We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot think of a better place to stay in this area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mayfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have just spend a very relaxing 3 nights with Chris and Angie at Mayfield B&B in West Grafton near Marlborough. The reason for our visit was primarily a golf weekend but we were able to see some of the local area as well. The cottage was charming and in a beautiful setting. The extensive gardens were well kept and there was a tennis court and swimming pool. The rooms were clean, full of lovely furniture and the beds were very comfortable with lovely linen. Because of the tranquil setting we were able to sleep well in quiet and very dark surroundings. Heaven! Plenty of parking, a separate lounge if you choose and a lovely garden room in which to have breakfast.

As hosts Chris and Angie were friendly and very organised and could not have been more helpful to us. The breakfasts were superb, well cooked and good variety, cereals, fresh fruit, any breakfast you wanted, toast and banana bread. Wonderful.

I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful residence as a place to stay in the area. If we visit this area again we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room would be perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Mayfield Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at this beautiful B&B near Marlborough. The house and gardens are exquisite. We were spoilt with delicious home cooked breakfasts, cooked to perfection. The house is tucked away in a very quiet location so we slept soundly. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay just perfect. Tiger, the cat, was good company too!

Room Tip: One room has a Kingsize double bed and the other twin beds.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countessan, Owner at Mayfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

We loved having you all to stay. We are now going to polish up on our golf so that if you come again we can play golf at the Ogbourne Down Golf Club instead of the Marlborough Golf Club - very testing!!
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Angie and Chris were delightful and shared their spectacularly beautiful home graciously. The food was great as were the accomodations. We were made to feel so welcome and given great advice about food and directions. One of our party was quite ill and both Angie and Chris stepped in to help with guidance and special accomodations to our needs. I would recommend Mayfield highly to people who want a taste of a beautiful old English home and first class food and service. The location was ideal for touring Avebury, Bath and Stonehenge and I'm sure much more!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countessan, Owner at Mayfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review which was so kind of you. We loved having you to stay and were so glad that you enjoyed your many visits to the surrounding area even though the weather was cruel to you! Hope you are all now well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Set in a rural locatiion about 7 miles from Marlborough . Mayfield is a beautiful old thatched house in a peaceful location. Warm welcome on arrival. Splendid room and a wonderful breakfast.
We enjoyed dinner at the Swan at Wilton a few miles away . Do visit the Wind mill at Wilton.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertscargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countessan, Owner at Mayfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice things about Mayfield. We do enjoy the company of our guests too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My family and I stayed here whilst cycling the Kennet & Avon canal towpath. We arrived hot and bothered but all pains and stress flowed away the moment we went down the slide into the (chilly) outdoor pool. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming. Absolutely wonderful, and great breakfast. The best place we stayed all week.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We were made welcome from the second we arrived and taken to our lovely twin room. Nothing was too much trouble for Angie and Chris. We were able to use the TV lounge although our room had a TV. Wifi was excellent. Plenty of hot water for a bath. Breakfast was a feast - we didn't even bother with cooked although it was available; fresh fruit, home-made bread and marmalade, cereals (eaten in the spacious conservatory) got the day off to a great start. We slept very well as there is peace and quiet to be had by the bucket-full.
This is a real gem and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My Mom and I stayed at Mayfield B&B for two nights in March 2011 and could not have asked for a more perfect accommodation. We were welcomed like old friends by Angie and Chris (and the precious Puss Cat!), and thoroughly charmed by the gorgeous thatched house that is brimming with antiques and treasures reflecting the owners' interesting lives. Upon arrival we were shown to our lovely room (twin bedded with upholstered headboards and comfy quilts) and then served tea and homemade cake in the conservatory, where we visited with Angie and watched pheasants strutting and bunnies frolicking in the back garden. Daffodils bloomed in profusion and everywhere you looked there was something lovely to capture your attention. This, for us, was English country living at its finest. No pretention and very authentic. Good location, convenient to Marlborough, but secluded enough so that we really felt as though we were "away from it all." Breakfasts served in the dining room (which, if I recall correctly, dates back to the 1300s) were incredibly delicious and filling, and Angie made certain that we had exactly what we wanted. Tea and coffee and little snacks set up in our room added to the comfort factor!

I highly recommend Mayfield B&B and would return again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bajablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
6.5 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
642 reviews
13.0 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,023 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Shears Inn
The Shears Inn
#1 of 1 in Collingbourne Ducis
122 reviews
2.8 mi away
Manor Farm B&B
Manor Farm B&B
#2 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
53 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: Mayfield | West Grafton, Marlborough SN8 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfield Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfield is a charming thatched house, dating from 15th Century, with swimming-pool and tennis court, standing in its own large peaceful grounds.Beautifully decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. Televisions and wireless internet in all rooms.Very friendly service and delicious breakfasts made with local or home produce.West Grafton is 7 miles from the market towns of Marlborough and Hungerford. Stonehenge and Avebury nearby. Crop Circles too! Bath, Salisbury and Oxford within one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayfield Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfield Bed & Breakfast Marlborough, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing