We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience before Christmas”
Review of Malmesbury Abbey

Malmesbury Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newton Solney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience before Christmas”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A wonderful old abbey church, full of architectural, historical and religious character; well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cbbarrie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    115
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is a little gem to visit if you are travelling in Wiltshire”
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

Although Malmesbury Abbey has lost much of its original magnificence, it is still a magical place to visit, as is the town. There is so much history there and the interior of the Abbey is wonderful. We had a snack there and I can recommend the bacon rolls!

Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wished we'd visited before”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

A truly charming place to visit, in this lovely town. A must for a re-visit the next time we head into the Cotswolds, and well worth the diversion.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank zonc186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go Visit”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I have to say we did enjoy our visit to Malmesbury Abbey the beautiful stained glass windows, and amazing architecture. We enjoyed a quite half hour. Great staff if you need help, with a shop to buy small souvenirs or a book of history about the Abbey.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Downunders45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The history of the Abbey”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

A guide gave us a brief descrition of the abbey but we purchased a guide in any event which filled in the blanks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malmesbury Abbey also viewed

Castle Combe, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Malmesbury Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing