We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Night Stay/Wedding”
Review of The Old Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Bell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have to say fab wedding do there and could not fault that at all good time had by all - but rooms as previous person has said not worth the money at 115.00 per night - no fridge, shabby furniture ........breakfast was ok but definitely not fabulous....bacon cold...
My son questioned at reception by a lady working there as to why he was there and was there a problem? and he was only fetching the key for our room from reception she insinuating he should not have been there (he was in shorts and t-shirt) however could not fault the blonde lady at reception as throughout the stay made sure she did her best to please us as guests. i.e. sending up ice bucket to do same job as fridge and anything else needed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank celticmaiden18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonHaggarty, General Manager at The Old Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am glad that you enjoyed the wedding party. We apologise that the rooms were not to your taste, but the price we believe reflect the charm and character the rooms provide, as well as including free wifi, access to the local gym and breakfast. We apologise if you feel that a member of staff was rude, but we are glad it was corrected by another member of staff, as we always try to be as helpful to our guests as possible. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Old Bell is an extraordinarily beautiful building/hotel,

We stayed in the Coach House. May as well have been in a Travel Lodge. Why would a hotel like this have such horrid, basic little rooms.


Never going there again. For £115.00, its a joke.

Also, the breakfast was absolutely ghastly. Hugely disappointing all round.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonHaggarty, General Manager at The Old Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

We apologise that your stay with us was not as you had hoped for. Our Coach House Standard rooms are our best value for money rooms, yet they still contain free wifi and free access to the local gym. We are also sorry to hear that our included Full English Breakfast was not to your taste, but we are aware that we cannot please everyone. Best of luck in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed as part of a wedding party. the hotel was great and in a great location. The room was adequate for our short stay, with lounge area, bathroom and bedroom. The facilities in the room included, fridge, safe, coffee machine. Some of the furniture in the room required updating, but a nice pleasant room. The room was a little pricey in comparison to other hotels I have stayed in. But I would recommend to stay here if in the area.

The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble when you asked.

The breakfast weekend staff were a little overwhelmed due to the number of guests for breakfast. (buffet style). We had to request tea, coffee and toast, and seat ourselves. The breakfast was enjoyable though.

Room Tip: Room 32, First floor near car park (away from road) with good in room facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonHaggarty, General Manager at The Old Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. Our room rates are based on the room, breakfast, free wifi and access to the local gym, and due to the age of the building as England’s Oldest Hotel, the price we believe matches the accommodation. We hope you enjoyed the wedding and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We held the wake here following the funeral of my mother. We know that she would have been very happy with the standard, stylish location.

The staff were excellent, very helpful, the room we hired was delightful and the afternoon tea served was delicious and of a really high standard. The room led out onto the pretty gardens.

This is a delightful hotel and I would love to stay here in better circumstances as I was very impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Old Bell on a night away from the kids. If you're looking for a lovely old inn, with lots of lovely, stylish and comfortable lounges and set in scenic surroundings this is your place.

We stayed in a standard coach house room. This was relatively small but comfortable. However, if you're over 6ft or, a person who wakes up at first light you might want to look for a room in the main house. Otherwise, you're likely to be banging your head on the bathroom ceiling and waking up very early due to the less than light fast blinds!

We didn't dine at the hotel but breakfast was good featuring a good choice of dishes. Service was very good and helpful.

Overall a lovely place to stay and also very handy for Whatley Manor.

Room Tip: If you're over 6ft or, a person who wakes up at first light you might want to look for a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnsrLarousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As they will tell you, the oldest continually-run hotel in England - since the 13th Century. Right next to the wonderful Malmesbury Abbey which you can see from the lovely terrace and garden.
Rambling downstairs rooms, elegantly decorated with comfy sofas and old paintings. Would be cosy in the winter with big log fires everywhere.
The bedroom was fine though a bit more attention to decorating detail would improve it as the downstairs is so nice in comparison.
We only had lunch but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaMaryxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This distinctive, Grade 1 Listed building situated next to the Abbey has grown and changed down the centuries and bones of the orginal building, and indeed, previous buildings, stick through the internal walls to create odd angles and strange juxtapositions. The history of its occupation can be read in every room and on every staircase.You have a choice whether to be offended by new lino in the bathroom that doesn't quite reach the badly wonky bath surround or you can take it in your stride. I don't know if planning problems get in the way of improvements but a simple redecoration job would brighten things up. Even the room's resident Teddybear said he was sick of faded lemon yellow paint. One thing to note is the lack of a lift so if you are infirm you might want to check where your room is situated when booking.
From check-in to the moment we left I found the service to be very good and staff, approachable and helpful. The dinner menu is full of straightforward dishes relying on good ingredients, carefully prepared and imaginatively presented. We enjoyed perfectly done bass and lamb and took our puds outdoors to the terrace as it had been a sweltering day and we needed a little night air. ( My heart went out to the kitchen team on such a night ) The bed was comfy and traffic peters out so you get a peaceful night's sleep. The ghost failed to turn up. Our full English breakfast and eggs Benedict went down very well in the morning and fruit salad and pastries seemed freshly made. There's plenty of parking at the back of the hotel and a nice, secluded garden with a funny little summerhouse that should definitely get some work to make it accessible to guests. We enjoyed our stay at the Old Bell and felt very relaxed.

Room Tip: No lift - a trek to the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falconette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmesbury
2.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
832 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
515 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
666 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Hotel

Address: Abbey Row, Malmesbury SN16 0BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Price Range: £118 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Old Bell
Classic Hotel Malmesbury
Malmesbury Classic Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel Malmesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing