We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in very good location”
Review of The Old Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Bell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Visited this hotel on business for meeting and overnight stay. Great character building in a great location with good facilities. Rooms very comfortable, staff excellent, food excellent.
Would definitely use again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is absolutely stunning,

I stayed in the oldest part of the building with my fiancé and had seen reviews previously about it being colder than the newer part,
This was completely untrue, the older part of the building was beautifully furnished and very warm with radiators within
Bathroom was very spacious also

We decided to eat within the restaurant downstairs - best food I have ever eaten, we ordered the steak and also a fish and chips and they were both amazing dishes, ( even better than the ivy, London) :)

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Malmesbury area

Only negative I could say was that the old style windows were obviously single glazed and there was a bit of a ruckus going on out side ( stayed on a Saturday night ) so we could practically hear everything being said outside but that was not a fault of the hotels, just naff luck

Deffo stay here :)

Room Tip: If booking a room within the older part of the hotel - as they look out onto the main road in the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emm_c_zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed here for three nights at the end of October 2013 . The room was large and the bed was very comfortable . Breakfast was of a very high standard as is the service .I would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shimonaa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed in the "Henry Hanks" room which was immaculate and very comfortable
No complaints about any aspect of the hotel, although menu was the same each day in both of the restaurants
Staff are very attentive and happy to help

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed first at The Old Bell in early summer and the again in September - fantastic both times! Would highly recommend this hotel, honestly think it's the loveliest hotel my husband and I have stayed in. The food, service, rooms, bar and lounge areas are all of the top quality. The staff deserve a special mention, courteous and highly professional. This hotel is an absolute gem do stay and and dine there you will love the experience. Cannot recommend highly enough, we are definitely planning our third visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our room in the stable block was accessed from reception by climbing a set of stairs, walking along a corridor, going down some stairs, turning left and then going upstairs again. The room was a decent size but was dominated by twin beds pushed together to form a very large superking bed. It had only one hardback chair to sit on and no information was provided about the hotel and the surrounding area. We had to enquire at reception about meal times.
The public rooms in the main part of the hotel were large and inviting and the dining rooms were
comfortable. The dinner and breakfast were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask to view your room before you decide to take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We would have stayed two nights had there been space on the Saturday but we were content with our one night stay in a small suite to which we were upgraded, 32 in the stable block. We went for the fine dining DB&B package and dinner was excellent with wonderfully attentive and welcoming service and beautifully presented food accompanied by a good recommendation of wine by the glass to match our choice. Breakfast was good and there are comfortable lounges though, with the cooler weather having arrived, it would have been good to have the open fires burning ... Only one was and only in the evening - a good one in bar before dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrAdamScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmesbury
2.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
832 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
515 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
666 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Hotel

Address: Abbey Row, Malmesbury SN16 0BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Price Range: £117 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Old Bell
Classic Hotel Malmesbury
Malmesbury Classic Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel Malmesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing