so we were delighted with our room, and had a lovely cocktail in the lounge before our dinner in the brasserie. The decor is swiss style, so maybe more winter friendly but the service and food was great, and we weren't disappointed by the choice not to go Michelin. Slept beautifully, and had a wonderful breakfast in the garden in the sun the following morning. Greeted by the manager who seemed genuinely interested in us, and then ensured the waiter brought us a cake as we had mentioned it was a birthday treat night away. Spent all day again in the spa and then had a lovely afternoon tea on the terrace before we reluctantly left. My only regret was not having my partner there as it would have been even more special if I was able to share it with him, so planning an autumn trip back together. Not to be missed. Don't let the prices put you off. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, General Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Dubtrip,
Your post on TA is much appreciated. Nice to know that you have experienced many areas of Whatley which is great. I am glad to read that the joint birthday celebration went well and you are looking to return at a later stage with your partner. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards, Gurval Durand, General Manager and the Whatley Manor team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    102
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
60
517
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have enjoyed this hotel & restaurant since it reopened more than 10 years ago.During every stay we have always felt more like friends than guests,the management & staff here have a charming way of making you feel completely at ease as soon as you come through the door & that feeling continues throughout the stay.
Sadly my wife & I have now moved out of the area & our most recent visit follows a gap of 2 years during which time management & staff have undergone some changes.Is it still as good?????
Very happy to report that it is,the hotel is gem,the food is sublime & the staff are 5 star.
If there"s a better way to recharge the batteries I have yet to find it.
Life does not get much better than this.

Room Tip: Have stayed in a few & they are all first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, General Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear rob w,
It was a pleasure to welcome you back! I am glad you enjoyed your past visit and more importantly your recent one too. We very much appreciate your kind words about the team! We hope to see your return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Gurval Durand
General Manager and the Whatley Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towcester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the moment you turn into the property you know you are somewhere special with perfectly manicure lawns and Cotswold drystone walls. The grand impression continues with the house itself, wow. On getting out of car asked name of reservation from then on we were not asked our name or room number again, the sign of great staff and a very personable hotel experience. We were upgraded to a wonderful suite and all was perfect and superbly maintained. Very nice bathroom and toiletries. Breakfast was simply brilliant, service perfect, you must try the black pudding, simply the best.
We travel all around the world and have had the great fortune to stay in some of the best, this is amongst those very best, but in our back garden. Wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, General Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear paulwTowcester Thank you so much for your post on TA. We are very touched with the accolade you have given us. I know the team will appreciate the feedback, for them it is like receiving an award for their hard work and passion! We hope to see you return soon.

Kind regards
Gurval Durand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our 3rd stay - a two night get-a-way in room 14 at Whately. We really couldnt fault it. An amazing expereince - the spa is second to none, and we were so lucky to also have gorgeous weather which meant we could relax on the spa terrace in the sunshine too.
Staff are incredibly helpful and food incredible! We had afternoon tea on the terrace - highlight was the macaroons - to die for!
If you are looking for a peaceful, romantic retreat look no further.
We are already planning our return!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Coram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear L_Coram, Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor and your recommendations. I am pleased to hear that your return visit to Whatley Manor was to your expectations. It is always a pleasure for me and the team to read about the particular highlights that made your stay even more enjoyable; including the macaroons with afternoon tea. On your next visit you might consider booking a room with a garden view. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is situated among beautifully polished grounds and gardens. Seating spaces are vast and comfortable (on a lovely terrace overlooking the grounds, or in a comfortable couch by the fire), offering many drink and dining options throughout the day. Staff are impeccable and extremely helpful. We enjoyed the cooked breakfast but thought the breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing and could benefit from some fresh fruit, more pastry, and yoghurt options.

The suite, facing the grounds, was large and comfortable. I though the decor was a bit 'heavy' with red stripped wallpaper and velvet green couches. Additionally, the shower was quite small.

We thoroughly enjoyed the delicious Michelin starred dinner, wine, and excellent service at the dining room.

The spa is excellent: phenomenal treatments (facial and full body massage), but even more relaxing facilities - reclining heated chairs, hydrotherapy pool, 4 different steam rooms and one sauna. Truly special and one of the best spas we've been to in Relais & Chateau hotels in the UK.

Although pricey, i would say rates are lower than other luxury hotels around the national forest and hampshire. Perhaps this is due to the stuffy room decors.

We would definitely visit again !

*Note that the manor is hard to find as google maps shows the postcode at a different location - just look for whatley manor on google maps instead of inserting the postcode.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kassandra_K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Kassandra_Melius, Thank you very much for our your latest post on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased with your feedback. We have also noted the points that you feel need to be looked into. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We live nearby and regularly eat here or go for a drink. We stayed here as a treat having always loved the decor, the truly amazing flower displays inside the hotel and the great gardens.

Enjoy the spa, have dinner at Le Mazot or the Michellin-starred restaurant - both are great - and enjoy pre and post dinner drinks in the bar overlooking the formal gardens. You will relax in moments as the excellent staff take all your cares away.

Having only stayed in one room (on the second floor overlooking the rose garden) I can only say that he accommodation befits the price and country-manor ambience of the hotel.

This hotel is a great experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Andrew T, your post on Trip Advisor is very kind to us all working at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa. We are pleased to know we are also a destination for those living nearby to come and enjoy as well. Hopefully it will not be too long until we see you again. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a one night stay at Whatley Manor and were expecting perfection; we were a little underwhelmed!

I have hesitated for a few weeks about writing a review because our complaints were listened to and because of them we have been offered a discount on a future stay. But, I always review hotels we stay at and so felt that I should put 'pen to paper' and say what we found.

Whatley Manor is relatively expensive and so we were hoping for something special and in truth it nearly was. You get a great first impression as you follow the sweeping drive down to the hotel and the big wooden gates open to reveal a beautiful courtyard entrance. The welcome and check-in was warm, friendly and efficient and we were informed that if we wanted tea or coffee it would be brought to the room. We prefer to have facilities for this in the room so requested a tray this was promised 'straight away'.

We were shown to a lovely large room with quite good views over the garden, we unpacked and went for a walk around the grounds ..... they are truly beautiful. We returned to the room hoping to make a cup of tea ..... no tea tray had arrived. I phoned reception to ask again, the receptionist was full of apologies and promised again that it would soon be delivered.

We went to use the pool and spa facilities .... wow! Gorgeous!

Returned to the room for a cup of tea .... still no tray. Requested for the third time and finally it arrived!!!

Little things like this niggle at you and then you start to feel critical. I noticed stains on the fabric covered walls and ceilings, would not have expected this in a hotel of this quality. I tried to use the hairdryer but it was on a retractable cable which kept trying to reel itself up and then it suddenly overheated and stopped working.

We chose to eat in the brassiere and enjoyed the meal although the service was very slow. I expect a wait between courses but I don't want to sit looking at a dirty plate for ages!

Breakfast the next morning was OK but nothing special, we have had better in an airport hotel. The hot food did not seem freshly cooked and there was a poor choice of fresh fruit. There was no salt in the salt cellar and no staff visible to ask for a replacement.

Overall it seems a lot of complaints but it would be untrue to say that these spoilt our stay. We did enjoy Whatley Manor; the building is stunning, the room and bathroom lovely (apart from my comments), the staff are good and pool and spa are really something special. So perhaps we were unlucky and, as I said, one little disappointment leads to you noticing other imperfections.

Don't let our experience put you off; we spoke to the manager on leaving and he listened carefully to all our comments and contacted us when we returned home so I am sure that he will attend to every point made.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear bethi, Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. I understand that it is important to put your thoughts into writing. I am pleased that you have also acknowledged our efforts in trying to review the situation at the time. Hopefully the 'niggles' of your last stay won’t be replicated next time. I hope to see you on your return. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmesbury
24.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
15.6 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa

Property: Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Address: Easton Grey, Malmesbury SN16 0PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswolds Country Manor House Hotel with 15 Room and 8 Suites. Set in 12 acres of charming English country gardens. Two dining experiences including the Michelin two-starred restaurant The Dining Room and Le Mazot, the casual brasserie. The sumptous Aquarias Spa restores mind and body to a new harmony. Take up residence in the private cinema to watch your favourite film. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whatley Manor Easton Grey
Whatley Manor Hotel Easton Grey
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa Malmesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing