We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Whimsical and nostalgic experience

This was a very special few days- everything I had hoped for. The caravans are gorgeous... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2018
Anna F
via mobile
John and Frances Life in the slow lane

No mobiles no tv's what a wonderful experience just beautiful Wiltshire a horse a caravan and... read more

Reviewed 24 June 2018
John H
Read all 49 reviews
  
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
48
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse drawn first night beautiful countryside few days country lanes open fire magical experience the pub seven stars fell in love fantastic weekend his job caravan holiday final leg running water cobs off grid
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We had the most fantastic and relaxing time. Polly and Popsy were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Ned was a real super star. There was plenty of time to relax and the food at the pubs were amazing. A particular highlight was sharing the campfire with Ned while we had our BBQ in the evening! It is a really good relaxing time to spend away for a couple of nights. We really enjoyed it and we are looking forward to do it all over again!
Thank you Polly and Popsy for all our help and for us to have a fantastic holiday.
From Rick, Mar, Amelie and Maya xxx

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank marthacalcott680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Whitehorse Gypsy Caravans is an incredible break from normal life. As people who had no horse experience we were looked after superbly and by the end of the three days can happily say that we know how to harness a horse. Polly is an amazing host, she is open and friendly, and will do anything to help. we were immediately welcomed at her cottage and it was lovely to see her each day at the various stops. Popsy, who was the groom who accompanied us was fantastic company and full of insightful information about the surrounding countryside. We were left on our own at lunchtimes and at night but during the day we enjoyed her company.
The groom's are equally happy to leave you alone while you travel, and just be there if you need them, but why would you ignore this wonderful source of information.
Looking after Ned the horse was hard but rewarding, and we slept soundly at night in beautiful surroundings. We felt like we parted as friends with both Polly and Popsy, rather than as host and guests.
Thank you for a wonderful break...

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank trish77772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We booked this holiday for the four of us, two adults and two kids to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We had a brilliant time without the need for wifi or electronic gadgets. The kids really enjoyed helping to look after Ned (our horse) and were excited that they were able to drive the caravan. Polly (the owner) and Simon and Pops (our grooms) supported us throughout the whole experience without taking away the sense of adventure. We were able to relax and enjoy spending time as a family, even Ned was like part of this family standing by the campfire with us and eating our marshmallows. We gently wound our way down country lanes from pub to pub, sampling the local fare and not feeling as through we had to rush anywhere. Definitely the highlight of our summer holidays. We've already been recommending it to friends :-)

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

There can't be many places in the UK that you can have such a fantastic adventure. I can't rate this highly enough.

I booked a weekend trip for my girlfriend, our dog and I. We had a fantastic caravan to stay in with everything we needed. The most exciting bit about the trip was being able to take the reins yourself and drive around the country lanes. Ned our horse was very well mannered and totally relaxed around traffic on the country lanes. You can do as much or as little work with the horse as you like (grooming, tacking up).

The countryside was beautiful. There are many stops and great country pubs as well as a stop over in a quiet woods with a fire place all set up for camp fires. Ned stays the night with you to keep you company - but aside from that you are left to your own devices.

Probably the first romantic thing Ive ever done - but it worked out perfectly I proposed to my girlfriend - and she said yes!

Polly, Simon and Pops give you all the support you need and take good care of you around the roads. They give you plenty of space to take the reins but from a distance keep safe control of traffic in case a tractor or truck appears. They are incredibly knowledgeable about the area and really really friendly.

Thank you all for the perfect weekend - we will be back!

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We booked this break as a treat for 25 years of wedded bliss....its a wonderful experience and not for those who cannot manage with out mod cons. A good pair of walking shoes/ wellies is needed and away you go - brilliant to get away from it all, open road, the steady pace of a wonderful horse, and brilliant support from Polly(owner) and Popsy the groom, wonderful helpful people and nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it, absolutely brilliant.

Date of experience: July 2016
4  Thank Jillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews