We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way”
Review of Poulton Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poulton Grange
Ranked #11 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Can't really say anything different to the other reviewers. The house is in a peaceful, country setting, yet only a couple of miles from Marlborough. Our bedroom was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. An oversized bed with wonderful linen. Modern bathroom with a great shower, large fluffy towels and special "smellies". Lots of extras - fresh fruit, flowers, wine, etc. in the room each day. Breakfast was superb - even if you didn't go for the full "heart attack on a plate". 5 star accommodation in every way. However, the thing that really made our trip special was the family - Deborah, James and the girls. So friendly, warm and funny - we really did feel like house guests rather than paying guests. At B&B's we normally find that we are either out and about or in our bedroom but we spent a lot of time drinking tea and chatting with the family in their kitchen. We were celebrating our Silver Wedding and Deborah arranged treats for us to make our stay extra special, including flowers and a card on the day. This place is a real find and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbp010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebJames, Owner at Poulton Grange, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we really appreciate it. It was lovely that you chose to celebrate 25 year of marriage at Poulton Grange - a real achievment for a first class team! Do hope that we will see you again - with or without traps! :-)
Deborah & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
34
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Deborah & James were delightful hosts. We chose their B&B because it was away from the hustle and bustle of touristy Marlborough. Their beautiful new home was in a lovely rural setting. Our room was as nice as home. We felt like we were staying with friends. Wonderful breakfasts. A most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay at Poulton Grange was. Deborah and James, the owners, have thought of everything possible to make sure that their guests have an extremely comfortable stay, and they make it possibly for the guests to get as involved as they want to with what's going on in the house or on the farm.

My son, who is 20, and I went to Wiltshire (from the U.S.) to see crop circles. I found Poulton Grange after googling around for hotels in Wiltshire. Within a couple hours of arriving, after settling in and enjoying a cup of tea, we were out in a field with Deborah, James, and one of their dogs (Tess), watching as they moved a herd of sheep from that field to another and then moved two rams into the field where the herd had been. My son had a ball running with the dogs at night. He'd have done more farm work had there been things for him to do when we were around.

The house itself is wonderful. The rooms are oversize and extremely comfortable. The place is cozy, luxurious, friendly, informal, warm. Deborah goes out of her way to take care of your needs -- when we came back from traipsing around muddy crop circles, she washed out clothes for us and dried them in front of the Aga. I use unsweetened soy milk each morning and she had it in the house when we arrived.

We recommend Poulton Grange with no reservations whatsoever. It really is a special place. Somehow Deborah and James have figured out how to make you feel like you're really at home, not like you're in the way in someone else's house. We hope to return next year for an even longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slschwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This B&B is just outstanding in every respect. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean 5 star country breakfast and a most wonderful friendly family.

Another reviewer has given it 6 stars. We think it should be a seven.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goondari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Outstandingly good in every single respect from the welcome to the spacious and immaculate accommodation and excellent breakfast..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Everything about Poulton Grange is fabulous...the home, the scenery, the farm, the food, and the warmth of the owners, James and Deborah. We would be thrilled to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don194405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Our stay coincided with lambing season so there was plenty to see and experience around the farm, whilst at the same time relaxing in our sumptuous, triple aspect bedroom. I don't think I've had a bath in such a large bath, it was heaven!
We were so warmly welcomed by the family on arrival, which was made even more welcoming with a cuppa and slice of Victoria Sponge cake! (Don't miss it :-))
Our bedroom was appointed with luxury furnishing and fittings, plasma TV, welcome tray (complete with biscuits and local beers to sample) and a huge selection of magazines to help you relax and while away your time.
Located close to Marlborough (5 mins by car) there are a variety of restaurants on offer to make your stay complete, but beware, one should leave room for the breakfast the following morning as Deborah's cooked breakfasts are amazing.
This B&B is definitely on our list to return to and infact, it has topped our list of favourite places to stay...which says a lot in itself.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShortiesOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
0.8 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
630 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,744 reviews
6.4 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 30 in Marlborough
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#15 of 30 in Marlborough
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poulton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poulton Grange

Property: Poulton Grange
Address: Poulton Grange | Poulton Farm Estate, Marlborough SN8 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Poulton Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning, newly built family farmhouse for the 21st Century in beautiful farmland on chalk downland. Eco-friendly with geo-thermal heating providing a great expereince for the discerning traveller. Peace, tranquility, great hospitality and a warm welcome by the Aga. Binoculars to watch the wildlife and guided farm tours on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poulton Grange Marlborough, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing