We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hosts”
Review of Poulton Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poulton Grange
Ranked #12 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We agree with all other reviews. Spotlessly clean luxury. Deborah promised us hares in the field outside our bedroom window, but we can't blame her when they didn't turn up ! If you have the slighest interest in matters farming and/or countryside, just start a conversation with James. He's both knowledgeable and entertaining. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 871ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

I endorse everything that has been written; this b&b is the best ever. Bedrooms/en suite spacious, comfortable and beautifully furnished. Breakfast choice superb.
Cannot be faulted. In particular the natural warmth and friendliness of Deborah, James and the girls make Poulton Grange a very special place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I can heartily recommend staying at Poulton Grange. James and Deborah are delightful hosts and although we only stayed 2 nights, we came away feeling we'd had a proper holiday. The house is spacious, spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished; and they've thought of every little detail to make your stay relaxing and luxurious. I accidentally left behind some toiletries which Deborah kindly posted straight back to me. When we left we felt we were saying goodbye to friends.

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms - both very light and spacious with extensive views of rolling farmland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 25Deborah25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at Poulton Grange after trawling the internet for accommodation near Marlborough.
Deborah and James are fantastic hosts. They are very welcoming from the moment that you arrive and really go to a lot of trouble to ensure that your stay is everything you would want it to be. We were greeted on our arrival with tea and a delicious homemade cake. The house is luxurious, the bedrooms were beautifully furnished and the views of open countryside delightful. Breakfast was a real treat of with a vast selection to choose from with my favourite; a full English made up of local produce expertly cooked on the Aga by Deborah.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itrip_blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at Poulton Lodge (family of 5) during lambing. Although Deborah, James and the girls were barely sleeping and working flat out, they still managed to make us feel very welcome and involved in all aspects of farming life. We were very happy in the Lodge, slept well in the huge and comfortable beds and enjoyed Deborah's home made chocolate cake and generous welcome pack. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This past summer was our first visit to England, and Poulton Grange was the last stop on our trip. We stayed at many great B&B's, and this was by far the best. Worth every penny! Deborah and James are such warm and welcoming people, and went far above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We were actually sad to leave. Our kids also agreed that this was the best place which was amazing since there was no t.v.. Can't recommend it enough - can't wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saanichhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Deborah and James very welcoming hosts.

Delicious cake and tea on arrival after a long journey drive on a Friday afternoon from Suffolk. No trouble in finding our way as driving direction given on email.

Beautiful house in the farm setting. Our room is luxurious, fantastic view. Breakfast was fantastic and the hosts were so attentive and flexible to accomodate our needs.

Only wish we could have stayed longer to do more walking and exploration around local area, as we came for our friend's wedding on Sat.

Would definitely return & highly recommended!

Karoline

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
0.8 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
647 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,851 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#19 of 30 in Marlborough
94 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#8 of 30 in Marlborough
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poulton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poulton Grange

Address: Poulton Grange | Poulton Farm Estate, Marlborough SN8 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Poulton Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning, newly built family farmhouse for the 21st Century in beautiful farmland on chalk downland. Eco-friendly with geo-thermal heating providing a great expereince for the discerning traveller. Peace, tranquility, great hospitality and a warm welcome by the Aga. Binoculars to watch the wildlife and guided farm tours on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poulton Grange Marlborough, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing