We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best! Don't miss”
Review of Poulton Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poulton Grange
Ranked #12 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This past summer was our first visit to England, and Poulton Grange was the last stop on our trip. We stayed at many great B&B's, and this was by far the best. Worth every penny! Deborah and James are such warm and welcoming people, and went far above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We were actually sad to leave. Our kids also agreed that this was the best place which was amazing since there was no t.v.. Can't recommend it enough - can't wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saanichhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

Deborah and James very welcoming hosts.

Delicious cake and tea on arrival after a long journey drive on a Friday afternoon from Suffolk. No trouble in finding our way as driving direction given on email.

Beautiful house in the farm setting. Our room is luxurious, fantastic view. Breakfast was fantastic and the hosts were so attentive and flexible to accomodate our needs.

Only wish we could have stayed longer to do more walking and exploration around local area, as we came for our friend's wedding on Sat.

Would definitely return & highly recommended!

Karoline

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I would like to wage in on this 'TOP B&B NEAR MARLBOROUGH' debate.
Poulton Grange is absolute class. Hosts are knowledgeable and about as welcoming as they come, the accomodation is luxurious and the breakfast local and delicious. What's more, the litmus test was when I asked if we could bring our horses, who were duly and comfortably accomodated across the drive at extremely late notice.
I could not reccommend this lovely B&B more. I wish them all the best with their enterprise!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

One sentence sums it up:

In over 30 years of travel to the UK this is by far the finest b&b I've ever stayed in. jm

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have just returned after spending 4 nights at Poulton Grange with friends who previously stayed there in January. If you are looking for luxurious accommodation in a tranquil setting, then this is the ideal location for you. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome by Deborah and James. Poulton Grange is a stunning house with beautifully appointed rooms/bathrooms - the attention to detail is second to none. We had a triple aspect window overlooking the downs with Marlborough in the distance - beautiful setting. The breakfasts provided are wonderul too, with a wide variety of choice.

Despite being in the midst of the busy harvesting season, Deborah and James took the time to show us the workings of the farm - nothing is too much trouble.

If you do choose Poulton Grange you will not be disappointed. It more than lives up to it's 5 star rating - we can't wait to make a return visit.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank albarclay2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Can't really say anything different to the other reviewers. The house is in a peaceful, country setting, yet only a couple of miles from Marlborough. Our bedroom was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. An oversized bed with wonderful linen. Modern bathroom with a great shower, large fluffy towels and special "smellies". Lots of extras - fresh fruit, flowers, wine, etc. in the room each day. Breakfast was superb - even if you didn't go for the full "heart attack on a plate". 5 star accommodation in every way. However, the thing that really made our trip special was the family - Deborah, James and the girls. So friendly, warm and funny - we really did feel like house guests rather than paying guests. At B&B's we normally find that we are either out and about or in our bedroom but we spent a lot of time drinking tea and chatting with the family in their kitchen. We were celebrating our Silver Wedding and Deborah arranged treats for us to make our stay extra special, including flowers and a card on the day. This place is a real find and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbp010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebJames, Owner at Poulton Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we really appreciate it. It was lovely that you chose to celebrate 25 year of marriage at Poulton Grange - a real achievment for a first class team! Do hope that we will see you again - with or without traps! :-)
Deborah & James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Deborah & James were delightful hosts. We chose their B&B because it was away from the hustle and bustle of touristy Marlborough. Their beautiful new home was in a lovely rural setting. Our room was as nice as home. We felt like we were staying with friends. Wonderful breakfasts. A most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
9.1 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
658 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Shears Inn
The Shears Inn
#1 of 1 in Collingbourne Ducis
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Manor Farm B&B
Manor Farm B&B
#2 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#14 of 30 in Marlborough
100 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poulton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poulton Grange

Address: Poulton Grange | Poulton Farm Estate, Marlborough SN8 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Poulton Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning, newly built family farmhouse for the 21st Century in beautiful farmland on chalk downland. Eco-friendly with geo-thermal heating providing a great expereince for the discerning traveller. Peace, tranquility, great hospitality and a warm welcome by the Aga. Binoculars to watch the wildlife and guided farm tours on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Poulton Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poulton Grange Marlborough, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing