We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to find this little gem”
Review of Silks on the Downs

Silks on the Downs
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Marlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Silks On The Downs is best described as a friendly & homely ' Gastro Pub '. Our menus change regularly and we source locally from the fantastic produce available around us. We are located in Ogbourne St Andrew, one mile outside the beautiful market town of Marlborough. Adorning our walls are framed silks of leading racehorse owners as worn by the jockeys, reflecting Wiltshire's rich racing heritage, as well as giving the pub its name. We are open daily for lunch and dinner (closed on a Sunday evening).
RG27 8ND
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Glad to find this little gem”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Met a friend for lunch. We usually meet in Marlborough but decided to try Silks as it was only a few miles out of town. Glad we did. Very helpful manager and polite staff. We sat outside on the decking and had a super meal and a jug of Pimms. There is a small garden overlooking the River Og,,, unfortunately dried up, with a view over some paddocks. Not far to walk the dogs on the downs. Thoroughly enjoyed our delicious lunch and will visit again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hedwig4080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    107
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Fantastic risotto and a lemon posset to die for. Not the cheapest we have ever been to but the standard was worth every penny

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annewiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family venue”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had a family Sunday Lunch. Welcoming and lovely service. The food was wonderful especially the deserts. The whole place is relaxed but is quality. We will certainly go back when we are in the area-hopefully soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elcid2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Twice in one week”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Having receently discovered this restaurant on Tripadvisor we visited twice in one week,once for lunch and once for dinner. On each occasion the food was delicious and the service was friendly, efficient and quite rapid. Starter, in particular, are highly recommended, especially the seared scallops and the potted crab. Fish was well cooked and the portions generous.

The restaurant is very popular locally, though not full when we were there. The tables are set fairly wide apart in two box-like rooms. With square walls a fairly low ceiling and wooden floors there is the potential for a quite noisy meal, depending on the ebulliance of fellow diners. This will not prevent us from returning for an altogether excellent dining experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank subortna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“friendly and reliable”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

thus is a really nice place to eat, have never had a bad meal and always enjoy ourselves. fabulous fishcakes, fresh fish usually available, great sunday lunches(but order double veggies as portion size (veggies) is a tad small. you feel very well taken care of, even though the waiting satff are generally youngsters, nice decor, very clean, value for money...we go lots! wish we lived nearer and could then down a bottle or two and walk home! hope to visit again in next 2 weeks or so!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soop77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silks on the Downs also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to Silks on the Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing