We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmatchable”
Review of Poulton Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poulton Grange
Ranked #11 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unmatchable”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed just one night sadly with another couple of friends, and had the most lovely time.
The rooms are exquisite, bright and sparkingly clean, with even a bottle of beer and wine on the coffee tray ! As everyone says Debbie is so welcoming and friendly and it is certainly the best Band B I have stayed in - and we travel a lot. Tor Townsend, Somerset

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
34
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My family stayed at Poulton Grange for five nights in July, as part of a college graduation trip for our son. This was our second time there, and I certainly hope it won't be the last. Deborah and James are perfect hosts. There is just no other way to say it. We were welcomed like long-lost friends when we arrived this time, and that treatment lasted the entire stay. The rooms, like last time, were comfortable and always clean. They came with fresh flowers, fruit, and a selection of teas and other drinks. Our son walked the dogs every night, and he and my husband accompanied Deborah as she moved some sheep from one field to another. Deborah gave us a tour of some of the farm buildings, and we had some great conversations with both Deborah and James in the kitchen, next to the Aga. I can't say enough good things about Poulton Grange.

Room Tip: N/A -- there are just two rooms, and they are both lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slschwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Deborah and James were the most wonderful, kind and welcoming hosts. My family and I stayed for 3 nights in Poulton Lodge and it felt like the cosiest home and homes.

We arrived to a wonderfully stocked kitchen including a scrumptious home made cake.

The shower was the best my sister had ever used, the kids absolutely loved the play area in the back garden. We loved being able to view fields and the wildlife from every window and corner of the lodge.

One of our highlights was also helping round up the sheep, the kids could not stop smiling and talking about it for hours afterward.

Deborah and James, thank you so much for your kind hospitality. I cannot wait to tell everyone about this best stay ever and hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YPanSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt as though we were guests of the family. We were greeted by Deborah and, after being shown to our beautifully decorated room, we shared coffee and freshly baked caked with Deborah and James in the farmhouse kitchen. The room was very large, light and airy, with wonderful views over the Wiltshire farmland - there was even a bluebell wood to visit! The bathroom was ideal, large and with a separate shower (plenty of water pressure here) in addition to the bath. There was a good range of quality toiletries provided. Not only was there a good range of reading matter on the area provided, but the fruit, chocolate, biscuits, beer and wine were also very much appreciated. Breakfast was served at the table in the kitchen, with plenty of friendly talk while our selection from the menu was prepared on the Aga. Nothing was a problem for Deborah and James, and we were sorry to leave after three glorious nights - we had been made to feel as though we were friends who had come to stay, not paying guests. Thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

Room Tip: A must place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary23Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

After a very long drive of about 4 hours I pulled up to Poulton Grange and was met at the door by Deborah who offered me a slice of cake and a coffee which was so welcoming and refreshing. I must admit it was hard to feel like a paying customer and more like a guest they had invilted into their home. The family is fantastic and was lovely to chat to James as well about the lack of cows on the farm :-)

The room blew me away i have never stayed somewhere that big and the bathroom has the wow factor, the shower is very powerful and you have a choice of head to use, the bath sadly i didn't get to use but next time i'll take advantage of that. The products in the bathroom leave you spoilt for choice everything and more is supplied.

The drinks tray was the biggest surprise as it had a bottle of beer, a bottle of wine, plenty of tea and coffee (not like the places that give you two cups if your lucky) and they even have filter coffee in bags which tasted amazing, biscuits where nice on the drive home too :-)

Room had everything i needed including TV, free wifi, bathrodes, huge comfy bed, pillow spray which i thought was a very nice touch and plenty of cupboard and draw space. Temperature was perfect and was shown how to change this if needed, no light or noise polution i actually felt i had gone blind when i put the lights out and the room was plunged into darkness. sleep was amazing and to be honest i didn't want to get up in the morning.

Breakfast was massive with lots of choice and you can preorder so you get exactly what you want. I had the works bacon, sausage, eggs, tomatos, mushrooms, beans, fried bread and black pudding and well i was stuffed. All the food is of a very high quality and it shows when you get good thick bacon. There is also yoghurt, cereal and toast but i was more than happy with the cooked breakfast on its own and a nice orange juice and coffee.

If you are in the area you must stay here to experience what all other B&B's should be doing, warm, welcoming and luxery through and through. Will certainly book again if they will have me.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Everything all the other reviewers have raved about we endorse without reservation! James and Deborah have the winning formula buttoned up and will undoubtedly keep it that way because above all THEY CARE! The room was fabulous, the setting heavenly, the peacefulness of the surroundings uplifting, but what really did it for us was the way we felt welcomed from the moment we arrived and for every moment afterwards until we left. Their house was our house, and what a wonderful house it is. Look no further - if you have reason to stay in the area, this is where you should go.....and if you don't have a reason to be in the Marlborough area, invent one so you can find out what all the fuss is about.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyke1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for a weekend at Poulton Lodge for our visit to Marlborough for a 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration.
The lodge is situated on a working farm a short distance from the town centre. The lodge is down a mile long drive close to the modern farmhouse where Deborah & James also offer B & B.
The lodge itself was absolutely first class - spotlessly clean, extremely well appointed and all in all very comfortable. We were provided with a welcome pack that took care of all the essentials. Deborah also brought us a homemade cake.
We were quite lucky with the weather so were able to sit on the verandah - one upstairs, one on the ground floor, and watch the hares in the field opposite. The swallows were less keen to see us as they were nesting in the eaves.
There is an extensive garden attached to the Lodge with swings etc for children.
Provided you are happy with being a little remote an ideal setting for breaks.
A great place run by a very friendly couple.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
0.8 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
630 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,744 reviews
6.4 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 30 in Marlborough
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#15 of 30 in Marlborough
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poulton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poulton Grange

Property: Poulton Grange
Address: Poulton Grange | Poulton Farm Estate, Marlborough SN8 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Poulton Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning, newly built family farmhouse for the 21st Century in beautiful farmland on chalk downland. Eco-friendly with geo-thermal heating providing a great expereince for the discerning traveller. Peace, tranquility, great hospitality and a warm welcome by the Aga. Binoculars to watch the wildlife and guided farm tours on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poulton Grange Marlborough, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing