We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”

The Castle and Ball
Ranked #18 of 69 Restaurants in Marlborough
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Went out with some friends of mine, restaurant was ok, very airy considering how hot it was outside. Food was ok, nothing brilliant but price was about right. Was disappointed with the Triffle confused. It was more like jelly with a bit of cream thrown in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carolyn123634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy the Trifle, it is quite different to a 'normal' trifle as stated on the menu.
The restaurant, although having no windows, does have air conditioning which is lovely when it's so warm outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 293 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent friendly staff, good service, shame they had to serve an awful Sunday Roast - most expensive and far the worst of the 6 I have had in the area. Poor quality ingredients, positive it was instant mash. Have eaten there once before and the Fish and Chips were good, but avoid the Sunday Roast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank united4ever2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

I am really sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us, but very glad the staff looked after you well.
I will talk to the Head Chef about the roast to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Popped in for a quick bite en route to Bath. Lovely building and plenty of room. We selected a quick bangers and mash and were very disappointed to receive instant mash. As there were no other veg it was very obvious. Not really acceptable these days. However the fish and chips that other lunchers were eating looked fine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

The mash potaton is not instant so I will speak to the Head Chef to find out why it appeared to be so. If there is any issue with the food, you are welcome to return it and we would of bought you a replacement. I hope you will eat with us again and hopefully enjoy a nicer meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The waiter (Sean) was brilliant! Really took care of our party of diners. The roast dinner was expensive for poor quality ingredients, instant mash and frozen roasties. My veggie option was cooked for so long the corners of it were hard. (I think it was a nut roast with goats cheese, not quite sure!). I think anything but a roast dinner would have been fine and wish I had stuck with fish and chips!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 61lisae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Really sorry you didn't enjoy your meal, the mash isn't instant and the roast potatoes aren't frozen so I will talk to the head chef and find out what had gone wrong that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice food for a good price and friendly staff. Recommended for a bite to eat if visiting marlborough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bugsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review, lovely to hear you had a nice meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle and Ball also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Castle and Ball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing