We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Really Special”
Review of Poulton Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poulton Grange
Ranked #11 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Really Special”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay at Poulton Grange was. Deborah and James, the owners, have thought of everything possible to make sure that their guests have an extremely comfortable stay, and they make it possibly for the guests to get as involved as they want to with what's going on in the house or on the farm.

My son, who is 20, and I went to Wiltshire (from the U.S.) to see crop circles. I found Poulton Grange after googling around for hotels in Wiltshire. Within a couple hours of arriving, after settling in and enjoying a cup of tea, we were out in a field with Deborah, James, and one of their dogs (Tess), watching as they moved a herd of sheep from that field to another and then moved two rams into the field where the herd had been. My son had a ball running with the dogs at night. He'd have done more farm work had there been things for him to do when we were around.

The house itself is wonderful. The rooms are oversize and extremely comfortable. The place is cozy, luxurious, friendly, informal, warm. Deborah goes out of her way to take care of your needs -- when we came back from traipsing around muddy crop circles, she washed out clothes for us and dried them in front of the Aga. I use unsweetened soy milk each morning and she had it in the house when we arrived.

We recommend Poulton Grange with no reservations whatsoever. It really is a special place. Somehow Deborah and James have figured out how to make you feel like you're really at home, not like you're in the way in someone else's house. We hope to return next year for an even longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slschwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
34
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This B&B is just outstanding in every respect. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean 5 star country breakfast and a most wonderful friendly family.

Another reviewer has given it 6 stars. We think it should be a seven.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goondari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Outstandingly good in every single respect from the welcome to the spacious and immaculate accommodation and excellent breakfast..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Everything about Poulton Grange is fabulous...the home, the scenery, the farm, the food, and the warmth of the owners, James and Deborah. We would be thrilled to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don194405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Our stay coincided with lambing season so there was plenty to see and experience around the farm, whilst at the same time relaxing in our sumptuous, triple aspect bedroom. I don't think I've had a bath in such a large bath, it was heaven!
We were so warmly welcomed by the family on arrival, which was made even more welcoming with a cuppa and slice of Victoria Sponge cake! (Don't miss it :-))
Our bedroom was appointed with luxury furnishing and fittings, plasma TV, welcome tray (complete with biscuits and local beers to sample) and a huge selection of magazines to help you relax and while away your time.
Located close to Marlborough (5 mins by car) there are a variety of restaurants on offer to make your stay complete, but beware, one should leave room for the breakfast the following morning as Deborah's cooked breakfasts are amazing.
This B&B is definitely on our list to return to and infact, it has topped our list of favourite places to stay...which says a lot in itself.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShortiesOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

I went to Malborough to look at the crop circles and chose Poulton Grange because of the reviews in Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed. Apart from the great location, spotless room, great breakfast, almost brand new B & B, the hosts Deborah and James were delightful. They welcomed me like family. I am going back this year!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VedicWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I found Poulton Grange from a national newspaper article many months ago and saved the website on my Google favourites list for future reference. My wife remembered this and booked a 3 day stay as a surprise birthday treat for me. It was certainly a treat!
It is not often that you find yourself agreeing 100% with the comments made by past guests but this is case with PG.
By the time we left (reluctantly) we felt we had known Deborah and James for ages and felt part of the family. The 5 Star rating is more than deserved and everything that has been written previously on this site is true.
I will always remember the cake baked for my birthday (which appeared no sooner we had got through the door) and the card that arrived when we returned home. Nice gestures that were much appreciated.
A very special B& B - We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
0.8 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
6.4 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marlborough
The Marlborough
#16 of 30 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#13 of 30 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poulton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poulton Grange

Property: Poulton Grange
Address: Poulton Grange | Poulton Farm Estate, Marlborough SN8 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Poulton Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning, newly built family farmhouse for the 21st Century in beautiful farmland on chalk downland. Eco-friendly with geo-thermal heating providing a great expereince for the discerning traveller. Peace, tranquility, great hospitality and a warm welcome by the Aga. Binoculars to watch the wildlife and guided farm tours on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Poulton Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poulton Grange Marlborough, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing