We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mayfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Angie and Chris were delightful and shared their spectacularly beautiful home graciously. The food was great as were the accomodations. We were made to feel so welcome and given great advice about food and directions. One of our party was quite ill and both Angie and Chris stepped in to help with guidance and special accomodations to our needs. I would recommend Mayfield highly to people who want a taste of a beautiful old English home and first class food and service. The location was ideal for touring Avebury, Bath and Stonehenge and I'm sure much more!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countessan, Owner at Mayfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review which was so kind of you. We loved having you to stay and were so glad that you enjoyed your many visits to the surrounding area even though the weather was cruel to you! Hope you are all now well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Germans , Cornwall
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Set in a rural locatiion about 7 miles from Marlborough . Mayfield is a beautiful old thatched house in a peaceful location. Warm welcome on arrival. Splendid room and a wonderful breakfast.
We enjoyed dinner at the Swan at Wilton a few miles away . Do visit the Wind mill at Wilton.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertscargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countessan, Owner at Mayfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice things about Mayfield. We do enjoy the company of our guests too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My family and I stayed here whilst cycling the Kennet & Avon canal towpath. We arrived hot and bothered but all pains and stress flowed away the moment we went down the slide into the (chilly) outdoor pool. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming. Absolutely wonderful, and great breakfast. The best place we stayed all week.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We were made welcome from the second we arrived and taken to our lovely twin room. Nothing was too much trouble for Angie and Chris. We were able to use the TV lounge although our room had a TV. Wifi was excellent. Plenty of hot water for a bath. Breakfast was a feast - we didn't even bother with cooked although it was available; fresh fruit, home-made bread and marmalade, cereals (eaten in the spacious conservatory) got the day off to a great start. We slept very well as there is peace and quiet to be had by the bucket-full.
This is a real gem and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My Mom and I stayed at Mayfield B&B for two nights in March 2011 and could not have asked for a more perfect accommodation. We were welcomed like old friends by Angie and Chris (and the precious Puss Cat!), and thoroughly charmed by the gorgeous thatched house that is brimming with antiques and treasures reflecting the owners' interesting lives. Upon arrival we were shown to our lovely room (twin bedded with upholstered headboards and comfy quilts) and then served tea and homemade cake in the conservatory, where we visited with Angie and watched pheasants strutting and bunnies frolicking in the back garden. Daffodils bloomed in profusion and everywhere you looked there was something lovely to capture your attention. This, for us, was English country living at its finest. No pretention and very authentic. Good location, convenient to Marlborough, but secluded enough so that we really felt as though we were "away from it all." Breakfasts served in the dining room (which, if I recall correctly, dates back to the 1300s) were incredibly delicious and filling, and Angie made certain that we had exactly what we wanted. Tea and coffee and little snacks set up in our room added to the comfort factor!

I highly recommend Mayfield B&B and would return again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bajablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed for two nights in a lovely place, partly dating back to the 15th century. Wonderful hosts made me feel very welcome, delightful breakfast and an incredibly quiet place at night. A brilliant place to stay when you want to explore this part of the UK!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oleppedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Mayfield welcomes you into a family home - a tastefully decorated old cottage in beautifully kept grounds with tennis court and swimming pool. The owners are charming and full of character - and serve home-made jam in the conservatory at breakfast. Just magical.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
7.1 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
11.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Manor Farm B&B
Manor Farm B&B
#2 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Marlborough
The Marlborough
#16 of 30 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mayfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: Mayfield Mayfield | West Grafton, Marlborough SN8 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfield Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfield is a charming thatched house, dating from 15th Century, with swimming-pool and tennis court, standing in its own large peaceful grounds.Beautifully decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. Televisions and wireless internet in all rooms.Very friendly service and delicious breakfasts made with local or home produce.West Grafton is 7 miles from the market towns of Marlborough and Hungerford. Stonehenge and Avebury nearby. Crop Circles too! Bath, Salisbury and Oxford within one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayfield Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfield Bed & Breakfast Marlborough, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing