We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value,friendly hotel”

The Castle and Ball
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Marlborough
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value,friendly hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel,as a party of six, three times in the last 18 months.It is excellent value for money, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We were staying at the hotel the weekend before refurbishments started and there were several issues with the water and heating,but we were given vouchers for a free stay once the hotel reopened.What more could you ask of customer service? I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxed and comfortable weekend as long as you are not looking for a 5 star break. The street market outside the hotel on Saturday mornings is great and you can go home with excellent produce and cheeses,too!

Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    147
    66
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Just had lunch here, 4 meals ordered 2 of them they did not have the ingredients, quite all portions, bit disappointed, should have chose another pub!

Oh only brought cutlery for 2 of us!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachbabeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frustrated!”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Came .here for a family get together meal the day after Boxing Day. Very busy as expected. Good enough start, service prompt and drinks arrived quickly. We had booked a table for 6 but it was only laid for 5, had to ask for another set of cutlery which arrived dirty and without a napkin. 3 of our party chose haddock andchips as this is their classic Top Dish. No compliants there, good portion, haddock and chips fine. 2 of our party ordered the venison burger which went down well. Last person ordered a medium rare sirloin which had to be sent back as it was very rare. The original steak got cut into pieces and cooked some more rather than starting with another steak but I guess this is only a pub. It was an incredibly fatty and sinuey steak which my daughter hardly ate in the end. I was rather annoyed to realise as we left that there were Specials of the Day which looked very appetising, Red Thai Prawn Curry etc, which would have helped with our party of teenagers. This was never pointed out to us. Drinks expensive. I have been here 3 times over as many years and would rather try another restaurant next time. Adios Castle and Ball.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LEJAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Basic lunch”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This was the place to go in Marlborough many years ago and it seems to be prospering under latest owners, Olde English Inns, although it's a bit downmarket from how I remember it from forty years ago! We had a family lunch in its restaurant, but it was somewhat disappointing. Burger overcooked and not very imaginative chicken main course. Slow services and food was 'pub grub' and not particularly memorable. But the bill wasn't very high and, all in all, it's worth trying for basic English pub cuisine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really good all round Hotel”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Food good, staff very friendly and helpful, comfortable room. What more do you need? Oh yes free parking off street, a real bonus if you know Marlborough! Thoroughly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JonWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle and Ball also viewed

 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Castle and Ball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing