We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What one would imagine an English B&B would be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mayfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2013

With so many B&B's to choose from, we picked Mayfield because of it's charm described and depicted on the website, it's location away from the main road, as well as reviews form previous guests.
We were warmly welcomed with tea and cakes and apologies for the (mild) rain.The latter kept us from using the pool, but not from having a great stay. Angie and Chris made us feel at home immediately and served fabulous breakfasts. We did not use the option of dinner served but enjoyed wine and cheese in the oldest (14th century) part of the house with massive fireplace and nice antiques, family pictures, etc, making you feel like having a relaxed evening in your own home. The suggested dinner in the local pub was excellent and the place itself a great vantage point for exploring all there is to see in this beautiful part of the country. We had booked 2 rooms and had a shared bathroom with a good size tub. Of note, it only has a hand-held shower, but hat was for us not a problem for the 2 night stay. We would certainly return when back in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doublebooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Mayfield Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you have the chance to spend a night here, you will enjoy your stay and will never forget the charme and the beaty of the house and their owners. The house is very quite and surrounded by a lovely garden. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is our second visit, this time en route to our daughters wedding. As before, we were welcomed with open arms. We had a pot of tea and cakes on arrival and had the same room from our previous visit. As usual, the welcome was genuine and Angie and Chris could not have made us more welcome. Angie's breakfast was exceptional. We will certainly stay there again should we be in that neck of the woods.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kernowlad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent two nights at Mayfield. From the moment we arrived until the time we left, we had the feeling of being at home away from home. The garden is simply beautiful, and the house, with its ancient sections and later additions, is tastefully set up. Tasteful and comfortable -- that's how I would describe it. The rooms are clean, spacious and yet not oversized, just what one would expect rooms in a good old English house to be like. And of course the hosts, Angie and Chris, they are the ones who make all this happen. They are warm, welcoming, delightful and relaxed -- they are at home . Over the past eight months, with children at Marlborough College, we stayed at different places in the area. This was by far the most pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend Mayfield without hesitation. Just hope the stars that others and I give won't make the place too crowded when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Mayfield is a true traditional gem, set on a quiet country lane, with ambiance and sense of place that can only be achieved in a home with 600-year-old bones. Angie and Christopher were delightful hosts. Accommodations were excellent, the breakfast better. Be aware that to go to dinner or a pub, you need wheels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Wow, what a fantastic place to stay. First off Chris and Angie the hosts are amazing. Warm, friendly, wonderful people who make you feel right at home. We had two rooms in our own section of the house each room was en-suite. Mayfield is located down a country lane where it is very quiet so we slept very good. Breakfast as everyone else stated is delicious and a lot of food. We skipped lunch each day after such amazing breakfasts we weren't hungry again until dinner. From Mayfield we travelled to the following sites all within 1 - 1 1/2 hours: Salisbury, London, Bath, Cotswolds, Wales (Chepstow Castle and Tinturn Abbey), Avebury, StoneHenge, Wilton House (where BBC Pride and Prejudice was filmed-Beautiful gardens), Oxford

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bringville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countessan, Owner at Mayfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us! Your energy and the amount of sightseeing you fitted in was amazing. I would love you to write a guide book for us! We so enjoyed your company and your enthusiasm. Please come back one day. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

On recommendation of Trip Advisor reports, we booked a stay at Mayfield B&B. What a find! A Wiltshire Long house that was built in about 1450.

On arrival we were met by Angie & Chris and shown to our room. What a lovely well appointed room and comfortable beds with lovely views over the countryside.

Angie prepared a pot of tea and some of her homemade Mars Bar chocolate cake. It didn't take us long to find out that Angie makes all her own preserves, cakes and bread and if she doesn't make anything herself, it is sourced locally.

We asked for a recommendation for somewhere to eat and were recommended the Swan Inn at nearby Wilton. Angie will provide and evening meal for you with advanced notice.

The beauty of this location is its isolation. Such peace and quiet was very welcome. It might not suit all but it certainly suited us. No extraneous lighting and woken by the birds in the morning after a good nights sleep.

Angie's breakfasts are impressive. It helps if you let her know the night before what you would like and it is cooked on the Aga.

The welcome was genuine and it is certainly somewhere we would go back to again. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kernowlad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
6.5 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
642 reviews
13.0 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,020 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Shears Inn
The Shears Inn
#1 of 1 in Collingbourne Ducis
122 reviews
2.8 mi away
Manor Farm B&B
Manor Farm B&B
#2 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
53 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: Mayfield | West Grafton, Marlborough SN8 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range: £77 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfield Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfield is a charming thatched house, dating from 15th Century, with swimming-pool and tennis court, standing in its own large peaceful grounds.Beautifully decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. Televisions and wireless internet in all rooms.Very friendly service and delicious breakfasts made with local or home produce.West Grafton is 7 miles from the market towns of Marlborough and Hungerford. Stonehenge and Avebury nearby. Crop Circles too! Bath, Salisbury and Oxford within one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayfield Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfield Bed & Breakfast Marlborough, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing