We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Great Value”

The Castle and Ball
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Marlborough
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Value”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This pub was doing a 2 meals for £10.99 deal so we plumped for it on our first night in Marlborough. Good range of meals on offer and veggies are well catered for.
Great range of beers and cider, with friendly bar staff.
It was busy but we managed to get a nice table for two.
I ordered Sausage & Mash, my partner ordered the Veggie Chilli. It was busy and the staff did warn us that it would take about 45 mins for the food.
But within 15 minutes the food had arrived. It was very tasty and good sized portions The staff were excellent (despite being very busy) and the pub was spotlessly clean and welcoming.
Very good overall and would recommend it to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your meal, and I'm really pleased it took a lot time than warned. When we are very busy it can hard to keep up sometimes!
Yesterday we received our new 2 for £10.99 menus that has a couple of updates on,so hopefully we will see you soon so you can see what's new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    151
    66
    35
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
paddockwood
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“jazz festival”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

nice food helpful staff and a realistic prices especially as this was the jazz festival weekend. We did not book just walked in and was given a table even though they were fully booked service was quick and efficient would go there again for something to eat

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cookiePaddockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you were able to get a table, especially as it was such a busy weekend.
The atmosphere was amazing throughout the Jazz weekend, I hope you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Few places open early on Sunday morning and very pleased this one was due to its accommodated guests; pleased that they also welcome walk-ins. Terrific breakfast with plenty of variety, very friendly and helpful staff

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed your breakfast, it is a very busy time of the day for us so it was great that you were able to get a table.
We will hopefully see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Castle and Ball”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Never lives up to expectation -- very pleasant lounge but service has always been indifferent, does not compete in this respect with most other restaurants in town

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I am very sorry you feel this way, as you can see from other reviews, we get many compliments on our staff so it is unusual to find a review commenting on indifferent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location, lovely food and friendly service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stopped by The Castle and Ball for an early lunch before a walk around Marlborough. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the atmosphere was very warm and pleasant.

The food was of good quality and reasonably priced. I also thought that it didn't take that long to be made, which is also a nice bonus.

Friendly and welcoming service with good food in a warm and pleasant location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrAclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I hope you had a nice walk around the town.
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your lunch at the hotel, glad the food was cooked quickly giving you extra shopping time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle and Ball also viewed

 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Castle and Ball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing