We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but disappointing experience!”
Review of The Old Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Bell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location but disappointing experience!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My partner and I decided to return to The Old Bell after staying a few years ago and being very impressed. This time our stay was very disappointing! We stayed in the Sir John Rushout room, which is beautifully decorated and was just how we remembered. Unfortunately the windows were broken and we were not informed of this before our arrival. The bathroom window was the worst, but at the same time the bedroom one had began to leak- the weather at the time was teaming down with rain and hard wind! We called reception and explained the situation and whilst we went for a walk the window was closed shut- no more problems. The other window was another matter, it was constantly slamming and a we were worried that the wind may blow it off. We decided to fix things for ourselves and asked reception for some string with which we somehow managed to stop the window from moving. The door was constantly banging throughout the night, and we did not have a good night sleep because of this. We know the hotel is old, but we should off been told about the window beforehand and we shouldn't have to fix the problem ourselves- not with the amount of money we paid!

Another word of warning, the toilet has some kind of shredding system and makes loud noises at random times- so be on your guard as it does make you jump!

Overall the stay was disappointing- but the bar staff and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful and polite. The room in general is lovely, but we are frustrated that we were not told about the windows beforehand- considering how the weather has been.

For now we won't be returning, as the amount of money we paid just didn't cover what we should of experienced.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    158
    80
    36
    22
See reviews for
85
282
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night for one night, the hotel is a very nice old building with a lovely homely bar and lounge area/s, the staff were all extremely attentive, helpful and friendly.
We opted for one of the cheaper rooms as it was only a stop over, this was located in the linked annex building and not the main house and whilst the room was comfortable it would appear this area of the hotel could do with a decent amount of refurbishment as the decoration, en-suite, corridors etc are all looking a bit tired. I imagine the more expensive rooms in the main building are a step up on these lower end price rooms.
Despite this we would certainly go again and would book into the main building, the breakfast was great and the restaurant menu looked very nice (shame we could not sample this time due it time limitations).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jezabel1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returned to normality after a dreamy stay at the Old Bell Inn. Could not fault the place, food was superb; room was incredible, staff fantastic, surroundings beautiful all with a great atmosphere.

Having not visited the area previously the location was perfect for exploring Malmesbury and the surrounding Cotswolds. So nice to walk down a high street with only 1 shop chain (Co-op)! Everyone was very helpful in giving us little handy tips on where to go and what to see from the Hotel Manager to the night security staff.

It was lovely to come in from wandering around on a chilly January day to sitting beside the fire enjoying a drink or to have a cosy night in with a DVD in the biggest hotel room I have ever been in!

We cannot thank the staff enough for a wonderful weekend break.

Room Tip: The oldest/original rooms are the rooms that are named. Pay a little extra and go for the upgrade i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had the most lovely lunch in the hotel restaurant today, the surroundings are beautiful, the staff were very friendly especially the head waiter, the food was superb which included home made bread (sublime) well done to the Old Bell we will be coming back

Room Tip: We only used the restaurant on this occasion but would certainly want to stay overnight as the locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 339karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had dinner in the Brasserie as the restaurant is undergoing redecoration. The hotel was warm and welcoming as was the dining room. The staff were smart and attentive and the food well prepared and delicious. Well worth a drop in when visiting the beautiful Malmesbury Abbey which is next door.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Dropped in for afternoon tea on a cold January day. Excellent because we could relax in comfortable seating by a log fire. Really nice atmosphere. Expensive but you feel cosetted.
Very conveniently located close by the abbey church.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Overall a most pleasant stay however in many aspects more attention to detail was required. For example; at breakfast on the first morning the pot of marmalade jam was candied and not really recognizable as a marmalade. One of the waiters was informed and asked to have it replaced. On arrival at breakfast on the second morning the pot of old, candied marmalade was still there. A second waiter was asked to please replace it, He finally delivered a small pot of fresh marmalade to our table. The cleaning of our room was very hit and miss with no plastic liners replaced in the wate bin; only some of the toiletries replaced and the hand basin only half cleaned. On the upside the room was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. The front of house staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior Room or a level above Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeanderingMagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmesbury
2.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
781 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
382 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
504 reviews
4.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Hotel

Property: The Old Bell Hotel
Address: Abbey Row, Malmesbury SN16 0BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Old Bell
Classic Hotel Malmesbury
Malmesbury Classic Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel Malmesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing