We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silks on the Downs

Silks on the Downs
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Marlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$28
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Silks On The Downs is best described as a friendly & homely ' Gastro Pub '. Our menus change regularly and we source locally from the fantastic produce available around us. We are located in Ogbourne St Andrew, one mile outside the beautiful market town of Marlborough. Adorning our walls are framed silks of leading racehorse owners as worn by the jockeys, reflecting Wiltshire's rich racing heritage, as well as giving the pub its name. We are open daily for lunch and dinner (closed on a Sunday evening).
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked for a party of 12, and were seated in a private area behind the bar. The staff were polite and efficient, the food came out all together so nobody had to wait for their food.
Of the party of 12 there was no one was dissatisfied with this dining experience.
Would recommend this eatery to anyone..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAT900XLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    104
    31
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked this restaurant as a halfway point to meet friends and what a good choice it was. The initial reception was first class and the interior spotless and very welcoming. The menu and specials board gave a good selection and all the meals were first class. The portion sizes were just right and after starters and mains we just had room for coffee. We will definitely return to The Silks again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intrepid1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“First Class and strongly recommended”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We use this as a friends and family meeting spot when we are in the UK as it is half way between us all - it's a really good place to eat with fantastic young team who care about their customers.
We miss this kind of a place now we are in the US - genuine and well managed, serving value and quality - great Sunday lunch venue.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigRay54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit - we will be back”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I stopped for lunch today and had a most pleasant experience, food, service and surroundings all very good. We will certainly return to Silks,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tokkihazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Reliable and friendly Pub/Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Character building quite a traditional comfy look and attractive views from the garden. I have not been for a little while - have just moved house & cannot walk there from my home - but I always like it when I do go. They are good with groups or couples and have two dining areas plus tables outside in a sheltered spot. Imaginative items as well as those you expect to find in such an establishment. I shall make a point of going in the near future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silks on the Downs also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to Silks on the Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing