We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible........stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Smoking Dog

The Smoking Dog
Ranked #20 of 33 Restaurants in Malmesbury
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Terrible........stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went here for the first time. We had the Camembert starter which was not properly heated up (how can you get this wrong)) we sent it back to get it re-heated. The main I had the chicken supreme....the small dry piece of chicken came out with a nob of butter on which was simply not melting. The chicken was dry, the potatoes were old and just heated so these were not fresh. The green beans were over cooked.....I couldn't eat it. My partner has the burger which was barely warm. At no point were we asked if out meal was ok until after where we refused to pay for the meals we did not eat. We did not stay for pudding and went away hungry. Worst pub food ever,
STAY AWAY

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    59
    37
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, Wilts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been visiting the Smoking Dog on a number of occassions over the last 3 years. This dog friendly pub is a jewel in the towns environment. Dogs are allowed in the Bar area and Beer Garden of the pub but not inthe restaurant for good reason. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. The pub is due to close for a major refurbishment of the Beer Garden followed by the internal of the pub. I just hope the Brewery listen to its customers and staff and do not wreck what is a valuable assett. The food is always of the highest standard and the chef should be complimented. Keep your eys open for the Beer Festivals, well organised and well run events. Be aware though, the steps up into the Beer Garden are very steep and those with dissabilities will need assistance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WRGBEM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Undercooked”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Smoking Dog is a good looking Pub/eating pace with real ales. We asked locally and someone did recomend this as a good choice though she did say "It depends on who is cooking on the night". My wife had a steak, I had Lamb, neither were great. I expected more. The Lamb was just about cooked, the Steak was cooked as requested (medium) but was tough to chew. The presentation was OK and there was enough food on the plate but the quality was not good enough. The Real ale was OK though I found the Beer at the 'Old Bell' better. We were dissapointed by the main course (and the Beer) so did not stay for the sweet course. Hope you have better cooked food if you visit, this may have been a one-off.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Britman_uno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub food with friendly efficient staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

What a great pub. We dropped in without booking on a Monday night and had a very good meal with good service in a friendly but unobtrusive atmosphere. We've not been to Malmesbury before but this pub will certainly be on our list if we return!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lovely interior and atmosphere, cosy, friendly, good selection of ales. Reasonably priced, late license. Would recommend,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mossiebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smoking Dog also viewed

Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Brokenborough, Malmesbury
 

Been to The Smoking Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing