We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel with lots of potential, could be brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Castle & Ball Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlborough
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is well situated on the high street, but is surprisingly quiet. Welcomed by a very friendly, efficient receptionist who gave us everything that we needed. Our room was comfortable, if somewhat lacking in character - given the age and appearance of the hotel, I certainly felt that they could have been a bit more inspirational with the décor. The bathroom was functional, if not a tad tired, and again slightly lacking in inspiration - I'm sure they could have stretched to proper glasses rather than plastic ones...
What let the hotel down most was the service at breakfast, we came down with just less than 30 mins to go and found almost everything exhausted. I lost count how many times we had to ask for refills of milk/juice/cutlery etc. That said the food was good and the staff helpful, if not somewhat lacking in initiative/training.
This is a nice hotel and don't be put off, you'll have a good time but, with a bit of effort, it could be much better!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback .You must of stayed during a rare quiet couple of days which is a shame as we are normally nice and busy which adds to the environment of the hotel. Thank you for pointing out some issues,there are certainly some points that I will looking into.
I do hope that you make a return visit and see some positive changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for The Castle & Ball Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

A lovely hotel set on the high street with shops, bars and resturants nearby. Our room was spacious and clean, modern ,overlooking the high street. Bathroom was very nice, warm towels straight off the towel rail. Lovely cooked breakfast, cannot fault the service. Definately go back. Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daswon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your comments, another compliment concerning breakfast! It can be the busiest time of the day so it's great to hear that the guests are happy.
I hope there is plenty more for you to see and do in Marlborough for you to come back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in March on a promotion. We had a lovely room across the courtyard on the ground floor with a very nice shower room. It was by the car park but very quiet with no noise at all during the night. Breakfast is taken in the hotel restaurant where the staff were very welcoming and efficient. There is a small breakfast buffet with hot breakfasts cooked to order. All the staff were attentive and service was excellent. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will be staying there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for pointing out that the ground floor bedrooms are quiet as a lot of people would assume they would be loud, although with those lovely showers it could be worth a little noise!
Glad that you enjoyed breakfast, I will pass on your comments to the breakfast staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights at the end of February in this bustling hotel, in an old building, which has been nicely modernised. We parked easily in the rear car park using the voucher system. Our room was warm, comfortable and quiet overnight. The people were friendly, the breakfasts and dinners were good and we got good value. We would be pleased to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FernandoPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Great to hear you had a nice stay, we are very proud of our hotel so it's lovely to hear that guests enjoy their time with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days over half term. Incredibly well staffed and excellent service at all times. Rooms were clean and spacious, especially the twin at the front of the hotel overlooking the high street. Evening meals were excellent value for money at £10.49 for two main courses, and our children particularly enjoyed the fairground themed pudding.....we opted for cheese platter which was delicious with plenty to share. Breakfast was again lovely with a varied election and all served promptly and the buffet selection topped up regularly. We have stayed at a large number of old English inns and this was definitely the best with regards to service. I should get commission as always comment on my Facebook how brilliant they are and many friends have taken up their offers which appear regularly on the papers...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazza040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

A lovely review, thank you so much. I really like the rooms over looking the High Street, great views, Thank you for mentioning the food offer, I agree that it is very good value for money and the cheese and biscuits was a very good choice!
We hope you will stay again, you are welcome to ask if the same bedroom is free so you can book that again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for one night because the Bear at Hungerford was without power or water. We couldn't fault the service we received at the hotel and form head office (we were contacted by email and phone to divert us en route). The room was comfortable and the bed comfy. Only criticism is the shower was very cramped and larger people may struggle! Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent. At the offer price we paid is was stunning value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that you weren't able to stay in Hungerford but glad you had a nice time with us in Marlborough. The whole area is lovely so I hope you managed to have a good look after both towns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had two nights at the Castle and Ball while on a five day break to the south coast, calling here on the way home. The property retains many of the period features that I like, quirky staircases, creaky floors etc. The public rooms are comfortable and warm but our room was in need of a little TLC as the power shower had no hot water. The restaurant is well popular and the food is to Green King's usual formula but not brilliant; my steak and ale pie contained remarkably tough meat, so much so that I was not charged for it. Breakfast was excellent as it is cooked to order as at other G-K houses I have visited but some staff training issues were apparent, eg. table clearing, coffee slopped into saucer on delivery, OK, minor things but not helping to hold up the impression the place gives.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

I will be addressing the issues, I am very sorry you encountered them.
I'm glad you liked the building, I also appreciate the period features. I hope you will consider staying again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
6.6 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,020 reviews
6.6 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#14 of 25 in Swindon
209 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#17 of 30 in Marlborough
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#8 of 30 in Marlborough
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#16 of 30 in Marlborough
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle & Ball Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle & Ball Hotel

Address: High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlborough
Price Range: £80 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle & Ball Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished early 2012 and situated on Britain’s widest high street, The Castle & Ball has had a fascinating past dating back to the 15th century, with some of the original oak timbers pre-dating the Spanish Armada. The building’s age accounts for some individual features including the splitlevel brasserie-style restaurant. The hotel’s walled Beer Garden at the rear provides a relaxing setting for those looking to enjoy a drink and a meal alfresco-style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Castle & Ball Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle And Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel Marlborough, Wiltshire
Castle Ball Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing